Back

Reviews - Automata

  1. Linda K.
    Linda K.
    • 66 reviews
    9/10

    This visit was not the first visit but definitely the best out all all. Love it

  2. Anastasia C.
    Anastasia C.
    • 9 reviews
    8/10

    We expected more from food that was not as fine dining as we anticipated. It was a pleasant evening

  3. Arren O.
    Arren O.
    • 17 reviews
    10/10

    Definitely a great dining experience. Had the matching beverages which totally enhanced the flavours of the dishes. AMAZING! Will definitely come back

  4. Danisha F.
    Danisha F.
    • 14 reviews
    8.5/10

    My husband and I went to Automata to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had the 7 course tasting menu and it was delicious! Each dish so different and tasty. The waiters explained the wine and the dishes served so well and it all came out well timed. The only thing we would've liked different, is the seating. We were sat on a communal table and would've preferred a table on our own.

  5. Ying C.
    Ying C.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    really good combination of food, some were slightly on the saltier side

  6. Eric C.
    Eric C.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Great ambience. Food flavours were mostly too salty or a bit and miss on the texture combinations in the attempt to make it looks appealing for the Instagram.

  7. Nancy L.
    Nancy L.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    This is my second visit. Dishes were very exquisitely presented and tasty, attentive and friendly staff. It can get a little noisy when fully booked. While it is very pleasant, didn’t really wow me this time.

  8. Cameron M.
    Cameron M.
    • one review
    7/10

    Good if not any outstanding highlights. I know it’s not super expensive on a per head basis but I think the price tag outweighs the food. By the time you spend $700 for 4 people i think I would preferred to spend $1000 for a few highlights

  9. Christine S.
    Christine S.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    We had the 7 meal tasting menu and it was tasty sumptuous and worth it . We enjoyed my birthday dinner ???? service is very professional and excellent

  10. Ron h.
    Ron h.
    • 2 reviews
    4.5/10

    Too focussed on themselves vs the customers

  11. Emma T.
    Emma T.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    As

  12. Gary L.
    Gary L.
    • 8 reviews
    8.5/10

    The service was excellent and staff were all friendly & personable. We had the 5 course and sake recommended by the sommelier. All 5 courses were good with the standouts being the black angus, stracciatella and the pasta. The sake was a good recommendation.

  13. Karlie G.
    Karlie G.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Always a pleasure!

  14. Phiona C.
    Phiona C.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Great food, great service

  15. Sophie U.
    Sophie U.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    My partner and I are return customers whenever there is a menu change and a special occasion. We went back last night for his birthday and the staff were so warm and welcoming. The new menu by the team was amazing as always. Keep setting that bar high!

  16. Alex H.
    Alex H.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Wonderful food in a cool modern atmosphere. Excellent.

  17. Melinda W.
    Melinda W.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Very enjoyable! Service was friendly and fantastic, and the menu was interesting! there were only one or two courses that we didn’t absolutely love but most others were fantastic (we did seven courses without wine). Would definitely return!

  18. Kartini l.
    Kartini l.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Great service! Food was amazing

  19. Graham M.
    Graham M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Went for a romantic date. The service was Excellent, the food was good and varied atmosphere in the venue was good. Well worth the money to go there

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    8.5/10

    Cocktail & drinks menu excellent . Modern twist- lots of flair & originality

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    6.75/10

    The place was far too dark, I could see the food properly and the photos I took of the dishes came out very dull.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 311 reviews
    9.5/10

    Fantastic food and friendly service

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 296 reviews
    10/10

    Great food, lovely staff, awesome vibe!

  24. James R.
    James R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Spectacular meal with great wine pairings

  25. Paul L.
    Paul L.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    The degustation menu was excellent and the wine pairings we insightful and innovative. Thoroughly enjoyable

  26. Paul L.
    Paul L.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    Really interesting and tasy dishes on the 7 course degustation menu with excellent and innovative wine pairings by Paolo. Attentive service

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    8/10

    The service was amazing and they were very attentive. There were good portions and the menu was very diverse and unique.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    6.5/10

    Food was unbalanced, lacking in protein, and was not of the caliber I was expecting

  29. Stella M.
    Stella M.
    • 14 reviews
    8.75/10

    We dined to celebrate a special occasion and were greeted warmly by the staff. food was beautifully presented and we especially loved the bush tomato cream tubes and the sheep's curd.

  30. Blake S.
    Blake S.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Excellent dining experience

  31. Lizi P.
    Lizi P.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food and atmosphere.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    9/10

    The service was absolutely impeccable and so friendly. We got offered to stay longer than 2h, which was so nice to catch up with friends. Food is extremely modern and creative! Never a dull dish on the menu :)

  33. Terry L.
    Terry L.
    • one review
    6/10

    Disappointing. Brave attempt to experiment with native ingredients failed dismally. Best thing was the house made bread and seasoned butter. Had to go and get more food after.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    8.25/10

    Loved the contemporary playlist - loud enough to be noticeable but quiet enough not to be intrusive. More restaurants should be confident with music like this.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    7.5/10

    For the price I don’t think there were enough stand out hits. The food was too complex and the flavour was lost.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    8.5/10

    The food is cerebral, deft and perfectly balanced across the multi courses - with adroitly paired wines that are not the usual suspects.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food, great atmosphere and staff.

  38. Kayla K.
    Kayla K.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    If you are looking for something different to open your taste buds, this is the place. Really interesting and delicious food and truly a wonderful dinning experience.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    6.5/10

    We have been thinking of trying this restaurant for a while, but the fusion dishes they offer don't seem to work for us.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    6.25/10

    Excellent wine recommendations by sommelier, service friendly and enthusiastic, however food pretty consistently underwhelming with even a couple of dishes left unfinished by both of us which is a first ever! Two snacks at the beginning of the meal set the tone, with a very tough, heavy & dry mini vol au vent containing an odd gelatinous beefy goo (meant to be pumpkin) and some pepitas on top that was inedible, and a mini cigar pastry stuffed with what tasted just like cream cheese. A couple of the dishes were good, with a lovely soft curd cheese, artichoke and nastertium flowers dish, and a beef with eggplant and chilli, which was a bit chewy but had great flavours. Otherwise the mini bread roll and wine were the highlight! Oh, and the service and atmosphere were great. Will keep an eye out for when the menu changes and will give it another try possibly, as based on other reviews feel that our experience is an anomaly and we may have hit an unusually poor menu.