INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Jordan Toft.

Jordan Toft

Jordan’s career began in the Sydney Opera House kitchen in 1997. Moving to Europe in 2006, Jordan ran a luxury chalet in France and became a personal chef. Travelling Europe and the USA, he developed an appreciation for the simplest and freshest ingredients. In 2014 Jordan joined Merivale as executive chef of Coogee Pavilion. Jordan then joined The Newport team, led the launch of Bert’s and The Collaroy, all a reflection of Jordan’s talent for balancing refinement, simplicity and innovation.

60 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

9
60 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(9.2)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(7.7)
Atmosphere
(9.3)

dined on Fri, 21 Sep 2018

(9)
Fabulous food! Great atmoshpere
Michelle Howes

dined on Sat, 8 Sep 2018

(9)
We have been to Berts several times for lunch and thought we would try it for dinner. The restaurant is lovely at night, the lighting and atmosphere create a great dining experience. The service was very attentive and the food was great.

dined on Thu, 30 Aug 2018

(9)
Had an amazing seafood dinner with a vast selection of wines. Loved the food and service!
Michelle Howes

dined on Wed, 29 Aug 2018

(9)
The staff are great - very welcoming, the decor and ambience are relaxing, the food is good. A nice place to wile away a few hours overlooking the Pittwater.

dined on Sun, 26 Aug 2018

(10)
Absolutely wonderful venue with great food

dined on Sat, 11 Aug 2018

(8)
We went for our wedding anniversary dinner. It started off really great but not sure what happened, we waited for an hour between entree and main course, which ruined an otherwise very good dining experience (warning: never keep a very hungry pregnant lady waiting for her food). When the food arrived, the fries were smothered in rosemary (which weren’t mentioned on the menu) which was so overpowering, we weren’t able to taste the freshness and the flavour of the lovely whole snapper. Hubby made his very first complaint in a restaurant in his lifetime (politely), the manager was so apologetic he insisted on writing off our dinner which was a very generous gesture. The rosemary fries asides, all food were lovely, especially the crudo and bert’s Avocado. Service was lovely (with or without our meal being written off).

dined on Sat, 11 Aug 2018

(10)
Good service and food

dined on Sun, 22 Jul 2018

(9)
Very comfortable with a great ambience. Food was very high quality as it should be for the price. and service was good.

dined on Fri, 6 Jul 2018

(6)
A great vibe, but the service was slow, the food was ok but not amazing although the prizes didn't resemble the dishes. The medium rare was more like very rare, the pork was tasty, and the pasta was fairly ordinary. The wine was excellent as was the champagne.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

Specials

Father's Day 2019

Bring the whole family to celebrate Father’s Day at Bert's. Please Note: All bookings will be for a two-hour duration. We request that you provide your credit card details to secure your reservation. Your card will not be charged at the time of booking. In the event of cancellation within 48 hours of your booking date, a $50 per person cancellation fee will apply.
Max. people
11
When
01 Sep 2019
Sun 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Henschke Bert's Wine Dinner

The Henschke family are 6th generation winemakers with arguably the two oldest single vineyard wines in Australia, and a reputation for red-wine making. Enjoy a four-course meal by head chef Sam Kane and a selection of the winery’s finest, as you chat with 5th generation winemaker, Stephen Henschke. Price: $195 per person. Pre-payment is required to reserve your spot. Guests are encouraged to arrive at 6.30pm for a 7.00pm start. 1.5% card charge applies Our cancellation policy is 72 hours, anything less than this is $100 pp.
When
31 Jul 2019
Wed 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Vasse Felix - Wine Dinner

Established in 1967, Vasse Felix wines reflect the strengths of Margaret River, which is known for its ideal viticultural conditions, particularly when producing cabernet sauvignon and chardonnay. Enjoy a four-course meal by head chef Sam Kane and a selection of the winery’s finest, as you chat with winemaker, Virginia Wilcox. Price: $175 per person. Guests are encouraged to arrive at 6.30pm for a 7.00pm start. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours, anything less than this is $100 pp.
When
14 Aug 2019
Wed 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Felton - Wine Dinner

The north-facing slopes at the end of Felton Road, Bannockburn are known as one of the most best sites in Central Otago for the growing and production of premium wine, most notably pinot noir, chardonnay and riesling. Enjoy a four-course meal by head chef Sam Kane and a selection of the winery’s finest, as you chat with winemaker, Blair Walter. Price: $175 per person.Prepayment is required to secure this booking. Guests are encouraged to arrive at 6.30pm for a 7.00pm start. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours, anything less than this is $100 pp.
When
11 Sep 2019
Wed 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Jim Barry - Wine Dinner

Jim Barry’s passion has helped establish South Australia’s Clare Valley as a producer of world class riesling, securing its place as one of Australia’s premier wine regions. Enjoy a four-course meal by head chef Sam Kane and a selection of the winery’s finest, as you chat with winemaker, Tom Barry. Price: $195 per person. Guests are encouraged to arrive at 6.30pm for a 7.00pm start. Pre-payment is required to make the reservation. A 1.5% card charge applies. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours, anything less than this is $100 pp.
When
16 Oct 2019
Wed 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Yarra Valley Legends - Wine Dinner

Known the world over for its award-winning vineyards, the Yarra Valley is one of the few regions able to produce a broad variety of world-class wines. Featuring Mount Mary, Wantirna Estate and Yeringberg. Enjoy a four-course meal by head chef Sam Kane and a selection of the region’s finest, as you chat with local Yarra winemakers. Price; $195 per person. Guests are encouraged to arrive at 6.30pm for a 7.00pm start. Prepayment is required to secure your booking. A 1.5% card charge applies. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours, anything less than this is $100 pp.
When
23 Oct 2019
Wed 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Bert's Bar & Brasserie

A bar and brasserie reminiscent of the grand hotel dining rooms of the 1930s, overlooking the Pittwater estuary and expansive grounds of The Newport. Dine on a coastal European menu in elegant surrounds, with the relaxed air of Sydney’s northern beaches. Bert’s is led by an impressive line-up of talent: executive chef Jordan Toft, group sommelier Franck Moreau MS and group bars manager Sam Egerton.

Features

Insider

Bert's Bar & Brasserie Address

Google Map