Back

Reviews Bamiyan Restaurant - Braddon

8.8/10

Fabulous

based on 100 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    9/10

    Food was excellent, but the restaurant was packed and quite noisy.

  2. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food portions were very generous and we couldn’t finish the main course even though it was absolutely delicious.

  3. Alison W.
    Alison W.
    • 7 reviews
    9.75/10

    Service was great and the food was delicious and excellent value. Will definitely return the next time I am in Canberra!

  4. Ravi S.
    Ravi S.
    • 6 reviews
    9.25/10

    Truly beautiful food. We were wanting to try this for a while and am glad we did! Ordered Kachaloo Bolanee for entree (stuffed Afghani flat bread) with yogurt sauce. It was such a good starter. Ordered Nakhut Korma (chickpeas curry) with garlic cheese naan and Chicken Sholla (Afghan risotto) for the mains. Cannot fault the food. Service was quick and while we went in a bit late, the staff served us happily. I think the pricing was slightly higher than my expectations, but besides a few dollars per dish, the cuisine and the experience was brilliant!! We also landed up ordering more than we could finish.

  5. Paul B.
    Paul B.
    • 6 reviews
    3/10

    Tried to shove 6 of us on to two small tables claiming they were overbooked. One of the entrees had foreign particles in it. We ordered the banquet and got three small dishes with very little food. Such a shame as a previous visit was very nice.

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    7.75/10

    This is a great restaurant, great authentic Afghani food

  7. Paul B.
    Paul B.
    • 6 reviews
    8/10

    Very tasty food

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    9/10

    Wonderful dishes and service - thoroughly enjoyed by all

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    7.75/10

    Delicious food, left feeling very full!

  10. Tim V.
    Tim V.
    • one review
    7/10

    Delicious food. Will definitely return.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    5.75/10

    The food is really good - it's tasty and different. Unfortunately, on busy nights the staff are not very effective. They were inattentive and then they cleared our wine glasses before we had finished drinking what was in them and didn't offer us any dessert.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    8.75/10

    We had a delicious dinner at Bamiyan and would thoroughly recommend it to everyone.

  13. Julie G.
    Julie G.
    • 10 reviews
    7/10

    This was our first experience dining at an Afghan restaurant and we enjoyed it. Good ambience, service and food.

  14. Brett S.
    Brett S.
    • 10 reviews
    8.75/10

    Banquet style menu offered a great selection of entrees, and choice of mains with great recommendations from our server. Food was delicious.

  15. Robert R.
    Robert R.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    I marked down the atmosphere entirely because of the extremely high noise level. Some people think that adds to atmosphere. We were at the window end, and could just hear each other over the table. Inside it must have been nearly impossible. Otherwise the atmosphere was great, as was the food and service.

  16. Kate N.
    Kate N.
    • 6 reviews
    7.75/10

    Really yummy food. Definitely going back.

  17. Eric T.
    Eric T.
    • 60 reviews
    9.25/10

    Yummy food, friendly service and a gem in Canberra

  18. Sal s.
    Sal s.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    very tasty well cooked food

  19. David S.
    David S.
    • 6 reviews
    9.25/10

    Delicious and interesting food in a casual atmosphere. Handy location. Friendly staff. Quick service and good value. BYO option available.

  20. Josh M.
    Josh M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    The food was delicious! The staff were friendly! The restaurant is set out nicely too

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8.25/10

    A good place to eat

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    7.75/10

    Was a nice place. Enjoyed the food and the service. Their wine list wasn't too impressive.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    3.5/10

    Was asked to leave before even finishing banquet. Clearly all about the profit. Very disappointing. Will certainly be sharing this terrible experience with as many as I can.

  24. Peter R.
    Peter R.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    This experience for the seven of us was genuine 'find'. My teenage son, who can be especially difficult to please with regards to food, said to me afterwards, 'this is a MUST RETURN TO restaurant'. I couldn't agree more. Michael's also a good host

  25. Roger B.
    Roger B.
    • 6 reviews
    8/10

    Excellent food and service - our second visit and we took friends this time. However, it was a very hot night and the aircond could not cope, which made it uncomfortable. Further the restaurant was full and very noisy, hard to hold a conversation.

  26. Sue t.
    Sue t.
    • 33 reviews
    8.25/10

    Food was very tasty. We ordered the vegetarian banquet which had so much food but delicious. Bread was good as was the lentils and eggplant dish.

  27. Helen B.
    Helen B.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Great food & good service. Very enjoyable dining experience.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 254 reviews
    8/10

    We really enjoyed the food!

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic restaurant! We came across this by accident and decided to give it a go. I'm so glad we did because it quickly became one of my favourite restaurants in Canberra. The food was incredibly delicious and the staff were lovely. And who doesn't want dumplings and amazing curry in the same meal!

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    7.5/10

    Everyone enjoyed the food