Back

Reviews Basta

9.1/10

Excellent

based on 533 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Helen G.
    Helen G.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food overall was good and ample size. Need to increase range of gins available. This is Melbourne! Menu needs to be correct. 1 meal was poorly cooked. Some mix up with who ordered which food . Again overall we had a good experience but not brilliant.

  2. Christine J.
    Christine J.
    • one review
    10/10

    loved this place- what a discovery- upstairs rooms are lovely- food was honest, good and tremendous! have found our new favourite. Gnocchi is a hit, chicken dish was really really good!

    Basta

    Thanks Christine

  3. Jonathan M.
    Jonathan M.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    The staff were very welcoming with the food being exceptionally good. The location is a little out the norm however parking is easy and getting into the city from there is easier.

    Basta

    Thanks Jonathon

  4. Jen S.
    Jen S.
    • 16 reviews
    7.5/10

    Nice food but as is the norm with The Fork, our $50 redemption was not applied to the bill and we were too embarrassed under the current situation to bring it up.

    Basta

    Hi Jen, A complete oversight on our behalf - yes its a challenging time with all the new rules and new staff we now have. I will be in contact to fix this up with you. Best regards Carrie

  5. Nadia C.
    Nadia C.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    A good selection of food which was well presented and with the homemade touch. Friendly, prompt and discreet service. I would go back to try other dishes. Good local, value for money restaurant.

    Basta

    Thanks

  6. Patricia K.
    Patricia K.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    The porchetta and the squid ink linguine were delicious. Good serving size, did not have stomach space for anything other than a main each. Thanks for the opportunity to redeem my Yums too!

    Basta

    Thanks

  7. Samantha G.
    Samantha G.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    I'm never disappointed by the dining experience at Basta. The food is always delicious, service is friendly and the retail products are exceptional. I'll be back!

  8. Niha P.
    Niha P.
    • 4 reviews
    4.5/10

    I’ve been to Basta 5+ times in the last 2-3 years so I was super upset and disappointed of the staff/service and food last night. A positive is that they took the covid rules seriously and I could see them sanitise the tables and people were seated apart but the food was just cold and not tasty. We left 90% of one pasta because it was just not nice to eat and it just felt like watered down cold sauce as the cheese didn’t even melt (but that could be the type of cheese they topped it with). It was disappointing because you pay $30+ for a pasta dish and the food isn’t par and the waiters were a bit rude for us to even ask if we can get it warmed up. Also unsure if we got below average food because we were using our Yum points. The staff were also quarrelling near our table which we understand can happen anywhere but it was a little bit unpleasant/off putting to hear them fight when you’re trying to eat dinner esp. when you hear someone say “I’ll chuck it in the bin” and “you’re pissing me off” just made us feel really uncomfortable. The process of using our Yums points was also a bit awkward. The entire experience was just uncomfortable for us to recommend this place but if you’re in the area it is (or was/used to be) a really good find.

  9. Jules P.
    Jules P.
    • 22 reviews
    10/10

    Basta continues to uphold the highest standards of food and wine and service. Today's barramundi was superb as was the pollo. It is a delight to eat there. We will continue to do so.

    Basta

    Thank you

  10. Fabio P.
    Fabio P.
    • 21 reviews
    10/10

    Welcome to Italy. Amazing

    Basta

    Thanks Fabio

  11. Julie M.
    Julie M.
    • 13 reviews
    9.5/10

    This popular little place is great to go for a delicious and satisfying meal. All of the staff were very friendly and attentive with their service. We thoroughly enjoyed our luncheon and can recommend this restaurant.

  12. Robert B.
    Robert B.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    First time at Basta. Four of us shared a few plates. Food, service, atmosphere and drinks list were all very good. Will be back soon to try more of the menu. RB

  13. Vida G.
    Vida G.
    • 36 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious vegan cheese with my extra good cauliflower and kale risotto.. Pear and green salad fresh and lively.. And glass of rose topped off a superb dinner

  14. Andrew H.
    Andrew H.
    • 7 reviews
    8/10

    Three of us dined here for lunch. All three of us had pasta and all three of us finished our plates. Pasta is home made and the flavours in each dish were clearly made with passion in the kitchen. Service was good - we were outside and away from the crowds inside, but the staff were always there to give us a fresh bottle of water and take our orders. The price was a little expensive, but the quality and service means I’ll be back again.

  15. Jane A.
    Jane A.
    • 3 reviews
    5.5/10

    Food was tasty but could have been served a bit warmer. The ambience of the venue was nice and perfect for a lazy afternoon. However I was charged extra for parmesan cheese which was incredibly upsetting and has never happened even at high end Italian restaurants. If you want to charge for cheese and least inform me which wasn't done either poor form I won't be back.

  16. David D.
    David D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great meal and service. We returned after having had a previously disappointing experience and were very pleasantly suprised. We will be back soon. Thanks

  17. Nadia C.
    Nadia C.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Very calm and quiet atmosphere. Friendly, prompt but not intrusive service. All food especially risotto and beetroot salad dishes tasty and refreshing. Just the right amount of flavouring, not too salty. Menu dishes good for sharing.

  18. Sarah Z.
    Sarah Z.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    The service was fantastic. Lovely and friendly staff. The food was delicious and fresh. I’d go back for the ravioli in a heartbeat. Great place to go for an after work drink in the sun and enjoy some yummy pasta when the hunger kicks in!

    Basta

    Thank you

  19. Adrianna M.
    Adrianna M.
    • 38 reviews
    10/10

    Always a lovely experience dropping in for dinner. Can't get enough of their pastas!

    Basta

    Thanks Adrianna

  20. Robert T.
    Robert T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Can’t fault my evening at Basta. Menu, service, wine, food were of a high standard. Happy to recommend.

  21. Quincy M.
    Quincy M.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Basta is a cute little spot with a nice atmosphere. The drink and pasta value was not quite up to par with what it cost, but generally, everything was good.

  22. Linda E.
    Linda E.
    • one review
    10/10

    This our 3rd time at Basra and food is always delicious. Our family love eating here and I'm always thinking who can I bring here next. Try the Cannoli what a treat. We will be back..

  23. Alannah R.
    Alannah R.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Always amazing food at Basta, Great vegetarian options. Awesome wine list and great service! They also do BYO on Monday and Tuesday nights. Will be back again!

  24. Stuart H.
    Stuart H.
    • 12 reviews
    9.5/10

    Enjoyable food. Excellent service. Good prices.

  25. Vojo Z.
    Vojo Z.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great food, amazing service, staff members with big heart and big smile. My wife and I enjoyed the atmosphere very much. I would recommend Basta to my family and friends.

  26. Adrianna M.
    Adrianna M.
    • 38 reviews
    10/10

    It is always a pleasure eating at Basta. This place in my opinion offers the most authentic Italian food in Melbourne and all my friends that I've brought along agree. Last night I had the beetroot ravioli stuffed with porcini, ricotta and truffle and it was seriously divine! The texture of the pasta was perfect and paper thin and the filling melted in my mouth. I have never had better ravioli in my life. Another must try are the meatballs and arancini! You will not be disappointed.

  27. Lee W.
    Lee W.
    • 28 reviews
    10/10

    We arrived much earlier than expected, were accommodated comfortably, and had happy hour drinks before dinner. Good choices for non-alcoholic drinks (tried 2), and sparkling water on tap. Menu included GF & DF options for entrees and mains, including GF pasta. All food ordered for 4 people was delicious. Almond hot choc was also available to end the meal. Group very happy with food, drink, prices, and music (good choices & not too loud).

  28. Katie J.
    Katie J.
    • 2 reviews
    3/10

    Made to feel as though you weren’t welcome, perhaps staff having an off night - but it felt like it was a bother as soon as we entered. Disappointing.

    Basta

    Thanks for your feedback Katie. Will discuss with staff on that night.

  29. Steve F.
    Steve F.
    • 9 reviews
    8.5/10

    Very nice place, good food and service. My only criticism is that it would have been better still if there had been more than 2 prawns in the linguine. Otherwise all good.

    Basta

    Thanks for your feedback

  30. Aldo D.
    Aldo D.
    • 8 reviews
    5.5/10

    Menu is not large and on the night 2 of the main dishes and one of the deserts were unavailable. One plate came out after the rest o four party had finished their meal

    Basta

    Thanks

  31. Karen H.
    Karen H.
    • 38 reviews
    9/10

    Love Basta. Been there a number of times and have brought family and friends along. Food quality is always consistently good. Highly recommended.

    Basta

    Thanks Karen

  32. Danny D.
    Danny D.
    • 13 reviews
    8/10

    Nice food, nice service, nice atmosphere, large dishes, my dish was a bit salty however, but overall it was a very nice experience, and would come back again

    Basta

    Thanks

  33. Jen C.
    Jen C.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Great service, average food from my point of view but my friend loved it. The feed me comes with mussels so if you don’t like them, skip the feed me menu and select a la carte

    Basta

    Thanks. The Feed ME menu is a chef selection, which changes every time. If you don't like mussels just mention it when you get a chef selection, and it be left out.

  34. Mark C.
    Mark C.
    • 20 reviews
    10/10

    Above average food and wonderful warm service. Will be back!

    Basta

    Thanks Mark

  35. Adrianna M.
    Adrianna M.
    • 38 reviews
    10/10

    We always love dropping in here for dinner. It's absolutely our go to for authentic Italian food! We brought a friend along with us on this particular occasion and she was thoroughly impressed with all her dishes. In particular she couldn't get enough of the polpette and the amazing gnocchi with eggplant and nduja. We highly recommend for everyone who wants to taste a piece of Italy right here in Melbourne!

    Basta

    Thanks Adrianna

  36. Sara N.
    Sara N.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious food - highly recommend the bruschetta and the ox tongue entrees! Atmosphere is a little quiet but service is very welcoming. Great space, shame there weren't more patrons - great little spot on Gertrude Street! Get the passionfruit martini!

    Basta

    Thank you

  37. Barry S.
    Barry S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great little Italian restaurant, serving lovely tasty food in a great space with friendly staff. Excellent bruschetta and silky light pappardelle.

    Basta

    Thanks

  38. Amanda F.
    Amanda F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great place for date night or a meal with friends. Excellent service, awesome food and a nice relaxed vibe for a Monday night. Get the gnocchi. We‘ll be back!

    Basta

    Thanks Amanda

  39. GEOFF R.
    GEOFF R.
    • 27 reviews
    10/10

    We went early on a Monday night and found everything to our liking. Good food ,good wine, good atmosphere and good service. We liked the beetroot ravioli and the cavatelli pasta and the rocket salad was perfect. We will be back.

  40. Olga S.
    Olga S.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Great food, service and atmosphere