Back

Reviews Bartolo

9/10

Excellent

based on 189 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. David A.
    David A.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Lovely intimate restaurant in Surry Hills. Food and service were excellent. Good selection of wines and cocktails. Staff are very friendly and welcoming.

  2. Prue M.
    Prue M.
    • 9 reviews
    8.5/10

    What a charming restaurant. Extremely friendly and efficient staff, lovely interior and good food. It’s comfortable and intimate and quite reasonable.

  3. J.ames G.
    J.ames G.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Waiting staff were friendly and welcoming although very busy with a large dinner party group that took up most of their time. Menu choice was different from restaurant website. Eventually chosen a main course with side order . The pasta dish was returned as it was served cold. Staff were prompt in replacement of the main course, however was disappointed with the re heated dish as it was not the same consistency.

  4. Hien T.
    Hien T.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Service was exceptional 2 thumbs up Romantic candle lit dinner and food was delicious Tiramisu desert is a must Wine list is pricey but we were recommended a great bottle My partner enjoyed the experience Bonus points for me hehe

  5. Ravenska M.
    Ravenska M.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Good service. Mains were ok. Pavlova was amazing!!

  6. Carole H.
    Carole H.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing service and food!

  7. Dan T.
    Dan T.
    • 13 reviews
    9/10

    good atmosphere and attentive service. perfect for dating

  8. Elizabeth P.
    Elizabeth P.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    On a wet & windy day outside, lunch at Bartolo was just what we needed. Great service, excellent good & wine and well priced. Love the place ... will definitely go again.

  9. Prue M.
    Prue M.
    • 9 reviews
    8/10

    Enjoyed dinner here very much. Particularly loved the decor, very cosy and quiet, We could actually hear each other! Would have loved a gluten free pasta but none available, the food though was very good.

  10. Sophia A.
    Sophia A.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Really great food and lovely staff! The only thing that let the venue down was the wait time for food however the staff apologised. Would come back!

  11. Angela l.
    Angela l.
    • 34 reviews
    10/10

    The service and food was excellent! Waiter was attentive. Pasta dishes were tasty and delicious, and not the usual overbearing salt taste that you get from most restaurants.

  12. Rebecca J.
    Rebecca J.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Great food. Handmade pastas are delicious, they have a different ragu pasta every Wednesday. The cured meats were also great. Service was good.

  13. Cedric C.
    Cedric C.
    • 17 reviews
    8.5/10

    Friendly staff, good food and atmosphere

  14. John O.
    John O.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent ambiance and service. Slightly limited menu choice but quality was good. Reasonably good value. Excellent wine list. Would be happy to go again.

  15. Livia D.
    Livia D.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Great pasta and service

  16. May H.
    May H.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Food was good, atmosphere was lovely. All the meals came out the same time, which presented a practical but also culinary difficulty. Service was fantastic!

  17. Lisa D.
    Lisa D.
    • 9 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great fitout and super friend and generally attentive service. The food was excellent and in a rare occasion for eating out in Sydney, not ridiculously salty! Tried this place on The Fork 50% off but would definitely come back at full price.

  18. J T.
    J T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Just fantastic!

  19. Louise V.
    Louise V.
    • 4 reviews
    5/10

    Whilst the staff were welcoming and very helpful the quality and quantity of food let them down. The restaurant lighting was so dim it was difficult to see what you were eating. We were recommended to share, which we did but obviously we did not order sufficient dishes. I am sure staff would have allowed us to order more but by this time we were already full.. of disappointment. Only the home made focaccia is worth mentioning. We will not be returning.

  20. Raul A.
    Raul A.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Beautiful food and great service in a cozy restaurant that feels like being at home (If you’re home was amazing that is). The pasta here is next level good. Grazie Marco and team!

  21. Ron G.
    Ron G.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    Great food and warm service make for a lovely evening out. Highlight of the night was the Snapper which was beautifully cooked and fresh and light. A good selection of interesting wines by the glass too!

  22. vanessa l.
    vanessa l.
    • one review
    9/10

    Excellent food. lovely fitout. great for a romantic dinner or a group.

  23. Tammy K.
    Tammy K.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    The tuna crudo was exceptional, as were the meatballs for entree. The main course Lamb was disappointing- thought the meat would melt off the bone, instead it was in slices and it was full of fat. The potatoes and beans were perfect as side dishes, and the tiramisu was good not exceptional The service was 100% very friendly on arrival, quick and knowledgeable. Had a nice time, value at the discount was good.

  24. Piyare K.
    Piyare K.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Food is amazing, very good quality. Pasta is perfection. Ambience is also great and the service was quick and friendly. Overall a great experience second time around and quality is great

  25. Bruna M.
    Bruna M.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely amazing ! The staff working last night made a huge difference in our experience, all the drinks and plates recommended were perfect ! I will be back 100%

  26. Vicki H.
    Vicki H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wonderful food, great service and perfect ambiance. We were there for lunch and had the share plates which were perfect. Staff were pleasant, helpful yet not intrusive. Looking forward to our next visit.

  27. V.ictor D.
    V.ictor D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent main dishes. Our table of 5 had three different dishes and all were excellent. Don't come here if you are expecting a volumous menu. Definitely will come back. And the service was excellent

  28. Mandy M.
    Mandy M.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Staff are lovely, vibrant and helpful. The food is flavoursome and filling without being heavy. Great wine selection. Lively, elegant yet casual atmosphere.

  29. Kerry K.
    Kerry K.
    • 17 reviews
    7.5/10

    Meatballs and tuna crudo were excellent entrees. The gnocchi and dory were very nice mains. Green beans were great. My only disappointment was the roast potatoes. They were too oily and hard for my taste. The prices are a bit high and there aren’t many choices for mains.

  30. Tara S.
    Tara S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved the food, wine, ambience and great service!

  31. Lara A.
    Lara A.
    • 6 reviews
    8/10

    Enjoyed a lovely catch up and meal with a friend - exceptional fresh tasty food, service was a little lax compared with other evenings tonight, but overall fantastic experience.

  32. Angie M.
    Angie M.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Really enjoyed a relaxed evening here. Beautiful decor and good for catching up as it is not too loud like many places these days.

  33. Jenny l.
    Jenny l.
    • 35 reviews
    7/10

    Food was average with our pasta & risotto undercooked. The entrees & desserts were slightly better. Service & ambience was great.

  34. Julieanne C.
    Julieanne C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent evening at Bartolo couldn’t fault the food we’ll be back - thank you for another great evening

  35. Kevin F.
    Kevin F.
    • 6 reviews
    8/10

    Bartolo was noisy but atmospheric. Very busy on arrival and it took a while for first drinks orders to be taken but settled well to a lovely night.

  36. Uppma V.
    Uppma V.
    • 9 reviews
    7/10

    Nice place

  37. Julianna C.
    Julianna C.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great food and cocktails, friendly staff but a bit oblivious when we needed their attention.

  38. Queenie C.
    Queenie C.
    • 9 reviews
    7.5/10

    Didn’t expect the afternoon would be that busy. Hence, it’s understandable that I had to wait for few minutes and asked the lady to get a menu. Tbh this is a little bit disappointing as the vibes there were great. The food was nice. Salad was fresh. Coffee was mediocre as the milk foam should be silkier. Anyway, I’d like to pay another visit when they r not busy????

  39. Peter M.
    Peter M.
    • 31 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and good value ,we will be back to check out other dishes on the menu ----------------------------------------------------------------------

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    10/10

    Good restaurant