8.8/10
Fabulous
based on 133 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Michelle W.
    Michelle W.
    • 5 reviews
    5.5/10

    Good schnitzels, goulash was bland and nokedli was doughy. We had the Pischinger torte which was very average, and the wafers in it tasted a bit stale. Seems popular with locals but I think there are better Hungarian restaurants in Sydney.

  2. Julie F.
    Julie F.
    • one review
    10/10

    21 never disappoints. I’ve been going to 21 since I was a kid and the food is always great. You never wait long for your food and the service is always with a smile. I recommend 21 to everyone.

  3. Michele S.
    Michele S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Service on a busy night was outstanding Thoughtful and no request too difficult Coming from a Central European background the food is always authentic and the servings huge Doggy bags no problem!

  4. Peter S.
    Peter S.
    • one review
    6/10

    It was very busy and noisy. Service was good, but the food was ordinary. Won't be going back in a hurry. We didn't have desserts , as the entrees and mains were more than enough - the strudel looked great.

  5. Olivia S.
    Olivia S.
    • one review
    10/10

    I always love 21, I've been going here since I was a little girl. It's simple family food with a relaxed family atmosphere. The food arrives quickly and the portions are big. Cannot go past the traditional Hungarian food, Schnitzels, paprika, matzo soup and pancakes. Yum.

  6. Shelly M.
    Shelly M.
    • 29 reviews
    9.5/10

    Consistently good food and service. Warm welcome as always!

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    6.25/10

    Good food and efficient services. Thank you for a nice dinner. We had a nice evening!

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    8/10

    My dinner was very good but thought that $32 for 2 pieces of chicken breast with mushroom sauce was a bit too expensive and I would like a half portion. A smaller size would be ample!

    21 Espresso

    Hi, I’m really sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the value of your chicken schnitzel when you dined with us. I’m not sure how you ended up ordering the large portion with two pieces of schnitzel but there may have been a misunderstanding on our side. We serve a regular (smaller) portion with one piece of Schnitzel and the same sides for only $24.80. Please feel free to contact me direct at michael@21espresso.com.au so I can look to make it up to you. Yours sincerely, Michael

  9. George N.
    George N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Have been going there for about 25 years. Have taken friends there which loved it. Great food, consistently good. Great value for money with very generous servings. We will continue to go and let people know about it.

  10. David C.
    David C.
    • one review
    8/10

    Very busy on a Saturday night. Old-fashioned in a good way.

  11. Jane d.
    Jane d.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Good food and service, friendly staff, cosey atmosphere.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great but very noisy when kids are there

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great schnitzel and sides! Does not disappoint.

  14. Julian  V.
    Julian V.
    • one review
    10/10

    21 has been a Double Bay favourite for almost 50 years. European menu with excellent friendly service. Famous for it’s schnitzels, creamed spinach and mashed potatoes. Never disappoints.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    9/10

    I Have been coming here since I was a little girl, I am now approaching 50. My mother is Hungarian and this has been her go to place forever.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    9/10

    Old school vibe, tasty old school dishes and friendly, efficient service.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    10/10

    Food always up to standard - delicious.

  18. John S.
    John S.
    • one review
    10/10

    What a wonderful experience to enjoy European cuisine in a classy setting. No loud music to assault the senses, fabulous service, very comfortable seating, and of course the wonderful Hungarian inspired menu which has a fabulous choice of dishes from which to choose. We will certainly be back soon, I can't imagine why we have not visited this restaurant for many years, after putting up with trendy noisy bars etc. in the neighbouring Potts Point.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    6.75/10

    The interior lighting as most unflattering ??

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    8.75/10

    the food is consistently good and comforting. service is friendly . great place to catch up with family and friends.