Back

Reviews Bar Patron by Rockpool

8.2/10
Very good
based on 841 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Damon F.
    Damon F.
    • one review
    5/10

    Very bad service, the wait staff made us feel like they couldn’t care less if we were there. Not very attentive. Then they lost half the bottle of our (overpriced) wine and after me asking three different wait staff where it was, someone came out and made a fumbled explanation about having to pour some out of a new bottle to replace it. We found the whole thing quite funny and weren’t bothered at all until he made a snide remark to my date who was laughing about it. Super rude. Won’t go back. The food was not worth the experience.

  2. Mark F.
    Mark F.
    • one review
    10/10

    All the staff were helpful, pleasant, professional, well presented ands with a good sense of humour. Food sophisticated Mexican if that not an oxymoron! Lovely ambience and good value for money.

  3. Alfred t.
    Alfred t.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Was very impressed when we got a perfect view of the bridge from our table. The food was tasty and authentic and came in a timely manner. The staff were very attentive and lovely. Couldn’t fault it!

  4. Zenobia P.
    Zenobia P.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Delicious food. Recommend Cerviche, tuna salad, beef empanada. Lovely internal fit out and view of Circular Quay. Would come back, even if it was just for drinks at the bar overlooking the Harbour Bridge.

  5. Tina T.
    Tina T.
    • 11 reviews
    9.5/10

    Every cocktail and mocktail we had was divine. We also came with Mexican friends who love this restaurant because it’s the closest to real Mexican food in Sydney that they’ve tried. I would recommend the lamb barbacoa main dish.

  6. Jenny D.
    Jenny D.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    Great location and atmosphere. Tacos excellent and tequila cocktails unique. Would definitely come back again with a group of friends. Requested for a window table during peak times and was not a hassle.

  7. KAREN W.
    KAREN W.
    • one review
    10/10

    We were a group of 5 and had the Weekend Lunch menu. Food and drinks included. The food was delicious and plentiful. The margaritas were great. Service was fabulous too. Kathalina was lovely and made our ladies lunch.

  8. Susie P.
    Susie P.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    I was disappointed at the service as expectations for a Rockpool venue were high. This was lacking in every way. Food was good but not rushing back.

  9. Nathan B.
    Nathan B.
    • 9 reviews
    8.5/10

    We had lunch with the $30 all you can eat tacos if you buy a drink. The tacos were excellent, and much better than we remembered when we ate here a year ago. The mid-rating for our welcome was because we had to walk around to find someone, but it was quiet and no big deal. Highly recommend eating here and the drinks are great, too.

  10. Neil P.
    Neil P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Keep coming back to this place, the food never disappoints and the staff are always wonderful... and then there's the selection of tequila! Well done guys, will see you again soon.

  11. Regina Z.
    Regina Z.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    The entrees were fantastic, very tasty. We ordered the guacamole, the kingfish carpaccio & the fried chicken. We ordered the lobster taco & fried fish, they were good but nothing amazing. Service was great!

  12. Alan H.
    Alan H.
    • 4 reviews
    7.5/10

    Very quiet place for lunch, good for business lunch meetings in the day time. Food came out fast etc. Service is pretty good. Only downside is that they don't serve hot coffee!

  13. tania t.
    tania t.
    • one review
    8/10

    great food and good service def. go again .

  14. Michael H.
    Michael H.
    • 3 reviews
    5.5/10

    Good food, good location for going to the Opera House, FAR TOO NOISY, had a table for 3 and only two could talk together leaning over towards each other. Will not return

  15. Maria R.
    Maria R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great atmosphere with lovely food and Beautiful Latino service. Love it

  16. Daniel a.
    Daniel a.
    • 14 reviews
    8/10

    Great location and vibe. Food is very good. However when we arrived, no one served us for half an hour. Had to grab someone. Got better later, but initially wasn’t great.

  17. Kath L.
    Kath L.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Food was nice but a few of the dishes lacked the right amount of seasoning. Wouldn't be an issue except the main meals are $45 so you expect it to be perfect. Was a bit disappointed in one server. He offered us food and we said we weren't ready and so he immediately told us we only had the table for a set amount of time and if we wanted to stay longer he would move us. It was his tone, we felt unwanted. Overall though we enjoyed the night.

  18. Lee M.
    Lee M.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Thoroughly enjoyed our meal, food was amazing, disappointed we didn't check the bill properly and were charged full price for two happy hour drinks and were not offered complimentary bar snacks during happy hour we had to ask, despite this we'll be back!

  19. Louise S.
    Louise S.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    being pestered to order food when you are still waiting for your drinks to arrive. This seems to be a common trait in many restaurants that the drinks orders are slow but food delivery is fast. Not what dining out is about. It was good apart from that

  20. Ashley C.
    Ashley C.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Enjoyed this greatly- good range of food and excellent cocktails and wine. Food was delicious and served in good time. Attentive and informed staff as well.

  21. Ed J.
    Ed J.
    • 226 reviews
    6/10

    No points - No review

  22. David G.
    David G.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    Really good service great cocktails and good menu plus view of harbour bridge! Tucked away but a real gem, even though not in circular quay close to action and great view

  23. Amrit S.
    Amrit S.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and service

  24. Liz M.
    Liz M.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    This restaurant is a hidden gem. Tasteful ambiance and great cocktails, plus service was also very friendly. Prices very reasonable, and definitely recommended.

  25. Tina C.
    Tina C.
    • one review
    7/10

    Sadly the team were understaffed leaving us unattended for a significant part of the meal, we enjoyed the food thoroughly but had to wait a long time between courses meaning we needed to rush to make it to the theatre on time. Would definitely try again however not in a rush to go back.

  26. Annouska W.
    Annouska W.
    • 5 reviews
    8/10

    The food was great - the lobster taco was a hit. Service was friendly though was a bit slow to get service and drinks, though the food came out super quick.

  27. Gail E.
    Gail E.
    • one review
    10/10

    I really enjoyed the food, servings were quite reasonable and delicious. Service was excellent and very attentive. Paola and sister, were very professional and looked after us.... and I loved the Jalapeño margarita.

  28. Zeena  H.
    Zeena H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    This is my second visit and it did not disappoint. We had delicious & moorish cocktails at the bar overlooking an unusual view of Sydney Harbour, followed by fabulous food. The ability to share meant we could try a great array of food from the menu and none of us went home hungry or dissatisfied. The service was quick and accommodating. I’ll be back (next week)!

  29. Bronwyn d.
    Bronwyn d.
    • 5 reviews
    5/10

    Food was great, drinks was good when served, but the service was below bar, of which the staff apologised for when they realized their staffing sections were wrong to begin with. Otherwise, if we had attended at a quieter period it would have been fab!

  30. Denise M.
    Denise M.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Seem to be understaffed. Long wait for drinks and food. Food was great but not as good as first visit. Standards seem to have dropped.

  31. Deanna G.
    Deanna G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great restaurant, would definitely go back. Food was fresh and tasty and came out within perfect timing. Drinks were a little pricey but the food and atmosphere and service made up for it.

  32. Ami M.
    Ami M.
    • one review
    7/10

    Margaritas are nice and tasty. Guacamole is delicious. Food was reasonable. Staff were a little busy and found it hard to get to us. Staff were pleasant.

  33. Daniel K.
    Daniel K.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Food was only OK. Service was a bit disappointing. The place is so nice... We will be back to give it another go, but not overly optimistic.

  34. Morgane  B.
    Morgane B.
    • one review
    5/10

    The food is alright but unfortunately I can’t say the same about the service. They recommended too much food, the wine recommendation didn’t match what we asked for and we had to wait a long time to get our drinks and main when the place was not so busy.

  35. Sanj S.
    Sanj S.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Really great food and service was exceptional! One of the best margaritas around Sydney. I've been here 3 times and never disappointed. Definetly worth booking ahead if you do so you don't have to wait to be seated esp on a Friday evening!

  36. Vanessa  N.
    Vanessa N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Beautiful atmosphere, attentive staff, delicious food and mouthwatering cocktails! A great find on the edge of the busy city. Highly recommend, will be back!

  37. Kim L.
    Kim L.
    • 3 reviews
    4.5/10

    I was so excited to go. I’d been meaning to go for ages. We arrived, were seated and got menus - so good so far. Ordered. Received half the food we ordered before cocktails and then the food came out so so quick. Like all five items, way sooner than is reasonable. before we could finish them all. There were mosquitos around the table and it was so cold. I won’t be returning. So disappointing. Service was pretty good. Not great but not terrible.

  38. Gabrielle H.
    Gabrielle H.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    The restaurant is positioned beautifully in Circular Quay with views of the Harbour Bridge. We unfortunately had to follow up on our food a number of times as there was about 30 mins between getting the first two items and the remaining items coming out. Guests who arrived and ordered after us had their food brought out and had left before we had received all of our food.

  39. Rebecca N.
    Rebecca N.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    A great spot to meet friends for a drink and food to share. Great small plates easy to share among everyone at the table. The fish tacos are delicious. Def must try the Tommy's margarita - so good! And save room for dessert - churros in warm chocolate sauce - need I say more!?

  40. Rachel L.
    Rachel L.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    We had a fantastic date night here with the perfect combo of shared Mexican dishes and cocktails!