INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Joel Bickford.

Joel Bickford

Joel has been cooking for over 25 years, honing his craft at restaurants Bel Mondo, Eschalot, Restaurant Arras, Biota Dining and The Gantry Restaurant & Bar. In 2018, Joel became executive chef at Aria Sydney, enabling him to utilise his philosophy of stylish and contemporary cuisine. Joel was named Daily Telegraph’s Chef of the Year in 2015, has won two Sydney Morning Herald Chef’s Hats for Aria Sydney and was recently awarded 2018 Chef of the Year at the Savour Excellence awards.

826 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.9
826 reviews
Recommended
(8.9)
Food
(9.0)
Service
(9.1)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(9.1)

dined on Mon, 6 May 2019

(9)
Great food and service
Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria, we are so thrilled to hear you had a fantastic time. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Aria Team
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Mon, 13 May 2019

dined on Sun, 5 May 2019

(7)
Food was great except the main dish. The beef was overcooked.
Hi, thank you so much for dining with us at Aria and providing your review. We are glad to hear you had a great time with us and are sorry to hear you were disappointed by the main dish you received. It would be greatly appreciated if you can please contact our General Manager, Patrick, directly on patrick.agostinelli@solotel.com.au to discuss further. Kindest, Aria Sydney
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Thu, 23 May 2019

dined on Mon, 29 Apr 2019

(10)
Fantastic food & service
Hi, Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your fantastic response. It was a pleasure having you join us, we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Aria Sydney
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Tue, 30 Apr 2019

dined on Mon, 29 Apr 2019

(9)
Fantastic Location, Great Food, excellent wine pairing, wonderful service
Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your fantastic review. We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Team Aria Sydney
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Tue, 30 Apr 2019

dined on Sat, 27 Apr 2019

(10)
A wonderful dining experience.
Hi Simon, Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your kind review. We're thrilled to hear you had a wonderful dining experience with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Aria Sydney
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Mon, 29 Apr 2019

dined on Fri, 26 Apr 2019

(10)
Service was fantastic, staff was lovely, food was amazing!
Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria and providing your excellent review. We're thrilled to hear you had a fantastic time with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Team Aria Sydney
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Wed, 22 May 2019

dined on Fri, 26 Apr 2019

(10)
We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Aria. The rib eye steaks were perfectly cooked. Thank you.
Hi Matthew, Thank you for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Team Aria Sydney
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Thu, 2 May 2019

dined on Fri, 26 Apr 2019

(9)
The food here is always great. The presentation of the chocolate/liquorice dessert could be improved but everything else I have had looks amazing. The food always tastes amazing. It is fine dining and the service reflects that. Could be improved with more smiles and friendliness, though staff are always professional. Views are amazing.
Hi, Thank you for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your review about your dining experience with us. We kindly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Team Aria Sydney
Susan Sullivan, ARIA Sydney responded on Tue, 30 Apr 2019

dined on Fri, 26 Apr 2019

(10)
Great food. Attentive and clever waiter, excellent recommendations.
Hi Kean, Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your wonderful review. We're thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience with us. We have a wonderful dining package for Mother's Day on 12 May, please visit our website to view all details. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Aria Sydney
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Mon, 29 Apr 2019

dined on Thu, 25 Apr 2019

(9)
Strategically located in between Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, this restaurant gives an excellent view of both at night. Food and service was fantastic. Unfortunately one little unprofessional attitude by one of the staff ruined the dining experience. When we decided not to tip him when doing the payments, he just pulled away the machine, walked away without saying anything. "Thank you" would be the least we had expected but it was just plain rude send off from what an otherwise a fine dining experience. Same thing happened to the table next to us, and you guessed it right, the very same staff did the payment with that table.
Hi Calvin, Thank you for dining with us and providing your honest review. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in your dining experience with us. We believe our General Manager, Patrick, has already been in contact with you. If you would like to provide further feedback to Patrick, please email him directly on patrick.agostinelli@solotel.com.au. Kindest, Aria Sydney
Susan Sullivan, ARIA Sydney responded on Thu, 2 May 2019
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

1. Pre Theatre (5:30pm - 7:00pm)

Located just steps from the Opera House, Aria is the perfect location for elegant pre-theatre dining in Sydney. We serve our pre-theatre menu every evening from 5.30pm until 7pm and post theatre from 10pm. Choose from one, two or three courses of superb, seasonally specific, dishes by executive chef Joel Bickford and his team
When
12 Feb 2019 - 31 Dec 2020
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 5:00 PM - 6:45 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

A La Carte

Dinner at Aria has always been unforgettable as sunset casts its luminous glow over the Sydney Opera House and the harbour. Create your own taste journey from our a la carte offering where hyper-seasonality is key, thanks to the dedication and commitment of our produce partners. It is their pristine ingredients that allow executive chef Joel Bickford and his team to create harmony on the plate.
When
12 Feb 2019 - 31 Dec 2020
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 7:00 PM - 9:45 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Supper (from 10:00pm)

Located just steps from the Opera House, Aria is the perfect location for elegant pre-theatre dining in Sydney. We serve our pre-theatre menu every evening from 5.30pm until 7pm and post theatre from 10pm. Choose from one, two or three courses of superb, seasonally specific, dishes by executive chef Joel Bickford and his team.
When
12 Feb 2019 - 31 Dec 2020
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 10:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

A Taste of Spring

Enjoy a complimentary spring dish created by Executive Chef Joel Bickford - strawberry souffle, whipped crème fraiche.
When
05 Sep 2019 - 18 Oct 2019
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM
When
05 Sep 2019 - 18 Oct 2019
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Standard Booking

A complimentary ‘taste of spring’ when guests book a table at all 7 Matt Moran restaurants (Aria, Bea, Chiswick, Chiswick at the Gallery, Chophouse CBD, Chophouse Parramatta & North Bondi Fish)
When
05 Sep 2019 - 18 Oct 2019
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About ARIA Sydney

About Every artist wants to leave their mark; to create a legacy that is not only remembered, but quintessentially theirs. Just as owners chef Matt Moran and Bruce Solomon have done at Aria. Their award winning, two hatted restaurant at Circular Quay, on the very edge of Sydney’s glistening harbour. Here the delicate touches, the time taken, the passion shown and the sincerity of delivery all play a part in the performance of fine dining. And it’s one we love performing in this intimate and breathtakingly elegant room. We’ve been composing this Aria since 1999, replicating it with refined purpose to elevate the senses with a signature dining experience like no other. Now regarded as a timeless culinary masterpiece, Aria is recognised with numerous local and international awards.

Features

Insider

ARIA Sydney Address

Google Map