INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Jordan Toft.

Jordan Toft

Jordan’s career began in the Sydney Opera House kitchen in 1997. Moving to Europe in 2006, Jordan ran a luxury chalet in France and became a personal chef. Travelling Europe and the USA, he developed an appreciation for the simplest and freshest ingredients. In 2014 Jordan joined Merivale as executive chef of Coogee Pavilion. Jordan then joined The Newport team, led the launch of Bert’s and The Collaroy, all a reflection of Jordan’s talent for balancing refinement, simplicity and innovation.

61 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

9
61 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(9.2)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(7.7)
Atmosphere
(9.3)
Amanda

dined on Thu, 12 Apr 2018

(9)
Beautiful interiors, excellent service and terrific food as Merivale can do.
John

dined on Tue, 20 Mar 2018

(10)
In our opinion this is currently the best restaurant in Sydney.
Samantha

dined on Tue, 6 Mar 2018

(10)
Faultless service, excellent food, beautiful decor. How about a valet car service for Berts customers only?

dined on Thu, 1 Mar 2018

(10)
Our second time around, amazing service & enjoyed our meal,so fresh. We shall be back

dined on Fri, 16 Feb 2018

(8)
Food was great and service to go with it

dined on Wed, 14 Feb 2018

(10)
What a fabulous meal and experience we had at Bert’s. Very interesting starters were shared and the fish we ordered was cooked to perfection. The side of char grilled cabbage was also perfect. We will definitely return. The service is exemplary and the decor very pleasing.

dined on Sat, 3 Feb 2018

(10)
The service is impeccable, staff are beautifully presented and apply incredible focus and genuine warmth to their service. The style and decor is beyond sophisticated and provides a perfect setting. The menu is diverse and we loved the share plates and then had individual mains. Flavours are exquisite and again presentation of food is fine dining at its best. Wine list is extensive and cocktails are creative and very drinkable. Let me reserve finest praise for the tiny morsels of divine complimentary chocolate bites at the end of the meal. If the restaurant sold these in discrete boxes of ten I would happily leave the restaurant having purchased these as a lingering memory of this culinary journey. Thank you for opening this amazing restaurant on the Peninsula - we've been waiting for this for a long time.
Andrea

dined on Sat, 27 Jan 2018

(10)
The cocktails are amazing, with ingredients I've never had before - try the cocktail with the finger lime in it - absolute heaven!
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7

Specials

Father's Day 2019

Bring the whole family to celebrate Father’s Day at Bert's. Please Note: All bookings will be for a two-hour duration. We request that you provide your credit card details to secure your reservation. Your card will not be charged at the time of booking. In the event of cancellation within 48 hours of your booking date, a $50 per person cancellation fee will apply.
Max. people
11
When
01 Sep 2019
Sun 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Henschke Bert's Wine Dinner

The Henschke family are 6th generation winemakers with arguably the two oldest single vineyard wines in Australia, and a reputation for red-wine making. Enjoy a four-course meal by head chef Sam Kane and a selection of the winery’s finest, as you chat with 5th generation winemaker, Stephen Henschke. Price: $195 per person. Pre-payment is required to reserve your spot. Guests are encouraged to arrive at 6.30pm for a 7.00pm start. 1.5% card charge applies Our cancellation policy is 72 hours, anything less than this is $100 pp.
When
31 Jul 2019
Wed 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Vasse Felix - Wine Dinner

Established in 1967, Vasse Felix wines reflect the strengths of Margaret River, which is known for its ideal viticultural conditions, particularly when producing cabernet sauvignon and chardonnay. Enjoy a four-course meal by head chef Sam Kane and a selection of the winery’s finest, as you chat with winemaker, Virginia Wilcox. Price: $175 per person. Guests are encouraged to arrive at 6.30pm for a 7.00pm start. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours, anything less than this is $100 pp.
When
14 Aug 2019
Wed 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Felton - Wine Dinner

The north-facing slopes at the end of Felton Road, Bannockburn are known as one of the most best sites in Central Otago for the growing and production of premium wine, most notably pinot noir, chardonnay and riesling. Enjoy a four-course meal by head chef Sam Kane and a selection of the winery’s finest, as you chat with winemaker, Blair Walter. Price: $175 per person.Prepayment is required to secure this booking. Guests are encouraged to arrive at 6.30pm for a 7.00pm start. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours, anything less than this is $100 pp.
When
11 Sep 2019
Wed 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Jim Barry - Wine Dinner

Jim Barry’s passion has helped establish South Australia’s Clare Valley as a producer of world class riesling, securing its place as one of Australia’s premier wine regions. Enjoy a four-course meal by head chef Sam Kane and a selection of the winery’s finest, as you chat with winemaker, Tom Barry. Price: $195 per person. Guests are encouraged to arrive at 6.30pm for a 7.00pm start. Pre-payment is required to make the reservation. A 1.5% card charge applies. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours, anything less than this is $100 pp.
When
16 Oct 2019
Wed 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Yarra Valley Legends - Wine Dinner

Known the world over for its award-winning vineyards, the Yarra Valley is one of the few regions able to produce a broad variety of world-class wines. Featuring Mount Mary, Wantirna Estate and Yeringberg. Enjoy a four-course meal by head chef Sam Kane and a selection of the region’s finest, as you chat with local Yarra winemakers. Price; $195 per person. Guests are encouraged to arrive at 6.30pm for a 7.00pm start. Prepayment is required to secure your booking. A 1.5% card charge applies. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours, anything less than this is $100 pp.
When
23 Oct 2019
Wed 6:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Bert's Bar & Brasserie

A bar and brasserie reminiscent of the grand hotel dining rooms of the 1930s, overlooking the Pittwater estuary and expansive grounds of The Newport. Dine on a coastal European menu in elegant surrounds, with the relaxed air of Sydney’s northern beaches. Bert’s is led by an impressive line-up of talent: executive chef Jordan Toft, group sommelier Franck Moreau MS and group bars manager Sam Egerton.

Features

Insider

Bert's Bar & Brasserie Address

Google Map