9/10
Excellent
based on 101 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Louisa T.
    Louisa T.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Ate lunch at Bert's for my Dad's 60th birthday and it was the perfect place. It was bright, airy and beautiful inside and the food was excellent. I will definitely be coming back for another special occasion!

  2. Tim L.
    Tim L.
    • one review
    8/10

    Our lunch at Bert's was, alas, not of the standard that we anticipated. The service was impeccable but let down by the serious delays from the kitchen, one of our guests having to depart before her main arrived. We did find wines we enjoyed from the 'list' 'though were surprised how expensive most wines offered were.

  3. Lisa F.
    Lisa F.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    The website has it right with its description of the vibe as ‘casual elegance ‘. We were welcomed and offered a drink in the bar before going to our table, and it’s worth taking the time to enjoy a cocktail or a glass of wine - they have a wine preservation system in use that allows them to offer some wines and champagnes that you wouldn’t usually expect to find by the glass. The food was great, though a bit over-priced in my opinion, particularly when you factor in the 10% Sunday surcharge. We had no trouble spending over $300 without ordering a bottle of wine or dessert! We ordered a couple of small plates to share, and then a whole fish and some vegetable side dishes. We noticed that some dishes paired beautiful fresh ingredients with overly rich ones, for example broccolini with ricotta, which was dominated by the ricotta and wasn’t needed on the same plate as the hollandaise which came with the fish. Would have been just as happy without the cheese and the sauce, but in fairness without the rich additions on the plates we’d probably still have been hungry at the end! Overall a very pleasant dining experience and we’ll be back to sample some of the other dishes.

  4. Pascale M.
    Pascale M.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food was excellent but service was not to level expected.

  5. Alexander S.
    Alexander S.
    • 9 reviews
    9/10

    How good. This is the Hubert of the Beaches. Light, bright and classy as a summery contrast to the dim, dark and sexy of Hubert. Only losing a mark because the flathead was slightly overdone but everything else was truly on-point.

  6. C C.
    C C.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    The restaurant gives a sense of a luxury and the deco is absolutely beautiful, as if it’s set in the early 20th century. The staff are very attentive and accommodating. While I think the food itself is overpriced, the service and atmosphere made up for it. Food is good in general.

  7. Kate K.
    Kate K.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    This sophisticated restaurant on Sydneys North Shore is a hidden treasure. Perfect food prepared to incredible standard, sublime service and beautiful decor in an amazing setting overlooking The Newport and Pittwater.

  8. Mary L.
    Mary L.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    I had such a wonderful time dining at Berts. The food,decor, ambience and service was just amazing.

  9. Joyce L.
    Joyce L.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful food and service. Definitely a special occasion kind of place without the snobbiness

  10. Alexandra B.
    Alexandra B.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great lunch spot! The whole experience and decor is amazing at Berts. The food was lovely but not sure it was worth the 2 hats. The wine list has a good selection. Definitely recommend staying for a drink afterwards at the Newport.

  11. Renata D.
    Renata D.
    • one review
    7/10

    The round room is beautiful but the other table sections are squashed and very noisy, right next to the kitchen service areas or bar. The menu is small and not very diverse but the food was lovely. Staff were overall friendly.

  12. Jess C.
    Jess C.
    • one review
    10/10

    New fave restaurant, so old world and beautiful. We could have stayed forever. Never felt rushed, had the most devine anniversary lunch. Thank you Berts!

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    8.5/10

    Crab spaghetti is beyond amazing!

  14. Liam C.
    Liam C.
    • 5 reviews
    4.75/10

    While our waiter was great, that was pretty much where the good feedback ended. After arriving we spent nearly 10 minutes waiting to be seated after speaking to multiple people. Once we were finally seated at a table we were moved after 5 minutes because we’d been seated at the wrong table. We then had to wait 20 minutes for water to be served and for our order to be taken. The salad that was ordered as a side for the mains arrived with the drinks and then it was a further 45 minutes until entrees were served. My wife ordered the pumpkin tortellini which was so undercooked that the pasta was hard and raw and had to be sent back to the kitchen. Wary of the time it took for it to arrive the first time she didn’t bother having it recooked but we then sat there for a further 60 minutes, with our waiter telling us every five minutes that our mains were coming, before they actually arrived. By this stage we’d already eaten the salad in an attempt to stave of the hunger. The steaks we ordered were well cooked but incredibly overpriced, as were the rolls at $3 a piece. The restaurant manager comped us both a glass of wine for the tortellini debacle but the fact the restaurant thinks it’s ok to charge such high prices while making you wait an hour between each course is an insult. We would not return nor would we recommend others.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    9/10

    Wonderful location for a relaxing lunch

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    9/10

    Great as usual, excellent wine list, vegetable dishes are stand outs.

  17. Ryan G.
    Ryan G.
    • 3 reviews
    9.75/10

    Great food and really good service, definitely go back!

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    7/10

    Beautiful fitout and ambience, food was good, however service and menu availability was subpar. We ordered food at 8.30 on a Friday and they were already out of the eye fillet and duck. I think they need to either reduce their menu or ensure popular dishes are available especially on a friday night. Also, they got 3 out of 7 drink orders wrong and forgot to bring one out...

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    10/10

    Expensive but top quality

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 294 reviews
    8.5/10

    Beautiful restaurant. Food was decent, but overpriced. Would recommend for a special occasion