Back

Reviews Aubergine Restaurant

9.5/10
Excellent
based on 482 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Sara M.
    Sara M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    What a fabulous night, delicious food (Can’t decide which of the five courses I liked best), wonderful and attentive service and delightful ambiance!

  2. Matt O.
    Matt O.
    • one review
    9/10

    Amazing food and friendly service. The salmon was mouth-watering and each meal was cooked to perfection. While the atmosphere was very pleasant, it was also very dark inside.

  3. Geraldine B.
    Geraldine B.
    • one review
    10/10

    This was our third visit to Aubergine and the standard has been high on each occasion. Great tasting menu with excellent wine and a lovely ambiance. A little bit expensive but worth it for the quality of the food and the service. It’s a pleasure to go there.

  4. Maria L.
    Maria L.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The food was delicious, the accompanying wine was superb, the service was excellent and the atmosphere was great.

  5. David W.
    David W.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We have eaten here before and will come back. It is not a cheap experience but I think you get value for money. Good food, an extensive winelist and staff that know and take pleasure in their service

  6. Edward B.
    Edward B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Not my first time but both times have been a wonderful experience. Wait staff very friendly and the sommelier was incredibly knowledgeable about the wines. The food was amazing. Someone there can cook. Yes it’s pricy but anyone looking to take their special someone out for a treat or in our case a final meal before sending family home this is a great place to take them.

  7. Qing L.
    Qing L.
    • 15 reviews
    9.5/10

    Nice and delicate cuisine, definitely had a great time.

  8. Jane G.
    Jane G.
    • 12 reviews
    9.5/10

    This outstanding restaurant is located in quiet, suburban Griffiths so there are no parking issues. The decor is understated elegance and the service friendly and efficient. The free canapés were delicious as were all the three savoury courses. Our party of three deliberately ordered different meals in each category so we could taste as much as possible-nothing disappointed! The desserts were interesting and complex-if not quite to our taste. The wine list was extensive and wide ranging with Australian and overseas offerings. Fortunately it also offered some affordable options. While expensive this is a special restaurant for special occasions!

  9. Keith H.
    Keith H.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Always a pleasure

  10. Matt B.
    Matt B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Brilliant - again!! The food, atmosphere and service was amazing. Great wine selection. The staff were amazing and very responsive. Will definitely be doing at Aubergine again!!

  11. Sue M.
    Sue M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Aubergine consistently offers delicious and innovative dishes in a degustation menu of inspired combinations. The menu is always changing, according to season and availability of ingredients. Ben Willis is a very gifted chef and the service staff are consistently helpful and responsive. A meal here is always a treat.

  12. Karen K.
    Karen K.
    • one review
    5/10

    We felt like we were in a sausage factory. From the moment we sat down, we were being pushed to hurry up. This was confounded because we had chosen our dishes (and accompanying wine) from the menu advertised on Aubergine's web site that same day. The menus we were presented with upon sitting down were completely different. Either keep the web site menus up to date or get rid of them.

  13. Allan R.
    Allan R.
    • one review
    7/10

    For a 2 hat restaurant preparing only 12 dishes on fixed menu, the food did not live up to expectations. The hors d'oeuvres was the most exciting dish.

  14. Charley L.
    Charley L.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    The food was well presented and delicious. The service was first rate. The ambience was wonderful and relaxed. An excellent place for a truly unique dining experience!

  15. Malcolm T.
    Malcolm T.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    This is an expensive treat but worth every cent. We go there each year for our wedding anniversary and they never disappoint. The service, food and wine are first class. Definitely gong back.

  16. Michael W.
    Michael W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Something totally different to what we usually have. We tried vegetables we had never heard of before. Top class food, service and atmosphere.

  17. Ross F.
    Ross F.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Simply an amazing experience. The friendly wait staff and enthusiastic sommelier guided us on our journey of incredibly beautiful and delicious courses. Would love to come again if we are ever in town.

  18. Gareth T.
    Gareth T.
    • one review
    9/10

    Amazing food and service, would recommend

  19. Alison S.
    Alison S.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    It’s been 11 years since our last visit, and we were delighted to be back. A lovely space, very friendly staff and beautiful food. The sommelier was a particular highlight.

  20. Andrew F.
    Andrew F.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    The food was great, the service was great, and the ambience was great too. I really enjoy this restaurant, and my wife enjoys it even more, so visit at least once a year.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    9.25/10

    Fantastic service and excellent menu. Always enjoy dining at Aubergine.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8.5/10

    Lovely restaurant for a special occasion. Can't fault the service. Meals were definitely tasty, very fancy

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food was beautifully presented and each course had exquisite, subtle and delicious flavours . The wine list was excellent with a most knowledgeable sommelier. The service was very good.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    7/10

    Lovely atmosphere. Food delivered very nice but not spectacular

  25. Kirsten B.
    Kirsten B.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    We had a fabulous time here Service and wait staff were great We loved the sommelier and his explanation of the wines Food was excellent Highly recommended when in Canberra

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 291 reviews
    10/10

    Perfect night - thank you!!

  27. William H.
    William H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service, food and wine!

  28. Dan R.
    Dan R.
    • one review
    10/10

    This place is without doubt the best restaurant in Canberra. Do yourself a favour.

  29. Lisa S.
    Lisa S.
    • one review
    10/10

    First time to Aubergine and expectations were exceeded! The food delicious and thoughtful. My fella is coeliac and staff were more than accommodating. And the sommelier was sensational - matched wines perfectly and good fun. Though it is not a cheap night out, the whole experience was definitely value for money. Loved it.

  30. Frank R.
    Frank R.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    Loved it but not the music-otherwise fantastic

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    9/10

    Worthy of 2 hats.

  32. Chris C.
    Chris C.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Sommelier is an absolutely gem - perfectly matched wines with wonderful food. Sommelier service was great great great . A night to remember for 10th wedding anniversary.

  33. DENY S.
    DENY S.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Best in Canberra

  34. Walter C.
    Walter C.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good fine dinning

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    7.5/10

    Good food with very delicate and refine pairing wine

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    9.25/10

    Extremely attentive service, lovely meal, good wine. However, for me, I felt the meal was a little rushed. We were booked for the first sitting and I didn't feel I could fully savour each course (4 courses) and matching wines without rushing to make way for the next course. We also thought that a couple of our dishes had minor letdowns with a few elements (considering the standard/reputation of the restaurant).

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    10/10

    Outstanding food, wine and atmosphere.

  38. Mary N.
    Mary N.
    • 3 reviews
    9.75/10

    Really lovely spot for a romantic dinner or celebrating a special occasion.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    9.25/10

    Hugh Jackman was there and I didn't recognise him! The service staff are amazing. The first course - there was no choice would be my only negative. I enjoyed the small course before the first course it was a great appetizer.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    10/10

    Tip top fine dining!