515 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.8
515 reviews
Recommended
(9.0)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.9)
Value for money
(8.5)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Tue, 25 Jun 2019

(10)
Great place. Good service
Thanks for your feedback !
Restaurant Basta responded on Wed, 26 Jun 2019

dined on Mon, 24 Jun 2019

(10)
Great place, food is delicious
Thank you
Restaurant Basta responded on Sun, 28 Jul 2019

dined on Sat, 22 Jun 2019

(6)
Staff were lovely. Food was lacking something. Room was not warm on a cold Melbourne night.
Thanks for your feedback. We are currently working to improve the heating of some of the areas in our restaurant.
Restaurant Basta responded on Sun, 23 Jun 2019

dined on Sat, 22 Jun 2019

(5)
Expected to be wow by the food given great TripAdvisor review. Food was ok, service was a bit cold. Left rather disappointed.
Please accept our sincerest apologies. We work very hard to maintain a high level of service, but it seems that this has not occurred in your case. Please email me at fabio@basta.com.au to tell me more about your experience and so that I can resolve the issue for future occasions. Thank you for your comment.
Fabio Candolo, Owner. responded on Tue, 25 Jun 2019

dined on Tue, 18 Jun 2019

(8)
2nd time back. They added some lit up words on the wall which killed the intimate decor abit (maybe use dimmer globes?). Ordered 2 pastas - one was alot better than the other as it needed abit more seasoning. Pasta was cooked to perfection though.
Thanks for your feedback. ENOUGH (basta) lettelights have been there from day 1, probably last time they were dimmed down :) Will pass your feedback on the our chefs. We hope to see you again soon.
Restaurant Basta responded on Wed, 19 Jun 2019

dined on Sat, 15 Jun 2019

(10)
Had the pre theatre/early bird - great value
Thanks for the feedback !
Restaurant Basta responded on Tue, 25 Jun 2019

dined on Sat, 15 Jun 2019

(10)
nice place for a quick mid week dinner after work - good service
Thanks!
Restaurant Basta responded on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
Roshan Peries

dined on Sat, 15 Jun 2019

(9)
Delicious and authentic. We'll definitely be back!
Thanks Roshan
Restaurant Basta responded on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
Alannah Reabrown

dined on Sat, 15 Jun 2019

(9)
Great food and service!
Thank you Alannah
Restaurant Basta responded on Sun, 28 Jul 2019

dined on Fri, 14 Jun 2019

(8)
Lovely restaurant. Front room preferred for atmosphere.
Thank you
Restaurant Basta responded on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

About Basta

Not too much, not too little! Basta is a new Italian restaurant concept in Fitzroy established by the owners of Casa Ciuccio. The word Basta means ‘enough’ – and talks to the ethos and mantra of Basta of creating and serving delicious food from simple, yet delicious handmade pasta and fresh locally sourced produce. Not too little, not too much, just enough. The menu includes everything from delicate antipasti to hearty pasta dishes and rich meats like porchetta and Gippsland grass fed flank steak! Best dish: squid ink gnocchi with mussels, prawn, squid and smoked tomato sugo.

Basta Address

Google Map