INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Joel Bickford.

Joel Bickford

Joel has been cooking for over 25 years, honing his craft at restaurants Bel Mondo, Eschalot, Restaurant Arras, Biota Dining and The Gantry Restaurant & Bar. In 2018, Joel became executive chef at Aria Sydney, enabling him to utilise his philosophy of stylish and contemporary cuisine. Joel was named Daily Telegraph’s Chef of the Year in 2015, has won two Sydney Morning Herald Chef’s Hats for Aria Sydney and was recently awarded 2018 Chef of the Year at the Savour Excellence awards.

828 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.9
828 reviews
Recommended
(8.9)
Food
(9.0)
Service
(9.1)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(9.1)

dined on Mon, 1 Apr 2019

(9)
Delicious food, beautiful presented with friendly service
Hello, thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your excellent review on The Fork. We are so glad you had a fantastic time, we look forward to welcoming you back!
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Mon, 8 Apr 2019

dined on Sun, 31 Mar 2019

(10)
Was an amazing experience and would certainly recommend this place to all
Hi Andrew, Thank you for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your excellent review on The Fork. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest, Aria Sydney team.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Tue, 2 Apr 2019

dined on Sun, 31 Mar 2019

(9)
Excellent food -- taste and presentation.
Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your fantastic review on The Fork. We are so glad to hear you had an enjoyable time, we look forward to welcoming you back! Kindest, The Aria Sydney team.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Mon, 8 Apr 2019

dined on Sat, 30 Mar 2019

(7)
Food was good but not too impressive...the Angus steak was awesome...the waitress hurried us to pay for the bill and said we needed to leave for the next round of booking, but we saw plenty of empty tables....I don't think I will go back again...I prefer to try some other restaurants.
Hi, thank you for providing your review and dining with us at Aria Sydney. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations. It would be greatly appreciated if you would kindly please leave further detailed feedback with our General Manager, Patrick, on patrick.agostinelli@solotel.com.au. Kindest, Aria Sydney.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Tue, 2 Apr 2019
Michelle Howes

dined on Sat, 30 Mar 2019

(9)
Great food, wine and service - a very enjoyable evening.
Hi Michelle, Thank you so much for providing your excellent review on The Fork and dining with us at Aria Sydney. We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful time, enjoying our autumn menu, variety of wines and customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Aria Sydney.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Tue, 2 Apr 2019

dined on Sat, 30 Mar 2019

(6)
The cocktails were amazing and I will never forget the whisky sour! The service was fantastic. The food was nice, but for the price we paid I expected to be blown away. Unfortunately, the food was unimpressionable.
Hi, Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time and appreciate your feedback. If you would like to provided further details regarding your dining experience, please email our General Manager, Patrick, on patrick.agostinelli@solotel.com.au. Kindest, Aria Sydney team.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Fri, 26 Apr 2019

dined on Fri, 29 Mar 2019

(9)
Love coming here for great pre or post theatre dining and also great for dinner with groups. Food is wonderful.
Hi, thank you for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your excellent review. We are so glad to hear you had a fantastic time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest, The Aria Sydney team.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Tue, 2 Apr 2019

dined on Thu, 28 Mar 2019

(10)
Excellent service with a 10/10 view. Food was delicious as were the drinks. Pricey, but that’s to be expected - definitely worth the money though!
Hi Jade, Thank you for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your excellent review. We are thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest The Aria Sydney team.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Tue, 9 Apr 2019

dined on Wed, 27 Mar 2019

(10)
Lovely staff, environment and food, highly recommended
Thank you so much for dining with us at Aria Sydney and providing your excellent review. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Wed, 1 May 2019

dined on Sun, 24 Mar 2019

(7)
Great location very elegant and good service. The view is outstanding. The food was fresh, well prepared, small portions: from my readings I was expecting more.
Hi Sergio, Thank you for your kind review and dining with us at Aria Sydney. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your guest experience and the stunning, surrounding views of the Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge and Sydney Harbour. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kindest, Aria Sydney team.
Restaurant ARIA Sydney responded on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Specials

1. Pre Theatre (5:30pm - 7:00pm)

Located just steps from the Opera House, Aria is the perfect location for elegant pre-theatre dining in Sydney. We serve our pre-theatre menu every evening from 5.30pm until 7pm and post theatre from 10pm. Choose from one, two or three courses of superb, seasonally specific, dishes by executive chef Joel Bickford and his team
When
12 Feb 2019 - 31 Dec 2020
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 5:00 PM - 6:45 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

A La Carte

Dinner at Aria has always been unforgettable as sunset casts its luminous glow over the Sydney Opera House and the harbour. Create your own taste journey from our a la carte offering where hyper-seasonality is key, thanks to the dedication and commitment of our produce partners. It is their pristine ingredients that allow executive chef Joel Bickford and his team to create harmony on the plate.
When
12 Feb 2019 - 31 Dec 2020
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 7:00 PM - 9:45 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Supper (from 10:00pm)

Located just steps from the Opera House, Aria is the perfect location for elegant pre-theatre dining in Sydney. We serve our pre-theatre menu every evening from 5.30pm until 7pm and post theatre from 10pm. Choose from one, two or three courses of superb, seasonally specific, dishes by executive chef Joel Bickford and his team.
When
12 Feb 2019 - 31 Dec 2020
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 10:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About ARIA Sydney

About Every artist wants to leave their mark; to create a legacy that is not only remembered, but quintessentially theirs. Just as owners chef Matt Moran and Bruce Solomon have done at Aria. Their award winning, two hatted restaurant at Circular Quay, on the very edge of Sydney’s glistening harbour. Here the delicate touches, the time taken, the passion shown and the sincerity of delivery all play a part in the performance of fine dining. And it’s one we love performing in this intimate and breathtakingly elegant room. We’ve been composing this Aria since 1999, replicating it with refined purpose to elevate the senses with a signature dining experience like no other. Now regarded as a timeless culinary masterpiece, Aria is recognised with numerous local and international awards.

Features

Insider

ARIA Sydney Address

Google Map