Back

Reviews Araliya

9.5/10

Excellent

based on 181 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. john s.
    john s.
    • one review
    10/10

    This is by far the very best Sri Lankan food available in Melbourne if not Australia. It is a favourite of mine for many many years and everyone I take has raved about the food and service,

  2. Cathy L.
    Cathy L.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Good value and servic

  3. James D.
    James D.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    We have eaten here a few times now and always have a great dining experience. We have had the degustation menu before which is a good introduction but this time we ordered from the menu. The food is full of interesting flavours and beautifully presented and the staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Highly recommended.

  4. Courtney R.
    Courtney R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We really enjoyed a culinary journey into Sri Lankan food. We tried the degustation 6 course menu. Highlights were the pork and lamb curry and the coconut pancake dessert with cinnamon ice cream. The service was personalised and authentic. Atmosphere was nice and relaxed and perfect for a date night to have a good conversation. We left with very full bellies and happy with the overall experience.

  5. Cathy L.
    Cathy L.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    The food is beautiful and the service is excellent. Highly recommended.

  6. Greg B.
    Greg B.
    • 20 reviews
    9.5/10

    I have eaten here several times and the food is delicious. The menu has great variety and contains beautiful flavours. Highly recommend for small or large groups.

  7. Andrew V.
    Andrew V.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great food, friendly service, and a nice vibe. I don't understand how this place can be so quiet when the restaurants surrounding are busy / hard to book into.

  8. John Patrick C.
    John Patrick C.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    The service was fantastic and the food as well .

  9. Hussein A.
    Hussein A.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    We had a very pleasant dining experience with the hostess very polite, attentive and professional. Most of our group had not eaten Sri Lankan cuisine before and really enjoyed it. Will certainly recommend to friends and colleagues in the future.

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 293 reviews
    8.75/10

    Impeccable service, knowledgeable staff & perfectly balanced dishes

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    8.25/10

    A bit noisy and when you sit near the door, it is quite drafty when people go in and out of the door.

  12. Jatin G.
    Jatin G.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    Good quality food

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    8/10

    Enjoyed the main meals. Attentive service

  14. Desmond Y.
    Desmond Y.
    • 15 reviews
    8/10

    Cosy place for great food!

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely and delicious food and staff

  16. Christina L.
    Christina L.
    • 24 reviews
    8.75/10

    This is fine dining indeed. Associated with fine dining comes small portions. Expensive, but, delicious. You have to try every single hopper. It is fab for vegetarians and so many things are made with potato flour, so gluten free peeps can rejoice! Probably wouldn't come without the discount offered by The Fork.

  17. Karen H.
    Karen H.
    • 38 reviews
    8.5/10

    Really good Sri Lankan curries that go very well with string hoppers. Love it.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    6.5/10

    Would recommend the coriander crusted fish, it was the dish of the night.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    9/10

    Absolutely delicious food and cocktail! Super friendly and attentive service. Highly recommend :)

  20. Nadja J.
    Nadja J.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    The service and the lamb curry were perfect!

  21. Edan T.
    Edan T.
    • 16 reviews
    9/10

    Food was excellent, definitely a notch above. Would highly recommend.

  22. Henry Y.
    Henry Y.
    • 13 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely restaurant with professional servers and exquisite food. We have great pork curry and lentils and saffron prawn. Dessert with sweet potato is delicious too. Highly recommended.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    9/10

    Absolutely delicious modern Sri Lankan food - hoppers are beautifully thin, crisp and authentic.

  24. Christina L.
    Christina L.
    • 24 reviews
    8.5/10

    The food is delicious! The setting is cozy and modern. Service is slow.

  25. Hayley K.
    Hayley K.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Had an amazing dinner at Aralyia! The food was delicious and full of flavor. Fantastic service. Looking forward to visiting again.

  26. Charlie D.
    Charlie D.
    • 24 reviews
    8.5/10

    Dinner was a trip to St Kilda, to Araliya a Sri Lankan restaurant. A finer dinning place, dates worthy. We started with hoppers which was quite nice, an eggy bowl the base reminds me of beer bread. Mains, the duck, beef curry with potatoes and root veggies. I ordered the duck which was perfect as it wasn't spicy, though the beef curry had more flavour. We recommend both. . We'll be back to try some other dishes, jas is excited about returning with friends who like it hot. So not me.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.75/10

    Always visit for special occasion

  28. Desmond Y.
    Desmond Y.
    • 15 reviews
    8/10

    Great food but expensive.

  29. Marika F.
    Marika F.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    Great evening, helpful staff and a journey taken through Sri Lanka with amazing food.

  30. Gordon W.
    Gordon W.
    • 17 reviews
    8.25/10

    Wonderful food!

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8.25/10

    Absolutely loved the vegetarian nirvana- it was great to be able to sample not just one, but 3 curries, all super delicious and healthy !

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    4.25/10

    Food was not very good at all

  33. Matt M.
    Matt M.
    • 69 reviews
    9/10

    Perfectly balanced service. Fascinating drinks list (including dessert teas). Possibly the best understanding of spices of any restaurant in Melbourne. When ordering remember that small dishes are truly appetisers that lift and challenge the palate whereas mains are more substantial - so order perhaps more of the former for variety and be confident that one main with rice / vegetables will probably be fine for two to share.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing, authentic flavours- highly recommend.

  35. Helen H.
    Helen H.
    • 8 reviews
    8.75/10

    Very attentive and aware of pre theatre requirements: love the jaggery beef

  36. Hannah M.
    Hannah M.
    • 5 reviews
    7/10

    Beautiful meal, lots of flavours and plenty of dishes to choose from. Service was a little bit slow but still very friendly. Would highly recommend for the food.

  37. Ayontika P.
    Ayontika P.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Surprisingly authentic food with personable service! Portions are small, but food is delicious with complex flavours. No two dishes are alike - definitely recommended for anyone who wants to try /real/ Sri Lankan food that's not overwhelmingly spicy!

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    6.25/10

    Attentive service with good food.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    9.25/10

    delicious authentic food

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 237 reviews
    8.25/10

    It's difficult to find a more refined Sri Lankan culinary experience. Enjoyed the food, drinks & service.