8.9/10
Fabulous
based on 366 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Tracey M.
    Tracey M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Love everything about this Restaurant. Service was exceptional and the food was great. Could not fault anything, can't wait to go back! Thank you.

  2. Natali P.
    Natali P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Black is our absolute favorite, from the service to the food and the atmosphere always a pleasure dining at black our compliments to the chef and staff

  3. Tom L.
    Tom L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Incredible restaurant. The steak was perfect as were the sides and dessert. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Very impressed. Will be back again soon.

  4. Nicole C.
    Nicole C.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Food, service, atmosphere were all excellent

  5. Ronald L.
    Ronald L.
    • one review
    7/10

    The food was great though the service of the waiters and waitresses could be improved. The setting was also quite noisy as the tables were too close to each other.

  6. Alex K.
    Alex K.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great service and food

  7. Solmaz B.
    Solmaz B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic food, excellent service and wine list. Could not fault it! Also excellent gluten free options.

  8. Nancy L.
    Nancy L.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Relaxed atmosphere. Good selection of drink menu. The food were tasty and well presented. Very enjoyable

  9. Mounira H.
    Mounira H.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    The best steak i have ever eaten. Our waiter was lovely and attentive. Even brought out a bday cake on his own accord. Can’t wait to go back for more

  10. Barry C.
    Barry C.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Greeted by a quite grumpy hostess (the larger lady on the front desk). Our waitress made up for this however. She was a delight and very happy to chat and give advice. The Wagu tasting platter was very nice, but the mac and cheese and broccolini were big misses, as was the very poor peppered sauce

  11. Thuy V.
    Thuy V.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    The restaurant was packed tonight with lots of families. This was my fifth time here and I ordered my usual spanner crab entree, flat iron steak and toothfish. The food was nice but I was disappointed that my beef which I requested to be cooked medium came out rare. I couldn’t eat it but as my husband didn’t mind rare beef, I didn’t complain. But that’s a big difference from medium to rare! The waiter we had was extremely friendly and helpful. Tonight the place seemed more like a family restaurant with screaming kids, I guess it was because it’s a Sunday evening. My previous visits were during the weekdays where the atmosphere was perfect for a romantic dinner.

  12. Laura R.
    Laura R.
    • one review
    4/10

    This restaurant used to be our favourite. Now it feels it’s just a tourists hole. Nothing special about this place anymore. Bad quality food, they’re obviously cutting corners.

  13. Freddy A.
    Freddy A.
    • one review
    10/10

    It’s been over 12 months since the last time I ate at “black” and it has been a tough 12 months due to my mental illness. The atmosphere and great customer service made this experience really really good. Thank you for a great night filled with great food. I hope my mental illness gets better so I can eat here more often

  14. Tina L.
    Tina L.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    We all went for the cape grim fillet steak and it was not hot when served to us (Luke warm in fact) and the meat really dry. They cooked new steaks for us and this time it was juicy but well done even though the order was medium. Then the restaurant manager offered to cook another steak again (3rd time) and we said no that is ridiculous. Our friends already finished their main and you’re cooking a steak for the 3rd time. Really really disappointed in this restaurant. Looks nice on the surface but it’s not a steak restaurant. Oysters were delicious and wine list was good too ( but the bottle of red was $200 so it should be good). They gave us complimentary dessert but would have preferred the original order to be done right to start with! Wait staff was really nice but manager not so!!

  15. Kt  H.
    Kt H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This restaurant was a great place to eat at before our show. The staff were really friendly the food was fab and desserts yummy will definitely go back again, not the cheapest but definitely worth it

  16. Daniel r.
    Daniel r.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    we were quite pleased with the food, ambience and service. The food was much better than our last visit and we will be back again soon............

  17. Stephen K.
    Stephen K.
    • 6 reviews
    5.5/10

    The best part of the meal was the mac 'n cheese side dish. The rib eye steak was a bit tough and both steaks we had didnt have enough seasoning and we had to ask for salt. We have had a few average meals there and won't be going back. If you charging $60 for a 300g steak it should be perfectly cooked and seasoned.

  18. ANTHONY N.
    ANTHONY N.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Food was good. Water view by the water. Staffs are nice and attentive.

  19. Rita L.
    Rita L.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Our waiter Michael was very knowledgeable and friendly. The food was amazing as always and Addy the sommelier made two lovely wine recommendations for us.

  20. Fiona T.
    Fiona T.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The table service was not really good at all..

  21. Yew Loon O.
    Yew Loon O.
    • 8 reviews
    9.5/10

    great food n service

  22. David M.
    David M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Superb food, view and service. Not cheap but worth the money.

  23. Mark H.
    Mark H.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    I come to black a lot, and what’s the food was delicious as always this time the staff just appeared to be tired… There was an occasion where my wine glass sat empty for five minutes before I poured the wine from the decanter myself.. nothing major but it’s these little things that make a difference. Also I don’t understand why they put seafood in their chimmichurri or their bernaise ... as Someone with a seafood allergy I I find it frustrating that the sauces contain seafood.

  24. Angela W.
    Angela W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Our experience at this Restaurant was excellent. Service was good and efficient and all staff were welcoming and friendly. Quality of their dishes and presentation was excellent. Highly recommend this Restaurant.

  25. Linda Y.
    Linda Y.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Food was suberb. Really nice wagyu steak, service was so so, the staff wasn't at her best attitude. When we asked what steak we had in the wagyu tasting she wasn't sure .

  26. Xin H.
    Xin H.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Food is very delicious, and waiter nicely introduced food, gave very good recommendations, nice restaurant for friends gathering, willing to come back again

  27. Lloyd  A.
    Lloyd A.
    • one review
    5/10

    We had a very disappointing experience last night at your restaurant. We were celebrating our 27 year wedding anniversary. Your restaurant is renowned for its steak. My wife ordered a rib eye medium well. What she got was a rare steak with blood pouring out of it and it was very chewy to eat. Because we were so hungry and didn't want to cause a scene, we just ate it and let the waiter know we weren't happy. Also the peppercorn sauce was all runny and no peppercorns in it. I don't quite understand how your chef could allow such a steak and sauce to be served in this manner.

  28. Albert S.
    Albert S.
    • 30 reviews
    9/10

    Great food and wine.

  29. Sunnyc c.
    Sunnyc c.
    • 3 reviews
    4.5/10

    Not a place for celebration. The first chef hatted restaurant that tastes worst than everyday dining. If you like mixed up orders and mediocre food, you'll have a good time here. Just truly disappointing in every aspect.

  30. Penny G.
    Penny G.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    The restaurant was really great. The staff were very welcoming and the chef Sebatian cooks amazing and delicious food. The deasert was the best! I totally will recommend the restuarant to my friends.

  31. Chu Tih L.
    Chu Tih L.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Very nice food, ambience and friendly staff. Had a very enjoyable experience, will definitely be back.

  32. Claudia Z.
    Claudia Z.
    • 16 reviews
    8/10

    Everything is awesome except the receptionist ladies! ???? just a little bit disappointing this time... ????

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    9/10

    Service was amazing !

  34. Claudia L.
    Claudia L.
    • 9 reviews
    9/10

    We had the Wagyu tasting for 3 of us, the portion is a bit small but it is absolutely delicious! They also give my friend a little surprise birthday cake at the end of our meal, the service was excellent, just a bit on the pricy side.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8.75/10

    We celebrated my boyfriend's birthday and it was nice for the restaurant to give us a special dessert cake as a compliment. Very nice waiters etc too. Good experience overall.

  36. Chantelle M.
    Chantelle M.
    • one review
    6/10

    Been there over 4 times, it is okay but never impressive and wow. Service really lacks and it is disappointing every time, its like a standard you are not going get good service.

  37. Vicky W.
    Vicky W.
    • one review
    9/10

    The wagyu was lovely and service was fantastic. It was my friends birthday and they gave us a lovely slice of cake.

  38. Belinda C.
    Belinda C.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Always take suppliers here and book for special occasions..fab table service and best steak with the staff providing recommendations on wines

  39. Lindsey B.
    Lindsey B.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    Lovely dinner with the girls before the theatre - staff were great, efficient and food delicious!

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    8/10

    Lovely pre theatre menu - quick service and enjoyable meal