INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Joel Bickford.

Joel Bickford

Joel has been cooking for over 25 years, honing his craft at restaurants Bel Mondo, Eschalot, Restaurant Arras, Biota Dining and The Gantry Restaurant & Bar. In 2018, Joel became executive chef at Aria Sydney, enabling him to utilise his philosophy of stylish and contemporary cuisine. Joel was named Daily Telegraph’s Chef of the Year in 2015, has won two Sydney Morning Herald Chef’s Hats for Aria Sydney and was recently awarded 2018 Chef of the Year at the Savour Excellence awards.

815 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

9
815 reviews
Recommended
(9.2)
Food
(9.1)
Service
(9.2)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(9.1)

dined on Thu, 25 Apr 2019

(9)
Strategically located in between Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge, this restaurant gives an excellent view of both at night. Food and service was fantastic. Unfortunately one little unprofessional attitude by one of the staff ruined the dining experience. When we decided not to tip him when doing the payments, he just pulled away the machine, walked away without saying anything. "Thank you" would be the least we had expected but it was just plain rude send off from what an otherwise a fine dining experience. Same thing happened to the table next to us, and you guessed it right, the very same staff did the payment with that table.
Hi Calvin, Thank you for dining with us and providing your honest review. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in your dining experience with us. We believe our General Manager, Patrick, has already been in contact with you. If you would like to provide further feedback to Patrick, please email him directly on patrick.agostinelli@solotel.com.au. Kindest, Aria Sydney
Susan Sullivan, ARIA Sydney responded on Thu, 2 May 2019

dined on Thu, 25 Apr 2019

(10)
I planned a surprise proposal for my Girlfriend in Aria and the team were really helpful and supported me throughout the whole process! The food are really good and the environment is really nice and romantic accompanied by the beautiful view of the Sydney Opera House! Definitely will recommend anyone to drop by!
Thank you so much for choosing Aria as your proposal destination - it was our absolute pleasure and an honour to host you and your partner! We are so thrilled to have been able to be a part of your magical and memorable day. We look forward to welcoming you both back again. Kindest, Aria Sydney
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Fri, 26 Apr 2019

dined on Thu, 25 Apr 2019

(10)
Very friendly staff
Thank you for dining with us at Aria Sydney and leaving your excellent review. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Aria Sydney team.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
Craig Somerville

dined on Sun, 21 Apr 2019

(9)
Food and Service were fantastic, and it was nice to be looking down on the Easter Crowds.
Hi Craig, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and dining with us at Aria Sydney over Easter! It was a pleasure having you, we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Aria Sydney
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Tue, 23 Apr 2019

dined on Sat, 20 Apr 2019

(9)
Wonderful lunch. Extraordinarily food and perfect view. Excellent services too.
Hi Y Wong, Thank you for your wonderful review and dining with us at Aria Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Kindest, Team Aria Sydney
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Thu, 2 May 2019
Natalie Martino

dined on Fri, 19 Apr 2019

(8)
One of our favourite restaurants in Sydney Beautiful food well presented catering to vegetarian Attentive service Fabulous wine Once you try you will always go back Bless them abundantly XO
Hi Natalie, Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your excellent review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us, relishing in the beautiful seasonal flavours from our vegetarian menu and selection of wines. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Aria Sydney
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Wed, 24 Apr 2019

dined on Thu, 18 Apr 2019

(10)
It was great.
Hi Jo, Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your excellent review. We are so pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to welcoming you back! Kindest, Aria Sydney
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Wed, 24 Apr 2019

dined on Wed, 17 Apr 2019

(8)
The service was the speciality. The food was great. view was limited which is why we chose the place over other fine dining places.
Hi Anthony, Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your kind review. Happy Easter, we look forward to welcoming you back again! Kindest, Aria Sydney team.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Thu, 18 Apr 2019

dined on Wed, 17 Apr 2019

(10)
The food as just divine and I would certainly recommend it.
Hi Ana, Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your time dining with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Team Chiswick
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Thu, 18 Apr 2019

dined on Mon, 15 Apr 2019

(10)
Consistently delicious and perfect location.
Hi, Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your wonderful review! We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful time with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Alex
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

1. Pre Theatre (5:30pm - 7:00pm)

Located just steps from the Opera House, Aria is the perfect location for elegant pre-theatre dining in Sydney. We serve our pre-theatre menu every evening from 5.30pm until 7pm and post theatre from 10pm. Choose from one, two or three courses of superb, seasonally specific, dishes by executive chef Joel Bickford and his team
When
12 Feb 2019 - 31 Dec 2020
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 5:00 PM - 6:45 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

A La Carte

Dinner at Aria has always been unforgettable as sunset casts its luminous glow over the Sydney Opera House and the harbour. Create your own taste journey from our a la carte offering where hyper-seasonality is key, thanks to the dedication and commitment of our produce partners. It is their pristine ingredients that allow executive chef Joel Bickford and his team to create harmony on the plate.
When
12 Feb 2019 - 31 Dec 2020
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 7:00 PM - 9:45 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Supper (from 10:00pm)

Located just steps from the Opera House, Aria is the perfect location for elegant pre-theatre dining in Sydney. We serve our pre-theatre menu every evening from 5.30pm until 7pm and post theatre from 10pm. Choose from one, two or three courses of superb, seasonally specific, dishes by executive chef Joel Bickford and his team.
When
12 Feb 2019 - 31 Dec 2020
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 10:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About ARIA Sydney

About Every artist wants to leave their mark; to create a legacy that is not only remembered, but quintessentially theirs. Just as owners chef Matt Moran and Bruce Solomon have done at Aria. Their award winning, two hatted restaurant at Circular Quay, on the very edge of Sydney’s glistening harbour. Here the delicate touches, the time taken, the passion shown and the sincerity of delivery all play a part in the performance of fine dining. And it’s one we love performing in this intimate and breathtakingly elegant room. We’ve been composing this Aria since 1999, replicating it with refined purpose to elevate the senses with a signature dining experience like no other. Now regarded as a timeless culinary masterpiece, Aria is recognised with numerous local and international awards.

Features

Insider

ARIA Sydney Address

Google Map