INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Joel Bickford.

Joel Bickford

Joel has been cooking for over 25 years, honing his craft at restaurants Bel Mondo, Eschalot, Restaurant Arras, Biota Dining and The Gantry Restaurant & Bar. In 2018, Joel became executive chef at Aria Sydney, enabling him to utilise his philosophy of stylish and contemporary cuisine. Joel was named Daily Telegraph’s Chef of the Year in 2015, has won two Sydney Morning Herald Chef’s Hats for Aria Sydney and was recently awarded 2018 Chef of the Year at the Savour Excellence awards.

828 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.9
828 reviews
Recommended
(8.9)
Food
(9.0)
Service
(9.1)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(9.1)

dined on Wed, 10 Apr 2019

(5)
The food was light and It is a nice thing however the only very good dish we had was a special, something that is not on the menu. Many flaw on the plate , I guess for lack of knowlegde and experience by the people working in all the section of the kicthen. it could be worse I believe if we were not lucky to find an amazing french waiter that somehow help the restaurant in making up to the average/poor experience. He was a truly professional. We spend an average money from 1 - 2 michelin star level but the performance and the overall experience are far from michelin level. Too expensive quite boring the food, flat in taste and without any notable contrast. Not so recommended.
Hi Luca, Thank you for your honest feedback about your dining experience with us. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in our dishes, we can assure you that we take great pride in our high standards of food and customer service. It would be greatly appreciated if you can please discuss your experience in greater depth with our General Manager Patrick, on patrick.agostinelli@solotel.com.au. Kindest, Aria Sydney
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Thu, 18 Apr 2019

dined on Tue, 9 Apr 2019

(10)
The ultimate in fine food and service. The menu changes seasonally so it's a good excuse to come back and try different dishes.
Hi Sylvia, Thank you for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your fantastic review on The Fork! We are so thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Team Aria Sydney.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Wed, 10 Apr 2019

dined on Sun, 7 Apr 2019

(8)
Great food average view. Only let down was poor service from wait staff.
Hi, Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your review. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed in the service you received. We can assure you we have high standards providing excellent customer service and treating all guests the same. It would be greatly appreciated if you can please provide further feedback to our General Manager, Patrick, on patrick.agostinelli@solotel.com.au to discuss your time with us in detail. Kindest, Aria Sydney
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Thu, 18 Apr 2019

dined on Sun, 7 Apr 2019

(10)
went for my wife's birthday, service was first class. Made us feel very comfortable and great knowledge of all the menu and drinks. food and wines to die for! I recommend their degustation menu with matching wines, it was up there with some of the best. I let them know in the booking that it was a birthday and they put us in one of the best table in the house. Great view of the opera house and harbour bridge, right at the front of both of them!
Hi Daniel, Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney for your wife's birthday and providing your excellent review on The Fork! It was an absolutely pleasure having you both join us to celebrate the special occasion. We look forward to welcoming you both back again. Kindest, Team Aria
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Thu, 11 Apr 2019

dined on Sun, 7 Apr 2019

(8)
Entree was good but our main courses snapper and grouper were overcooked. Service was great. Cocktail was fantastic.
Hi, thank you for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your great review on The Fork. We are sorry to hear your dishes were slightly over-cooked. Please note we take great pride in only serving the highest of standards to our guests. It would be greatly appreciated if you can please leave further detailed feedback to our General Manager, Patrick, on patrick.agostinelli@solotel.com.au. Kindest, The Aria Sydney team.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Mon, 8 Apr 2019

dined on Sat, 6 Apr 2019

(9)
Beautiful food and excellent service.
Hi, we hope you had a wonderful weekend. Thank you for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your excellent review on The Fork. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, The Aria Sydney team.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Mon, 8 Apr 2019

dined on Fri, 5 Apr 2019

(9)
Excellent! Would go again.
Hello, thank you for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your excellent review on The Fork! We are so glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Tue, 9 Apr 2019

dined on Fri, 5 Apr 2019

(10)
Excellent pre Symphony dinner
Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your wonderful response. We are so thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time, we look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest, The Aria Sydney team.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Mon, 8 Apr 2019

dined on Fri, 5 Apr 2019

(9)
Food and Service Good as always
Hi, thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your fantastic review. We are so thrilled to hear you had an a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kindest, Aria Sydney team.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Mon, 8 Apr 2019

dined on Wed, 3 Apr 2019

(8)
Perfect night for a special birthday. The food was excellent, the views amazing, the staff friendly and service top notch. The gin and tonic cocktail was excellent to set the mood. We could have just dined on the entrees they all looked great. The food was superb. We had a wonderful night.
Hi, Thank you so much for dining with us and providing your fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to Aria Sydney! Kindest, The Aria Sydney team.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Fri, 5 Apr 2019
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

1. Pre Theatre (5:30pm - 7:00pm)

Located just steps from the Opera House, Aria is the perfect location for elegant pre-theatre dining in Sydney. We serve our pre-theatre menu every evening from 5.30pm until 7pm and post theatre from 10pm. Choose from one, two or three courses of superb, seasonally specific, dishes by executive chef Joel Bickford and his team
When
12 Feb 2019 - 31 Dec 2020
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 5:00 PM - 6:45 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

A La Carte

Dinner at Aria has always been unforgettable as sunset casts its luminous glow over the Sydney Opera House and the harbour. Create your own taste journey from our a la carte offering where hyper-seasonality is key, thanks to the dedication and commitment of our produce partners. It is their pristine ingredients that allow executive chef Joel Bickford and his team to create harmony on the plate.
When
12 Feb 2019 - 31 Dec 2020
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 7:00 PM - 9:45 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Supper (from 10:00pm)

Located just steps from the Opera House, Aria is the perfect location for elegant pre-theatre dining in Sydney. We serve our pre-theatre menu every evening from 5.30pm until 7pm and post theatre from 10pm. Choose from one, two or three courses of superb, seasonally specific, dishes by executive chef Joel Bickford and his team.
When
12 Feb 2019 - 31 Dec 2020
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 10:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About ARIA Sydney

About Every artist wants to leave their mark; to create a legacy that is not only remembered, but quintessentially theirs. Just as owners chef Matt Moran and Bruce Solomon have done at Aria. Their award winning, two hatted restaurant at Circular Quay, on the very edge of Sydney’s glistening harbour. Here the delicate touches, the time taken, the passion shown and the sincerity of delivery all play a part in the performance of fine dining. And it’s one we love performing in this intimate and breathtakingly elegant room. We’ve been composing this Aria since 1999, replicating it with refined purpose to elevate the senses with a signature dining experience like no other. Now regarded as a timeless culinary masterpiece, Aria is recognised with numerous local and international awards.

Features

Insider

ARIA Sydney Address

Google Map