Back

Reviews 21 Espresso

9.1/10

Excellent

based on 165 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Tor d.
    Tor d.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    I have been dining in this establishment for at least four decades. I love the food here and the service is always very good. I will continue to dine here for many years to come.

  2. Jack D.
    Jack D.
    • one review
    10/10

    We have been here before and will be back The food was wonderful we had the kids lamb cutlets for our 7 yo and it was demolished by our daughter , my wife had the paprika chicken and I had the veal and chicken schnitzel plate , both of our meals were wonderful . It might be a few dollars extra per plate but well worth the price and for piece of mind the restaurant is covid compliance. Only negative we wanted a cheese and cherry strudel. But again a lovely outing at cafe 21

  3. Claire B.
    Claire B.
    • one review
    10/10

    21 is like coming home - always amazing food and a friendly atmosphere. The service is fantastic and meals arrived in a timely manner. The Veal snitzel with spinach sauce and Matzo soup are an absolute must.

  4. Gail M.
    Gail M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Have been going to 21 since the 60s . Always 5 Star. Friendly service and well prepared food. Daughters and grandchildren always love coming for the pancakes. Special treat. Great European atmosphere.

  5. Alaina K.
    Alaina K.
    • one review
    10/10

    I am a native New Yorker, and this is the one restaurant in Sydney that truly feels like home! Family owned and run, and it’s apparent. The place has a diner vibe. Their authentic and traditional food is reflected in the homey, family-friendly environment. We have previously dined just for the Matzo Dumpling (I know them as matzo balls) soup, after a co-worker recommended it to us as being "the most delicious bowl of Grandma's penicillin." I can honestly say that 21 Espresso has the best matzo ball soup I have ever had, and I've spent many late nights in Jewish diners! We finally had the chance to make a reservation and sit down for a full meal, and it did not disappoint. My schnitzel-obsessed partner said it was the best he'd had in his life. I had the veal and he had the half-half (chicken and veal) with mashed potatoes and creamed spinach. Very generous portions! I couldn't stop smiling during and after this meal! We would've stayed for dessert and coffee but were absolutely too stuffed. Will have to come back again and pace ourselves so we can survive all three courses :)

  6. Mary H.
    Mary H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service and welcoming staff. 21 Expresso offered a diverse variety of food and wine ???? so a range of palates were catered for. Definitely would return.

  7. Daniel L.
    Daniel L.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great old fashioned comfort food. Is it Michelin star? No. Is it going to remind you of your grandma and in a food coma? Yes.

  8. Tor d.
    Tor d.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    I have been coming here for decades. The service is always very efficient and friendly and the food is consistently good. I have my favourite dishes which I enjoy having time and time again.

  9. Virginia B.
    Virginia B.
    • 16 reviews
    8.5/10

    Excellent Eastern Eauropean food. The Langosh was tasty as was the soup. Authentic regional food with a big variety of choice. Wine menu was good too.

  10. Rosalie H.
    Rosalie H.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    21 Espresso is always an enjoyable experience. The staff are friendly and attentive. As soon as we arrived we were shown to our table. The service is fast and the food is tasty. Our meals arrived within minutes of ordering. They have an extensive menu of both food and wine.

  11. Rose M.
    Rose M.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Wonderful welcoming service. Obliging is re table location. Quick service. Adjusting choices to suit us. Food was fresh and delicious. Well presented.

  12. Michelle W.
    Michelle W.
    • 5 reviews
    5.5/10

    Good schnitzels, goulash was bland and nokedli was doughy. We had the Pischinger torte which was very average, and the wafers in it tasted a bit stale. Seems popular with locals but I think there are better Hungarian restaurants in Sydney.

  13. Julie F.
    Julie F.
    • one review
    10/10

    21 never disappoints. I’ve been going to 21 since I was a kid and the food is always great. You never wait long for your food and the service is always with a smile. I recommend 21 to everyone.

  14. Michele S.
    Michele S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Service on a busy night was outstanding Thoughtful and no request too difficult Coming from a Central European background the food is always authentic and the servings huge Doggy bags no problem!

  15. Peter S.
    Peter S.
    • one review
    6/10

    It was very busy and noisy. Service was good, but the food was ordinary. Won't be going back in a hurry. We didn't have desserts , as the entrees and mains were more than enough - the strudel looked great.

  16. Olivia S.
    Olivia S.
    • one review
    10/10

    I always love 21, I've been going here since I was a little girl. It's simple family food with a relaxed family atmosphere. The food arrives quickly and the portions are big. Cannot go past the traditional Hungarian food, Schnitzels, paprika, matzo soup and pancakes. Yum.

  17. Shelly M.
    Shelly M.
    • 32 reviews
    9.5/10

    Consistently good food and service. Warm welcome as always!

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    6.25/10

    Good food and efficient services. Thank you for a nice dinner. We had a nice evening!

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    8/10

    My dinner was very good but thought that $32 for 2 pieces of chicken breast with mushroom sauce was a bit too expensive and I would like a half portion. A smaller size would be ample!

    21 Espresso

    Hi, I’m really sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the value of your chicken schnitzel when you dined with us. I’m not sure how you ended up ordering the large portion with two pieces of schnitzel but there may have been a misunderstanding on our side. We serve a regular (smaller) portion with one piece of Schnitzel and the same sides for only $24.80. Please feel free to contact me direct at michael@21espresso.com.au so I can look to make it up to you. Yours sincerely, Michael

  20. George N.
    George N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Have been going there for about 25 years. Have taken friends there which loved it. Great food, consistently good. Great value for money with very generous servings. We will continue to go and let people know about it.

  21. David C.
    David C.
    • one review
    8/10

    Very busy on a Saturday night. Old-fashioned in a good way.

  22. Jane d.
    Jane d.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Good food and service, friendly staff, cosey atmosphere.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great but very noisy when kids are there

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great schnitzel and sides! Does not disappoint.

  25. Julian  V.
    Julian V.
    • one review
    10/10

    21 has been a Double Bay favourite for almost 50 years. European menu with excellent friendly service. Famous for it’s schnitzels, creamed spinach and mashed potatoes. Never disappoints.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    9/10

    I Have been coming here since I was a little girl, I am now approaching 50. My mother is Hungarian and this has been her go to place forever.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    9/10

    Old school vibe, tasty old school dishes and friendly, efficient service.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    10/10

    Food always up to standard - delicious.

  29. John S.
    John S.
    • one review
    10/10

    What a wonderful experience to enjoy European cuisine in a classy setting. No loud music to assault the senses, fabulous service, very comfortable seating, and of course the wonderful Hungarian inspired menu which has a fabulous choice of dishes from which to choose. We will certainly be back soon, I can't imagine why we have not visited this restaurant for many years, after putting up with trendy noisy bars etc. in the neighbouring Potts Point.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    6.75/10

    The interior lighting as most unflattering ??

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    8.75/10

    the food is consistently good and comforting. service is friendly . great place to catch up with family and friends.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    8.25/10

    Needs some acoustic tiles on ceiling - very hard to converse with noise levels high!

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    8/10

    Excellent eastern European food with lots of specialties.

  34. John R.
    John R.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    I enjoyed the traditional Hungarian duck with red cabbage

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    8.5/10

    Authentic Eastern European food

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    8/10

    wonderful hungarian comfort food

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    8/10

    Good food every visit

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious food. Great neighbourhood gem. Best part u can converse without having to shout to be heard!!

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great place and friendly people

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    6/10

    expensive, but good food