INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Jordan Toft.

Jordan Toft

Jordan’s career began in the Sydney Opera House kitchen in 1997. Moving to Europe in 2006, Jordan ran a luxury chalet in France and became a personal chef. Travelling Europe and the USA, he developed an appreciation for the simplest and freshest ingredients. In 2014 Jordan joined Merivale as executive chef of Coogee Pavilion. Jordan then joined The Newport team, led the launch of Bert’s and The Collaroy, all a reflection of Jordan’s talent for balancing refinement, simplicity and innovation.

68 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.8
68 reviews
Recommended
(8.9)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.5)
Atmosphere
(9.2)
Michelle Howes

dined on Sat, 8 Sep 2018

(9)
We have been to Berts several times for lunch and thought we would try it for dinner. The restaurant is lovely at night, the lighting and atmosphere create a great dining experience. The service was very attentive and the food was great.

dined on Thu, 30 Aug 2018

(9)
Had an amazing seafood dinner with a vast selection of wines. Loved the food and service!
Michelle Howes

dined on Wed, 29 Aug 2018

(9)
The staff are great - very welcoming, the decor and ambience are relaxing, the food is good. A nice place to wile away a few hours overlooking the Pittwater.

dined on Sun, 26 Aug 2018

(10)
Absolutely wonderful venue with great food

dined on Sat, 11 Aug 2018

(8)
We went for our wedding anniversary dinner. It started off really great but not sure what happened, we waited for an hour between entree and main course, which ruined an otherwise very good dining experience (warning: never keep a very hungry pregnant lady waiting for her food). When the food arrived, the fries were smothered in rosemary (which weren’t mentioned on the menu) which was so overpowering, we weren’t able to taste the freshness and the flavour of the lovely whole snapper. Hubby made his very first complaint in a restaurant in his lifetime (politely), the manager was so apologetic he insisted on writing off our dinner which was a very generous gesture. The rosemary fries asides, all food were lovely, especially the crudo and bert’s Avocado. Service was lovely (with or without our meal being written off).

dined on Sat, 11 Aug 2018

(10)
Good service and food

dined on Sun, 22 Jul 2018

(9)
Very comfortable with a great ambience. Food was very high quality as it should be for the price. and service was good.

dined on Fri, 6 Jul 2018

(6)
A great vibe, but the service was slow, the food was ok but not amazing although the prizes didn't resemble the dishes. The medium rare was more like very rare, the pork was tasty, and the pasta was fairly ordinary. The wine was excellent as was the champagne.
Kathy Gerrans

dined on Fri, 29 Jun 2018

(9)
Gorgeous setting for a fabulous meal from start to finish 👍
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7

Specials

Jim Barry - Wine Dinner

Jim Barry’s passion has helped establish South Australia’s Clare Valley as a producer of world class riesling, securing its place as one of Australia’s premier wine regions. Enjoy a four-course meal by head chef Sam Kane and a selection of the winery’s finest, as you chat with winemaker, Tom Barry. Price: $195 per person. Guests are encouraged to arrive at 6.30pm for a 7.00pm start. Pre-payment is required to make the reservation. A 1.5% card charge applies. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours, anything less than this is $100 pp.
When
16 Oct 2019
Wed 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Yarra Valley Legends - Wine Dinner

Known the world over for its award-winning vineyards, the Yarra Valley is one of the few regions able to produce a broad variety of world-class wines. Featuring Mount Mary, Wantirna Estate and Yeringberg. Enjoy a four-course meal by head chef Sam Kane and a selection of the region’s finest, as you chat with local Yarra winemakers. Price; $195 per person. Guests are encouraged to arrive at 6.30pm for a 7.00pm start. Prepayment is required to secure your booking. A 1.5% card charge applies. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours, anything less than this is $100 pp.
When
23 Oct 2019
Wed 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2019

For $195 per person you’ll be greeted with a glass of Moët & Chandon Imperial or Kirin and canapés followed by a three-course meal designed by executive chef, Jordan Toft. Don’t forget to dress to impress - we’ll have our own Fashions on the Field competition with prizes for the best dressed. Head downstairs to continue the celebrations at The Newport, or simply settle in - you’ll have the best seats in the house after all.
When
05 Nov 2019
Tue 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Bert's Bar & Brasserie

A bar and brasserie reminiscent of the grand hotel dining rooms of the 1930s, overlooking the Pittwater estuary and expansive grounds of The Newport. Dine on a coastal European menu in elegant surrounds, with the relaxed air of Sydney’s northern beaches. Bert’s is led by an impressive line-up of talent: executive chef Jordan Toft, group sommelier Franck Moreau MS and group bars manager Sam Egerton.

Features

Insider

Bert's Bar & Brasserie Address

Google Map