INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Jose Silva.

Jose Silva

Portugese-born Jose Silva moved to Australia at the age of 12. Growing up with parents in the industry led Jose to develop a passion for food. Jose began his career as an apprentice at Buon Ricordo, and became the Head Chef of Bennelong in the Opera House for 12 years until its move to Paddington. Taking a break from fine dining, he then bought the Petersham bakery, Sweet Belem, before opening Bibo in April 2016, bringing over a decade of knowledge and experience to the Mediterranean bar.

329 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

9.1
329 reviews
Recommended
(9.5)
Food
(9.1)
Service
(9.0)
Value for money
(8.4)
Atmosphere
(9.2)
Corrie Eames

dined on Sat, 26 Jan 2019

(9)
Great service and very knowledgeable staff. Bigger than your typical wine bar but still retains an awesome vibe and aesthetic. Fantastic by the glass options and bar snacks.
Stephen Mellor

dined on Sat, 26 Jan 2019

(10)
Fantastic service, stupendous wines, and good food.

dined on Fri, 25 Jan 2019

(6)
Not sure if we ordered the wrong food but it wasn't what we expected after several good reviews.

dined on Wed, 23 Jan 2019

(10)
Wonderful atmosphere, excellent service every time.

dined on Sat, 19 Jan 2019

(9)
Interesting menu. Good quality at affordable prices. Wine expensive by the glass.
GEOFF CUNDLE

dined on Sat, 19 Jan 2019

(9)
Chef's recommended shared plates with accompanying wines was excellent

dined on Wed, 16 Jan 2019

(9)
great atmosphere and fab food

dined on Fri, 4 Jan 2019

(8)
Portion sizes were quite small, however, the flavour was there. Just needed a bit more on the plate for the price. Wine list is great!

dined on Wed, 2 Jan 2019

(9)
Very nice wine bar but servings were small and expensive. However, food was delicious and we enjoyed our evening there.

dined on Fri, 28 Dec 2018

(10)
Excellent food and good wine in a quite and classy environment
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

Specials

Melbourne cup $110 pp

$110 with a glass of champagne We request that you pre pay $110pp. If you fail to show up, numbers decrease or cancel without at least 24 hours' notice, you may be charged a no-show fee. This reservation is guaranteed to the value of $110 per person. If you wish to make any changes or are running late for your reservation, please call us on (02)9362 4680.
When
05 Nov 2019
Tue 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About bibo Wine Bar

Wine and dine. In the heart of Double Bay, you’ll find this elegant wine bar serving wine from around the world, along with contemporary Mediterranean fare. Take a seat at the long smooth wood bar and let sommelier, Louella Mathews, give you suggestions as you peruse the wine list she curated. After a couple glasses of the McLaren Vale Shiraz, it’s time to eat. With a menu designed to share by chef Jose Silva, you’re able to taste a large range of mouth watering dishes - from beef short ribs to Piri Piri aubergine. Best dish: Flambé chorizo

Features

Insider

bibo Wine Bar Address

Google Map