Back

Reviews Akiba

8.9/10
Fabulous
based on 1868 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Anna A.
    Anna A.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Great service. Wonderful food...the flavours and textures, just fantastic! This place is for all occasions casual, special occasions etc. Would highly recommend it!

  2. Sandrine P.
    Sandrine P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    the feed me menu was delicious in every detail. It’s just a bit too much for one person, hope this can be shared with another by paying just extra half with the same serving ????

  3. Patrick C.
    Patrick C.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    The food was devine. Food quality was outstanding. Loved the music and the whole vibe. Would recommended to a friend.

  4. Lynne V.
    Lynne V.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    A favourite restaurant of my girlfriend and me. Hadn’t been able to visit due to COVID 19 but so glad it has reopened in its original form. Fabulous food and service - nothing has changed. We’ll be back again soon.

  5. Tara M.
    Tara M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Staff were very attentive, polite and efficient. food was delicious atmosphere was great could hear what each other were saying without over hearing other tables

  6. Adam T.
    Adam T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great to be back at one of my favourite restaurants in Canberra. Service, food and drinks were, as alway, excellent. Socially distanced with a great atmosphere

  7. Alison B.
    Alison B.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    We had the feed me! Chef’s selection plus some oysters and everything was delicious. My favourite was the pork belly bao, but it was really hard to choose the best dish. The atmosphere was buzzing in spite of the current health problems. Happy to go back next time we’re in Canberra!

  8. samantha c.
    samantha c.
    • one review
    10/10

    Sophie our server was very friendly, warm and knowledgeable. Excellent service and atmosphere ????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

  9. Debbie K.
    Debbie K.
    • one review
    8/10

    Had the 8 items menu- the first 3 were paced, then the larger portions all came at once and quite a long time later. Didn’t get to enjoy due to timing. Food nice. Had to wait long time for drinks.

  10. Tricia B.
    Tricia B.
    • 34 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful meal with family and friends for my sons birthday. Excellent food and friendly and attentive service. Always a pleasure to return to Akiba.

  11. Jean-Pierre B.
    Jean-Pierre B.
    • one review
    10/10

    We are so glad we found this restaurant! Since Jamie Oliver closed we've been looking for our "goto" restaurant in Canberra and now we have found it. The food was just glorious and the service perfect. The portions are deceptive and we probably could have done with 1 dish less than we ordered, but now we know. The drink selection in vast and our waiter helped us match our drinks to what we has chosen to eat.

  12. Suzi R.
    Suzi R.
    • one review
    10/10

    This has quickly become my favorite restaurant. Great food and drink, a wonderful atmosphere. AKIBA never disappoints. Would definitely recommend.

  13. Cathy M.
    Cathy M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Love the food, staff really friendly and nice buzz to the place! Will return

  14. Melissa C.
    Melissa C.
    • one review
    10/10

    I always love going to Akiba. The food is delicious, the atmosphere fantastic and the staff attentive and friendly. The cocktails are spectacular and everyone needs to try the feed me option!

  15. Angela C.
    Angela C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Best food I have eaten in a long while. Clean, fresh, presentation and portion sizes were perfect for the two of us. Have found our go-to place to eat in Canberra

  16. Alan M.
    Alan M.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    A most enjoyable meal, with a good amount of food that didn't break the bank (and delicious, cold Asahi beer on tap).

  17. Melina G.
    Melina G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food and great service!

  18. Mary T.
    Mary T.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Arrived early Friday evening and ate the Japanese chicken - thick dry fried crusty and tasteless - got severe cramping within 20 mins and had to cut short evening and get taxi home to the safety of my bathroom - disappointed would be an understatement

  19. Tennille M.
    Tennille M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Been here twice in as many days & the wait staff remembered me which was lovely. Food was awesome (hence why I came back)! Quick & friendly service... nothing was an issue for the staff ????

  20. Anu A.
    Anu A.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Once again, a lovely dinner at Akiba. Had the set menu this time and it was just perfect!

  21. Craig N.
    Craig N.
    • one review
    7/10

    Great service average food. Would not be back.

  22. Michael L.
    Michael L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Delicious food.

  23. Karim C.
    Karim C.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The food was amazing, I had the salmon ceviche, the pork bao, crab bao and the barramundi to share. The service was fast and pretty good. The ambient a bit loud, crowded and not very intimate if you go for a quiet dinner, but it's totally worth the food!!

  24. Derrick L.
    Derrick L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Interesting food with excellent service. Highly recommend for a special day. The fusion Japanese inspired food is inventive and fresh.

  25. Ryan L.
    Ryan L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was delicious and service was excellent. Always a great spot for a date or a group dinner and will definitely be back in future. Wait staff and restaurant manager were extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

  26. Andrea M.
    Andrea M.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    The location is easy to find. The service was fantastic, they have a long line of sake list but the ones we prefer were not available. The host recommended great ones that we have now added on our favourites. The service was quick. The meals were really delicious, although, we found that the salad was a bit too acidic. The squid with the egg seem to be ordinary. Salt and pepper squid with an egg . The rest of the meals were fantastic, we were happy with the price. We love the playlist. Ambience was great but the place got a bit noisy later. We will come back - definitely!

  27. Sandra L.
    Sandra L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very much enjoyed our all vegetarian meal. Food very tasty and imaginative. Drinks good too. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good ambience. Chairs could be a bit more comfortable

  28. Surekha R.
    Surekha R.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Food was ok, not amazing, and unfortunately the restaurant was extremely hot and uncomfortable on the day we visited. It was a little hard to get the staff’s attention even thought they were very polite.

  29. Belinda B.
    Belinda B.
    • one review
    5/10

    Service wasn’t great and the restaurant doesn’t have proper air conditioning. On a 41 degree day that made for very sticky inside conditions especially in a busy restaurant

  30. Rebecca K.
    Rebecca K.
    • one review
    6/10

    Overall the food at Akiba is okay. I've gone a few times and have left feeling like I spent a lot of money for a small amount of food. I recommend the king prawn fried rice and the sweetcorn pancakes. The broccoli with oyster sauce is quite over powering and the vegan dumplings were disappointing and dry. The wait staff were lovely and attentive and the food came out quite quickly.

  31. Pip B.
    Pip B.
    • 9 reviews
    8/10

    Akiba always impresses with its capacity to cater for dietary requirements. It is a standing favourite with friends with gluten, dairy etc intolerances. The “Feed Me” menu consistently delivers good value for money, with a varied selection of dishes ending with a full tummy. The eggplant is an absolute winner.

  32. Csilla N.
    Csilla N.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    We love the ambiance of Akiba. Staff are helpful and the food is always excellent. Especially the spice. Cocktails are interesting and hard to overlook

  33. Peter H.
    Peter H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Akiba continues to be a fantastic restaurant that manages to combine friendly and easy going staff with superb professionalism. They provide delicious food, a warm welcoming atmosphere and party vibe that makes you happy without overwhelming you with noise or fake happiness.

  34. Al R.
    Al R.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Busy place, bit noisy, great food & service was outstanding!... Thank you.????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

  35. Peter U.
    Peter U.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    The food as always was excellent. Had to ask about drinks a few times as they were ordered but not delivered. Annoyed that we got charged extra for oyster special by adding vermouth. No mention that it would be an extra $20. I believe you should always be told when an extra charge like this is going to be added.

  36. Carina L.
    Carina L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Consistenly good food! It is a great restaurant and suitable for groups or a small party - a little hard to get service but otherwise a great experience!

  37. D. E.
    D. E.
    • 7 reviews
    8/10

    Always a great time

  38. Ben S.
    Ben S.
    • one review
    9/10

    Fantastic food-we has the Akiba Feed Me set menu, absolutely spot on! Some great Saké, beer and Wine options which we enjoyed too. Really modern styling, it really had a buzz in the space. Awesome.

  39. Lionel J.
    Lionel J.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Far too noisy with hard tables and floors and music too loud. Great food , so tasty . Service a bit haphazard as seemed understaffed . Need to turn the music down not up when more people crowd in

  40. J V.
    J V.
    • one review
    8/10

    The food was spectacular, the service was a little slow at the beginning but later improved and the staff seemed on top of everything - which was great. Initially we were seated at the stools which were quite uncomfortable but we asked to relocate to a booth that which we were able to do and that made a huge difference as we could enjoy our deluxe banquet without feeling squashed in. Will definitely return (and book a booth from the start). Thanks Akiba team for what was an enjoyable and delicious meal.