40% off food when you book on TheFork

Exclusive to TheForkTheFork40% off food when you book at Basta at specially marked times. Don’t miss out, limited availability.

40% off food

Dinner Mon-Sat

465 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.9
465 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(9.0)
Value for money
(8.6)
Atmosphere
(8.8)

dined on Sat, 25 May 2019

(7)
Food was good but not amazing. Service was friendly but slow.
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We regret that we have not lived up to your expectations. We will take note of your comment and we hope we can please you in a next visit.
Restaurant Basta responded on Tue, 28 May 2019

dined on Sat, 25 May 2019

(9)
Excellent for a date night, or a nice night out with friends or family
Thanks !
Restaurant Basta responded on Tue, 28 May 2019

dined on Wed, 22 May 2019

(8)
We have been to Basta four times, always using The Fork discount. We would go more often however we have found that the menu does not change much, and the main course prices seem high compared to similar restaurants.
Thanks for your feedback. We don't think changing the menu often is good for a business like our. We do have daily specials but unfortunately they can't be included in the fork discount. We also don't think we should bring back dishes like the octopus which we use to do 4 years ago, when this was a very different restaurant. Our prices are in line with any other similar restaurants, we use prime, fresh local produce and we made most of our pasta in house.
Fabio Candolo responded on Thu, 23 May 2019
Corinne Yong

dined on Tue, 21 May 2019

(9)
Really good Italian food.

dined on Sat, 18 May 2019

(9)
Lovely meal - the fish was particularly good!!
Thanks Wendy
Restaurant Basta responded on Sun, 19 May 2019
Jacqueline Hamilton

dined on Wed, 15 May 2019

(6)
I think they have good potential there but I found the food a tad too oily and salty. If they curb that the nice fresh ingredients will shine a little more. The wine list is pretty good and the Riesling (by the glass) from Alsace was particularly nice. I hope they do well there and would def go back on a discount as it was great value for money.
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We regret that we have not lived up to your expectations. We will take note of your comment and we hope we can please you in a next visit.
Restaurant Basta responded on Thu, 16 May 2019

dined on Sat, 4 May 2019

(10)
Staff were great; v tasty food, no waiting around everything was right on time.
Thanks for you review
Restaurant Basta responded on Wed, 8 May 2019

dined on Fri, 3 May 2019

(10)
Great restaurant; exceptional service and food!
Thanks so much !
Fabio responded on Mon, 13 May 2019

dined on Sat, 27 Apr 2019

(9)
Lovely traditional, fresh Italian fare. Highly recommend!
Thanks for your feedback
Restaurant Basta responded on Wed, 1 May 2019
Clare McArthur

dined on Thu, 25 Apr 2019

(8)
Our Waitress - a blonde girl - was fantastic, very attentive, friendly and provided a considerate level of service - handling most of the floor by herself.
Thanks for you feedback Claire.
Restaurant Basta responded on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Basta

Not too much, not too little! Basta is a new Italian restaurant concept in Fitzroy established by the owners of Casa Ciuccio. The word Basta means ‘enough’ – and talks to the ethos and mantra of Basta of creating and serving delicious food from simple, yet delicious handmade pasta and fresh locally sourced produce. Not too little, not too much, just enough. The menu includes everything from delicate antipasti to hearty pasta dishes and rich meats like porchetta and Gippsland grass fed flank steak! Best dish: squid ink gnocchi with mussels, prawn, squid and smoked tomato sugo.

Basta Address

Google Map