Back

Reviews - Avalon

  1. Leigh S.
    Leigh S.
    • 53 reviews
    10/10

    Great food service and atmosphere. Especially loved the camembert...yum. Been visiting this restaurant for over 20 years...never a bad meal. Can't wait to return to this quirky gem.

  2. Sue S.
    Sue S.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    I was expecting great food and atmosphere. The venue is tired, cluttered and apart from the view from the few tables next to the windows, really needs an overhaul. Food was similar to what I would have cooked at home 20 years ago: sad salad, average potato rosti etc. Very disappointing.

  3. Deb H.
    Deb H.
    • one review
    8/10

    I just love the Avalon for its service, staff, setting and look. It’s a beautifully presented place and it is obvious the owners have put in a huge amount of effort. The only thing is and probably the most important for me is that being vegetarian there is not a lot to choose from and the protein content is pretty low. I came home and was hungry. I normally don’t want to be negative about food as we are thoroughly spoilt in Australia compared to third world countries. But we paid good money and to come away unsatisfied is a pity. So next time I go I will be enjoying the atmosphere and service and hoping that what I consume will be satisfying. Thanks Deb

  4. - -.
    - -.
    • 24 reviews
    7.5/10

    I came to Avalon a few years ago and thought it was outstanding on all fronts: atmosphere, service, food, wine, value. This time we found the food to be uninspiring, sadly, although everything else was the same. I'll have to be convinced to return.

  5. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    10/10

    Very friendly staff & beautiful food. Would return again.

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 243 reviews
    10/10

    Great for anyone gluten intolerant wide range of meals

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    9.25/10

    Very interesting design and beautiful food. I was surprised that locals don't know about this place (well at least those who we asked about it)

  8. Aladin H.
    Aladin H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    food was great, excellent service, nice ambiance, and very friendly staff

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    8.75/10

    Food tasty, although most entree options were rather salty. We had the antipasto plate to share & it was very salty. Main (salmon) very tasty. Dessert also tasty. Wine prices high, beer not too bad. Loved the quirky decor, live music & service. Not a cheap night out but being able to enjoy good quality live music resulted in a pleasant evening.

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    7/10

    Atmosphere and service were great however the food was average and rather expensive for the quality.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great restaurant for having diner with couple, family or friends with live music. Open and relaxed atmosphere.

  12. Colette B.
    Colette B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The servings are always reliable and generous.

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food, interesting decor. Good service Really enjoyed the meal

  14. Daniel M.
    Daniel M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    THREE OF US FELT THE DUCK SAUCE WAS BURNT AND WAS TOO STRONG A TASTE.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    10/10

    An eclectic collection of memorabilia in a restaurant with lovely food and fine service.I am gluten intolerant and my dietry need was well catered for.The baked camember was so delicious but is a large serving.The wait staff were friendly and informative .Would thoroughly recommend a visit.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 242 reviews
    4.5/10

    The choices are very limited. My daughter ordered a spaghetti napolitain. It came out a bowl of canned peeled tomato with little spaghetti. My tofu salad with lime n herbs sauce tasted like a weird balsamic vinegar dressing. None of us finished what we had ordered.

  17. Carl M.
    Carl M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing service and food. Such and enjoyable dining experience

  18. Robert T.
    Robert T.
    • one review
    9/10

    Loved the ambience, music was perfectly background, no intrusions visually or audibly. Highly recommended.

  19. Lindsay F.
    Lindsay F.
    • 5 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great atmosphere- a good crowd there also so must be popular.

  20. Sharon H.
    Sharon H.
    • one review
    5.25/10

    The restaurant was nice. Pretty cool decor and set up tastefully. The drinks were delicious and great service. The food was a total let down. It much taste and not worth the price in my opinion.

  21. Nicholas M.
    Nicholas M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great restaurant in heritage surroundings with lovely view. HIgh quality food. A bit pricey, but strongly recommended.

  22. Lisa T.
    Lisa T.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Lovely restaurant. Great food, service, atmosphere. Have been there a few times and have enjoyed every time.

  23. Beth R.
    Beth R.
    • one review
    10/10

    We celebrated our 28th Wedding Anniversary with family and friends and the food and orange juice and especially the banana caramel tart. fantastic thankyou for a great night.

  24. Paul I.
    Paul I.
    • one review
    9/10

    Really great place - excellent food, ambience and drinks. Entertainment was great! Was really busy though and service was slow for us, hence why I marked this down. Highly recommend it though.

  25. Carmela S.
    Carmela S.
    • 35 reviews
    9/10

    A great restaurant in an old cinema that I visited as a child. Lovely food

  26. Karen E.
    Karen E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Just a great place to have dinner with a loved one family or friends. The staff are all lovely. The atmosphere is really nice.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    9.25/10

    Being on old picture theatre was great. Memorabilia everywhere. Food was great and good variety of drinks.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8.25/10

    Had a great time here!

  29. Gail B.
    Gail B.
    • 7 reviews
    7.5/10

    We went for dinner with a group of friends who hadn’t seen each other for a while. Unfortunately our table was next to the musicians so it was quite difficult to talk. The music itself was very good, but too loud right up close. The food was good and the portion size was quite large. The staff were charming, but it would have better if they had poured our wine instead of just putting the bottle on the table.

  30. Liz R.
    Liz R.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Really nice lunch with a friend. The service was great, attentive and friendly.

  31. Michael G.
    Michael G.
    • 2 reviews
    5.25/10

    A bit disappointing, to be honest. Food was meh, service also pretty slow. The decore is cool, and it appears popular with families with kids, but no longer a top dining destination in Katoomba.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    9.25/10

    Unique decor and couldn't complain about the food. We had the steak and lamb and both were really well cooked. They had a bar as well which we didn't go to this time but would love to go there next time.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    9.75/10

    Food fabulous as always! A few new faces in the staff but seems to better for it!

  34. Faye L.
    Faye L.
    • 10 reviews
    8.25/10

    Had a great night of food at this quirky local’s favourite. The ambience was fabulous. The fine dining mood of the 80’s and early 90’s can be enjoyed all over again, with menus to matched!!

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    5.5/10

    Really poor food .. ie large poorly cooked tasteless overpriced food in a pleasant restaurant setting with nice staff

  36. Lorenzo D.
    Lorenzo D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Simply a beautiful experience and the quality of the food was awesome

  37. Leigh S.
    Leigh S.
    • 53 reviews
    9.75/10

    This place is timeless. Been coming for 23 years and never had a bad meal . Amazing location and v friendly service. Strongly recommend their special baked camembert...just delicious.

  38. Tom S.
    Tom S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The good was sensational

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    8/10

    Great old Katoomba icon

  40. Leslie C.
    Leslie C.
    • one review
    10/10

    We very much enjoyed the quality of the food and the portions were very generous. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The atmosphere is unique with its setting and mix of eclectic crockery. It's a must visit when in Katoomba.