Back

Reviews Bamiyan Restaurant - Braddon

8.9/10

Fabulous

based on 105 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Emma S.
    Emma S.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food really worth going here

  2. Su M.
    Su M.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Yummy food. Had the banquet for 2. A good variety and plenty of food.

  3. Carol M.
    Carol M.
    • 32 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food was really good but a little expensive for the portion sizes. Well worth a visit though. Great neighbourhood gem. Great service and very quick service.

  4. Pamela O.
    Pamela O.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Staff were welcoming. Table was available and all guests accommodated. Drinks ordered and served promptly. Food was fantastic, enjoyed by all. Highly recommended.

  5. Jone C.
    Jone C.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food and service

  6. Nasreen A.
    Nasreen A.
    • one review
    8/10

    Absolutely marvellous, happy staff, food was brilliant, The meats were tender, the breads and naan’s, fresh, the flavours were wonderful and diverse.

  7. Tessa C.
    Tessa C.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Food was absolutely delicious!! I had a lamb dish and the meat was high quality. Great lunch options with good portions for a reasonable price. Everyone was very happy

  8. Lesley D.
    Lesley D.
    • one review
    10/10

    We don't have this quality of restaurant near us. Each time we visit Canberra we end up here. Just love the food, service and prices are spot on. Easy to order a feast or just a little.

  9. Jeremy M.
    Jeremy M.
    • 10 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food, value and service

  10. Craig W.
    Craig W.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    The food and service are excellent at Bamiyan, and price is very reasonable for the quality. Just gets a bit noisy and you are crammed together when it is busy.

  11. Matthew B.
    Matthew B.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Booked for four and we ended up being six. Everyone got variations of the lunch menus. These ranged from a main course, two entree's and a main, etc. All great sized lunches (with a soft drink) and good value. Will definitely be back.

  12. Marion G.
    Marion G.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Our first visit to Bamiyan. We loved the food with its saffron and mint overtones. Considering that the restaurant was packed, service was quite quick. We did have to wait for a few minutes to be shown to our table, although we had a reservation. We'll certainly return at a quieter season.

  13. Roger B.
    Roger B.
    • 6 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent food, served quickly. Highly recommend the banquet option to experience a few different tastes. The egg plant main course was the best.

  14. Diana X.
    Diana X.
    • 9 reviews
    9.5/10

    I love this restaurant. The food is great, service good and reasonably priced. Its also byo wine. We have had a banquet each time we have visited and the amount and variety is perfect.

  15. GRAHAM T.
    GRAHAM T.
    • one review
    7/10

    Lunch special good value.

  16. Rhyl H.
    Rhyl H.
    • one review
    10/10

    We’ve been back for takeaways where there was a mistake with the order! Not so impressed with that! Food was good. The initial visit was excellent.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    8.25/10

    It would be good to see more vegetarian choices on the menu. On our second visit, we had to eat more or less what we had on our first visit and so we are less likely to come again. The restaurant in Braddon was very noisy -- maybe more carpets or hangings on the walls would help, but it was mainly because the restaurant was full which is a very good sign for customers and, I guess, the owners.

  18. Briony O.
    Briony O.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Only issues is that they brought all the food out at same ttime. Entree and mains nobody knew who ordered what so was confusing. Bring out entrees first give a little time then bring out mains. Had to see the menu again to figure out what belonged to whom.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    9/10

    Great food, in generous serving sizes. I dined with one other person and we ordered an entree and main each and couldn't fit in dessert! The food itself was delicious - hearty, full of flavour, the perfect meal for a cold winter's night.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 239 reviews
    8/10

    Was delicious!

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent value for money

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    8.75/10

    The food was absolutely delicious and servings were generous. The restaurant space was much louder than expected but my friend and I could still hear each other ok.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    8.25/10

    Food was delicious! Will be back.

  24. Rachel H.
    Rachel H.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Amazing food! Lovely lady picked all our dishes and they were sensational.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food is so flavoursome. The Afghani bread simply delicious. Would highly recommend Bamiyan as a unique dining experience.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    7.25/10

    Quick and friendly service.

  27. Nicole P.
    Nicole P.
    • 20 reviews
    7.5/10

    Delish banquet. Service was a bit slow, however we were given some wine on the house for the delay in the mains coming out. Would done again.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    8.5/10

    We enjoyed our meal at Bamiyran on Saturday night. The food/drinks was rated purely on the food which was delicious, aromatic and plentiful (we had the $50 banquet). As the restaurant is BYO we brought our own wine with us which only incurred a $3 per person corkage fee. They do sell alcohol as well. The service was efficient and friendly but they did not rush us. We were there about three hours.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 291 reviews
    7.75/10

    Second visit and vegetarian options not so tasty and quite small, dumplings over-mayoed and rubbery. First visit we had some lovely meat dishes.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 248 reviews
    7.5/10

    Good food in a good location.

  31. David H.
    David H.
    • 26 reviews
    8/10

    The staff are charming, though they and the kitchen seemed overstretched on a weekend night. The food is outstanding and there is a good range of vegetarian dishes. It is best to come by public transport as parking is difficult.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    9.25/10

    The food here was interesting and delicious and the service was good. I was amazed that it was so inexpensive though - we had plenty to eat and went home with a container of food for a very reasonable price.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 245 reviews
    9.75/10

    Absolutely delicious. Has become our weekly go to!

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food- been here a number of times and it never disappoint. Delicious!

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    7.5/10

    Great food and service, quite noisy though so better for a quicker meal than a long stay catching up with people.

  36. Laura A.
    Laura A.
    • one review
    6/10

    Late lunch so noone else in the restaurant. Yummy food and big servings. I ordered too much!

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    7.75/10

    It was a bit noisy

  38. Mark S.
    Mark S.
    • 3 reviews
    7.75/10

    A great feed. The banquet was absolutely amazing. The restaurant is licenced and has BYO Wine (not clear from the website). If this is true Afghani cuisine (I don't know) there should be no fighting in Afghanistan.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    7.75/10

    Our first taste of Afghan food and it was delicious. The service was fantastic; we arrived earlier than our booking but they were happy to seat us, we had someone arrive late & also a special dietary requirement and both were happily accommodated. We will definitely return.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    8.5/10

    New to Afghan food, staff were helpful. Afghan dumplings were terrific, the shish kebabs were even better - marinade was delicious, and meat was still pink and juicy. Good value wine list. Sadly, extremely noisy.