Back

Reviews Baia the Italian

8.3/10

Very good

based on 1177 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Tracy E.
    Tracy E.
    • 8 reviews
    2/10

    Wasn’t even open. Shouldn’t be able to book on the fork.

  2. Terence H.
    Terence H.
    • 3 reviews
    6/10

    One of our starters the chile, garlic pizza bread was served to us barely warm & the topping which tasted mostly like plain tomato paste with a bit of dried chile was actually stone cold, we had to have it sent back to be reheated. Further to this my seafood spaghetti was extremely diappointing as the majority of the seafood except the fish component was so tough & chewy that it was mostly inedible. The only positive of our lunch experience was the fact that after discussions regarding the quality of the food served to us with the management we were then offered a considerably large discount as compensation which we gratefully accepted. I would like to add that we have had lunch at this same venue previously and were totally satisfied however as stated our most recent lunch at this venue was unfortunately EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING.

  3. Nathalie B.
    Nathalie B.
    • 34 reviews
    10/10

    Came for a work lunch, had the lunch specials and really enjoyed ourselves. Delicious food and good atmosphere. Would definitely recommend.

  4. Anni C.
    Anni C.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    It’s my second time attend to this restaurant, I appreciate the waitress’ service, professional and efficient. We had garlic bread, creamy lingunie and Tao beer, very nice combination with my little baby.

  5. Nel N.
    Nel N.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Food was pleasant although left me quite thirsty afterwards. We ordered the spaghetti, pizza and calamari. Ordered a hot beverage which arrived in a disturbingly unclean mug. The bill also arrived without the discount that it was booked under, whether intentional or not...and then had to confirm that I had attended my booking aftwrwards..

  6. Bon L.
    Bon L.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    Great meal enjoyed by us all, friendly attentive staff who were very helpful. Meals were very tasty, would recommend! The fork discount a bonus!

  7. Warwick F.
    Warwick F.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious and chilled out spot with a separate kids menu!

  8. Anish S.
    Anish S.
    • 4 reviews
    5.5/10

    The restaurant has a nice ambiance but clearly doesn't have enough staff to cater to the number of people at the restaurant. It took them a while just to seat us and then took a long time for our order to be taken. The drinks came out after we had gotten through half our food. There was also a long wait to get the bill and pay. Food was relatively tasty. Had the Creamy linguine and the Calzone. The linguine was quite nice but the Calzone was pretty average.

  9. Tracey P.
    Tracey P.
    • 4 reviews
    7/10

    We enjoyed the food, very authentic italian. Unfortunately it took an hour to get our main meal but it was piping hot and a very generous serving when received which was good

  10. Chelsea  P.
    Chelsea P.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    The staff were okay the main meals took over an hour to come out disappointed.... flavours were good and the meal size was huge other than that good

  11. Jinny K.
    Jinny K.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent view and very delicious food! Halloumi salad was fantastic. Will go again definitely.

  12. Jeison M.
    Jeison M.
    • one review
    8/10

    The place, food and atmosphere is pretty good for a dinner with family or friends. The staff is very friendly and helpful. However, you have to check carefully when you receive your bill due to they will try to avoid on applying the discounts or promotions that you may have. Just check very well before you pay.

  13. Alejandra b.
    Alejandra b.
    • 31 reviews
    9/10

    Service was very good, the taste of the food was pretty good as well, pizza is delicious the pasta bolognese and the sorbet were all really good , we really enjoyed it !!!

  14. Tayla D.
    Tayla D.
    • one review
    8/10

    The food was absolutely delicious! Entrees were served piping hot (we got the calamari and arancini) and were exceptionally tasty. We also ordered a Margherita pizza, which was delicious although could have been hotter. Servers were all quite attentive (although had a few awkward interactions - could be due to a variety of reasons and all our needs were taken care of). The view was wonderful - looking straight out over the harbour - and everything was clean and tidy. Overall an enjoyable meal and experience (especially seeing as we made it in time to take advantage of the happy hour 2-for-1 deal) and have very minimal criticism.

  15. Keira m.
    Keira m.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    The food was good. Portion size was bigger than expected. Staff was very friendly, manager was lovely. It was a pretty setting by the water. It was just a shame about the neighbouring bar pumping out house music - unnecessarily loudly for the 12 people that were drinking there - which was no fault of the restaurants! Would recommend to friends.

  16. Nancy K.
    Nancy K.
    • 9 reviews
    7/10

    The wait lady was rather bias, we requested the water view seats, there were few available, she didn’t want to allocate to us.

  17. Kat Q.
    Kat Q.
    • one review
    10/10

    Service was friendly and well timed. Food was delicious! We ordered the stuffed eggplant, haloumi salad and rissotto. I would order them again but I am also curious to try other menu items as I will be returning!

  18. Skye s.
    Skye s.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great location; food was delicious, service was ok, had to wait a while for orders or drinks but great atmosphere which made the waiting really comfortable. We had the table next to the fireplace with big high chairs. I think they should make all the tables like this.

  19. Suzy Z.
    Suzy Z.
    • one review
    8/10

    Beautiful location, great selection and tasty food, amazing attentive service. Ordered the gnocchi, margarita pizza and halloumi salad for two

  20. Bisterbosch F.
    Bisterbosch F.
    • 3 reviews
    6.5/10

    We had a table overlooking the water which was nice. The service was dissapointing. We finished our entree without having received our cutlery and it took a very long time for the waiter to come to take our order. When I received my meal, I asked for extra fetta as there was only a sprinkle on it, the waiter said sure. I waited for 10min, and my family had almost finished their meals and my dish had become cold. I had to take my plate to the front desk to ask for them to put the extra fetta on and to warm it up again. Eventually I got my plate back, and there was still only a little fetta. It was more like a garnish than a meal with feta. After mains we asked for the dessert menu and again we had to wait 20min for them to come take our order. After the dessert we asked for the bill, our discount was not calculated into the bill. When I went to pay I had to remind the man at the register about the discount. He did not make a problem and recalculated the bill. It was busy and not enough staff. The staff were friendly.

  21. Dom C.
    Dom C.
    • 6 reviews
    2/10

    Terrible, terrible food! Service was non existent! Obviously no systems and procedures! Not blaming the staff, they were nice enough! Obviously the restaurant just flys off the darling harbour location...not good enough! That whole place is ripe for a redevelopment. I know this as im looking at it. They need to Start competing with Barangaroo! Up your game!

  22. Philip K.
    Philip K.
    • 11 reviews
    6.5/10

    Service and staff were friendly and efficient. The duck was very oily and the menu is overpriced. You pay for the location with is slightly restricted.

  23. Nelly L.
    Nelly L.
    • 9 reviews
    6.5/10

    The pasta was amazing, however the rest of the dishes was below average. The steak was tough, the king prawns (if you can call them king prawns...) was overcooked and mushy, pizza was plain, mussels came out cold.. probably won't go here again.

  24. Millie W.
    Millie W.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food was fantastic! Staff were very friendly and our food came fast. Really delicious and affordable quick office lunch. No complaints at all, we will definitely be back :)

  25. Ronald P.
    Ronald P.
    • 6 reviews
    7.5/10

    food takes a while to come out

  26. Jennifer L.
    Jennifer L.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    The food was nice. my friends from overseas enjoyed the lunch very much.

  27. Malaury m.
    Malaury m.
    • 6 reviews
    6/10

    Pizzas were very fine but good taste. The waitress was not really helpful when I asked what is inside the dishes. Tiramisu was good. That was ok but could be better.

  28. Julie L.
    Julie L.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    There is nothing I don't like about this restaurant. It's in a great spot, the food is consistently good, the service is great and the staff are efficient and firendly. I love it!

  29. Ayriel K.
    Ayriel K.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great spot! Has a charming interior with a lovely view of the harbour. Service was polite and nice. We ordered salt and pepper squid for starter but it was quite salty, otherwise the food was enjoyable

  30. Nathalie B.
    Nathalie B.
    • 34 reviews
    10/10

    This is my second time here this week and the service was very good this time. I highly recommend the prosciutto salad and the Tempranillo is lovely.

  31. Sharon W.
    Sharon W.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Pasta and sweet potato chips were great! Calamari well cooked and so was the trout. Pizza was definitely a disappointment, was dry and only flavour we could all taste was salt. Would still recommend on 50% offer or their sunset menu!

  32. Sally S.
    Sally S.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    We greeted very pleasantly & taken to our table which had lovely views of the water. The food was excellent & well presented our waitress Anna was lovely & very helpful.

  33. Margarita S.
    Margarita S.
    • 20 reviews
    10/10

    Didn’t realise they have happy hour. We got 2 for 1 drinks. Perfect. My trout was amazing and was my chocolate mouse.

  34. Lisa H.
    Lisa H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great food, great sunny day and good service! Highly recommend the haloumi salad. Seamless booking and bill at the Baia but the Fork app was really glitchy.

  35. Fiona W.
    Fiona W.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    The food was beautifully presented, fresh and tasty and the servings were generous. The service was good even though they were very busy, although our first drinks were very slow in coming ( well after our meat and cheese board had arrived). We would definitely eat here again.

  36. Charlotte w.
    Charlotte w.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    The table we were sat at was what seemed like one of the worst they had, out of the way with no view of the harbour which was a shame. It was next door to a bar which started playing very loud music, so we asked to move which they happily accommodated. We were then sat in the restaurant, which was very hot and quite uncomfortable. Food was ok (starter calamari was lovely, arancini balls were ok). Friends got pasta & Gnocci (she didnt rate the gnocci), I got the prawns which were very overcooked and not that pleasant. Wouldn't go again, although staff were very friendly and nice

  37. Prachi B.
    Prachi B.
    • 6 reviews
    7/10

    Lovely location and service. The food was a bit disappointing though - commercial fare that seemed out of a packet. The food was bland and lacked flavour.

  38. Sabrina  L.
    Sabrina L.
    • 6 reviews
    7.5/10

    Good food and quick service for a busy time

  39. Alana S.
    Alana S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Iconic setting, Classy restaurant but casual vibe right on the water, great staff, awesome deals & specials available on delicious food+drinks + devine desserts keeps it well patronised, We loved it

  40. Linsay b.
    Linsay b.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    Like the restaurant but one of the pizza was very average (dry and very little Ingredients on it) - but the other one was delicious Staff was polite and the location is great