Back

Reviews A Hereford Beefstouw - Melbourne

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 774 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Jenny V.
    Jenny V.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great meal, attentive service. Steak and fish cooked to perfection. Looking forward to going back soon . Highly recommend

  2. Anthony B.
    Anthony B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food best steak ever and staff very friendly

  3. Hannah S.
    Hannah S.
    • 10 reviews
    9/10

    Fantastic steak. Wide selection of dishes on the menu Sides and entrees were good too. Service was great. Good ambience. Would highly recommend.

  4. Lorraine W.
    Lorraine W.
    • one review
    10/10

    We have eaten at this restaurant many times and have never been disappointed with food, service and ambience. We look forward to our next visit with grandchildren in tow.

  5. Sam D.
    Sam D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Incredible food, perfect and friendly staff and service, just the right ambiance. My favourite restaurant - I will always keep coming back. Thank you gentlemen, you’ve been absolutely wonderful. - Sam

  6. Dave T.
    Dave T.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    If you want good steak, this is the place. Cosmopolitan cocktails were also excellent. The gratin potatoes were missing the gratin part, but the chips were delicious. Communication was a bit off. And though I loved watching the grill master/chef excelling at her job, our table for 2 was a bit close to the smoke of the grill.

  7. Lenore W.
    Lenore W.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing steak!

  8. Francois B.
    Francois B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Excellent meat and great desserts. Not such a great setting though (it feels a bit like a university canteen) and wine is horribly expensive. Nonetheless, we would highly recommend the place.

  9. Emily F.
    Emily F.
    • 5 reviews
    6.5/10

    Tomahawk steak is highly recommemded. Beef tartar is also very good. However service has been insufficient throughout the night, letting us down.

  10. Hayley U.
    Hayley U.
    • 18 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious food! Recommended for real steak lovers

  11. Linda h.
    Linda h.
    • 23 reviews
    8/10

    Fairly good meats and range. We had the tomahawk which was good for 3 people. The butters were good but the peppercorn and mushroom sauces were bland and tasteless. The chips included was a small bowel which seemed stingy for 1.5kg meat portion. Salads were great. Service good.

  12. Andrew H.
    Andrew H.
    • one review
    10/10

    The service and food is second to none best steak in Melbourne

  13. Hieu N.
    Hieu N.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Always one of our favourite steak places with quality cuts of premium beef, great appetisers and side dishes which you can taste the quality ingredients, as well as a great selection of drinks to go with your delicious meal. Even though the steaks are amazing, they are not absurdly priced like some other steakhouses that I've been to. Always love coming back and being greeted/looked after by friendly staff. Food is always out quick too! Will be looking forward to our next visit!

  14. Serena C.
    Serena C.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    If you like meat done well, then this is the place

  15. Kim M.
    Kim M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    This hidden gem is outstanding! Service was excellent, atmosphere and decor was beautiful, as for the steak, it was exceptional, the best we have ever had! We will be back

  16. Darryl M.
    Darryl M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Third steak in a week at three different places in Melbourne and this was the best. Outstanding presentation and so well cooked it just melted in my mouth. Will return when I’m next in Melbourne.

  17. Kristiane P.
    Kristiane P.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Had a wonderful dinner here with my mother to celebrate end of exams, have been here before and will certainly return! Exceptional service, very friendly, attentive and knowledgeable about each and every dish and accomodating to food allergies. We enjoyed a selection of entrees - all beautifully seasoned and great portions for two people sharing, and the 100 day dry aged steaks were cooked to perfection, best steaks we’ve had in a long time. Finished off with the creme brûlée - super smooth with the wonderful first crack through the caramelised sugar on top. We also enjoyed a few martini’s, they definitely went down a treat! I am a little picky when it comes to cocktails (please know I am a bartender and judge my own cocktails on a daily basis), there were ice chips on the surface so maybe just double strain the martini’s and you’ll be sweet :) Awesome place, amazing food and drinks, incredible staff, would definitely recommend.

  18. Michael Z.
    Michael Z.
    • one review
    10/10

    To be all honest, this is probably one of the best restaurants in Melbourne area in terms of getting some great steak offerings. Medium rare is really medium rare - not some famous ones who'll cook it to well done. They also got some great starters as well - Chicken Liver Pate and Spicy Wings are the two we trieid, and we'll definitely recommend those ones.

  19. Sarah jane B.
    Sarah jane B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Right from the very beginning, the staff were wonderful and very knowledgable about their particular field whether this would be from the bar or from the menu. An absolute must for any steak lover.

  20. Jeremy K.
    Jeremy K.
    • one review
    10/10

    The chateaubriand here is the best steak I've had in Australia by a wide margin. This is the place to go for steak in Melbourne. Seems like it's still a hidden gem, everything is impeccable here. Some of the single steak cuts are a bit thin for my liking, but the chateaubriand is seriously sensational. The bone-in ribeye is good, but the chateaubriand is off the charts amazing. Will be coming back here for future business dinners.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 298 reviews
    7.5/10

    The service was good and the restaurant had a good vibe. The food was disappointing and expensive for what we had. There are so many other Steak restaurants in Melbourne that blow this place out of the water. The sirloin steak had a lot of fat on it and my eye fillet because it was small was medium rather than rare. The potato gratin was tasteless and dry, I expected something creamy but it had very little sauce. Just a disappointing meal.

  22. Emmanuel L.
    Emmanuel L.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    The staff were fantastic! They were friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and competent.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 295 reviews
    7.5/10

    Pleasant dining experience and delicious steak.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great to be able to bring a special bottle of wine

  25. Fumio T.
    Fumio T.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a excellent time.we would like to have a fine Australian beef.

  26. John B.
    John B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food and great servicd

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 294 reviews
    9.25/10

    A meat eaters heaven

  28. ANDREW C.
    ANDREW C.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    Great steakhouse hidden in a laneway!

  29. Lee T.
    Lee T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Just writing something here to make the fork happy

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    6/10

    Had a pre-show dinner here and due to time constraints we arranged to preorder the Cheateaubriand because of the required cooking time, which was confirmed by manager Daniel. This didn’t end up happening and we waited 70 minutes for our meal, leaving us with no time for dessert and very disappointed. Upon speaking to Daniel when we left, other than accepting responsibility for the mistake he couldn’t have been less interested. To make matters worse, the table next to us were offered free dessert as an apology for the delay on their meal (that they still got served before us even though arriving after we did). Will not be back.

  31. Nicole C.
    Nicole C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Food was yummy. I’ve touch having the steak carved got you at the table.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    9.5/10

    I visited this restaurant more than 10 times. Their service levels were always good!

  33. Victoria W.
    Victoria W.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Really good food and wine. Service generally friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back

  34. Raymond B.
    Raymond B.
    • 19 reviews
    7/10

    Very busy restaurant after an initial delay waiting for a table all was good and food great

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    8.5/10

    The beef ribs melt in your mouth! Yummy

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    8.75/10

    Beautiful food, great service, loved the danish vibe

  37. John G.
    John G.
    • 8 reviews
    8.25/10

    On A Sunday night at 7:30 and was booked solid! So make sure to book.

  38. Christy J.
    Christy J.
    • one review
    10/10

    We dined here with a party of seven. Everyone was extremely happy with their meals and the service was no less than perfect . Steak was the best we have ever eaten. Note.. not suitable for vegans

  39. Callum D.
    Callum D.
    • one review
    10/10

    great experience. I been several times but will be back again. the great staff compliment the great food well!

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    8.5/10

    Fantastic steak and a great place to celebrate a special occasion.