513 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.7
513 reviews
Recommended
(8.9)
Food
(8.7)
Service
(8.9)
Value for money
(8.5)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Mon, 22 Apr 2019

(8)
The arancini balls were really nice. One of the pasta dishes - the pasta wasn't smooth enough.
Thanks for your feedback !
Restaurant Basta responded on Mon, 6 May 2019

dined on Fri, 19 Apr 2019

(7)
Ordinary food. Nothing special.
Thanks for your feedback.
Restaurant Basta responded on Sat, 20 Apr 2019

dined on Thu, 18 Apr 2019

(10)
We felt welcomed and well attended to. We were given ample time to eat, relax, talk and enjoy the 60's Italian pop music. We will definitely return.
Thanks Mark.
Restaurant Basta responded on Sat, 20 Apr 2019

dined on Wed, 17 Apr 2019

(3)
1) The food was quite pricey for what you get. We had the mains (mostly pasta) which was only so-so, and also dessert (which were also only okay). Not a memorable dinner and would not return for the food. 2) We were not aware that we only had 2 hours for dinner - was not specified in the booking. At about the 1.5 hour mark the waiter gave us the bill already, which means they were keen for us to leave. We left before our 2 hour time was up as we had enough.
HI Vivien, We sincerely apologise for your bad experience. However, we would like to mention that all our booking have 2 hours turn around. When you book through the fork you are asked to accept out terms and conditions, please read them next time. I am sorry you did not enjoyed your dinner. I will take note of your comment and I hope we can please you in a next visit.
Fabio Candolo, Owner. responded on Sat, 27 Apr 2019

dined on Fri, 12 Apr 2019

(9)
A really delicious meal from beginning to end!
Thanks
Restaurant Basta responded on Fri, 26 Apr 2019

dined on Sat, 6 Apr 2019

(9)
Great food just needs seasoning
Thanks for your feedback. We'll let the chefs know.
Restaurant Basta responded on Sun, 7 Apr 2019

dined on Fri, 5 Apr 2019

(9)
The waiter was helpful ... I cannot explain why it was not fuller on a Friday night. Better marketing? An Age good food Tuesday review?? I noticed barbecue at the rear. This could be talked up. In a street of MConnells restaurants prices should be slightly lower. Should be marketed as boutiques Italian neighborhood restaurant
Thanks for your feedback.
Fabio responded on Sat, 6 Apr 2019

dined on Wed, 3 Apr 2019

(10)
Amazing food - Gertrude st Fitzroy has some fine eateries but you are not doing yourself a favour if you by pass them and go straight to ‘Basta’ . The food is superb, Italian with amazing appetitivo and the degustation at $55 per person is fabulous value for fine dining !
It was a delight to read your feedback. Basta good vibes are thanks to clients like you, who make our day. We hope you will visit again soon, we will be happy to organise a different FEED ME selection, so you can try few more things of our menu. Thank you!
Fabio responded on Thu, 4 Apr 2019

dined on Tue, 2 Apr 2019

(8)
Awesome pasta! Friendly service
Thank you.
Restaurant Basta responded on Sat, 6 Apr 2019

dined on Thu, 28 Mar 2019

(9)
Lovely pastas. Good flavors.
Thank you
Restaurant Basta responded on Fri, 29 Mar 2019
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

About Basta

Not too much, not too little! Basta is a new Italian restaurant concept in Fitzroy established by the owners of Casa Ciuccio. The word Basta means ‘enough’ – and talks to the ethos and mantra of Basta of creating and serving delicious food from simple, yet delicious handmade pasta and fresh locally sourced produce. Not too little, not too much, just enough. The menu includes everything from delicate antipasti to hearty pasta dishes and rich meats like porchetta and Gippsland grass fed flank steak! Best dish: squid ink gnocchi with mussels, prawn, squid and smoked tomato sugo.

Basta Address

Google Map