Back

Reviews Blackbird Bar & Grill

9.3/10

Excellent

based on 655 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Bruce M.
    Bruce M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great steaks and wonderful service.

    Blackbird Bar & Grill

    Thank you so much Bruce! We hop to see you again soon!

  2. Linda W.
    Linda W.
    • one review
    10/10

    The service was excellent and the waitresses were super efficient and very friendly.made you feel very welcome.The food was amazing. Blackbirds is my favourite restaurant.

    Blackbird Bar & Grill

    Hi Linda, thank you so much for the lovely comments! We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon!

  3. Matthew M.
    Matthew M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and service.

    Blackbird Bar & Grill

    Thank you so much Matthew! We hope to see you again soon!

  4. Paul W.
    Paul W.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food and service and an awesome view of the bridge and river

    Blackbird Bar & Grill

    Hi Paul, thank you for your positive review and kind words! We hope to see you again soon!

  5. Chris S.
    Chris S.
    • one review
    8/10

    Nice to have this fine restaurant open again. Slow service from the kitchen and only warm food,but let's be realistic - everyone is in the recovery phase of business and staffing is light on. The offset is that everyone is polite and as attentive as they can be in the circumstances.

    Blackbird Bar & Grill

    Hi Chris, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We value your feedback and will be sure to pass this on to the management team. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon!

  6. Thiffany N.
    Thiffany N.
    • one review
    10/10

    The Tomahawk Wagyu was amazing. Same with every other dish actually.

    Blackbird Bar & Grill

    Hi Thiffany, Thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you to Blackbird again soon.

  7. Deb Y.
    Deb Y.
    • one review
    9/10

    The service was really good and attentive. My elderly parents had trouble with the menu selection so they were assisted very well and were put at ease. The food was very good and cooked exactly as asked. Generous serves so we all left satisfied . It was a birthday celebration. They allowed us to bring a cake and served it up with extras. The only negative was we had no tablecloth or coasters and that made our drinks drip onto our clothing and we were told the staff would join us in singing to the birthday boy. This did not happen but to be fair they were busy. Overall it was a lovely night with an absolutely awesome view of the river and Story Bridge.

    Blackbird Bar & Grill

    Hi Deb, Thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you to Blackbird again soon.

  8. Harald G.
    Harald G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great service, great food, great atmosphere. Go here instead of HSW, it is so well worth it and what else can you ask for? Also excellent and long drinks list with every possible cost option, Harald

    Blackbird Bar & Grill

    Hi Harald, Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon.

  9. Andy B.
    Andy B.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Unfortunately the entire meal was average. Service was lacking and we waited 10 minutes just to get the bill. There was no interest in discussing the menu and ultimately my only joy came from a well organised drinks menu.

    Blackbird Bar & Grill

    Hi Andy, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are disappointed to hear that your experience was not up to the standard we strive for. We have escalated this feedback to the management staff. Once again thank you for letting us know.

  10. Katrina R.
    Katrina R.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    We had the fresh seafood platter which was delightful. Amazing service, striking city views and attentive service. So proud to invite my guest. Well done.

    Blackbird Bar & Grill

    Hi Katrina, Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon.

  11. Jasmine H.
    Jasmine H.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    The staff were very friendly! We ordered an entree, fish and lamb mains, and cocktail drinks, all of which were below our expectations, and overall not worth the price. We loved the view at the bar, but the music was in general too loud. It was difficult hearing each other, and it actually made me a headache.

    Blackbird Bar & Grill

    Hi Jasmine, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are disappointed to hear that your experience was not up to the standard we strive for. We have escalated this feedback to the management staff. Once again thank you for letting us know.

  12. Mel M.
    Mel M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Atmosphere was Beautiful the Staff were very friendly and welcoming our waiter was very good freindly and professional food was Great . Cheesecake dessert was amazing

    Blackbird Bar & Grill

    Hi Mel, thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon.

  13. Jodi C.
    Jodi C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic food. The lamb was so good that I nearly licked the plate. My fiancee absolutely loved her steak and the wine. Service was on point - not over the top, subtle when you were mid-conversation but could hold a chat too. A cracking meal on a perfect day.

    Blackbird Bar & Grill

    Hi Jodie, thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon.

  14. Lennon T.
    Lennon T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Have been there once before years ago for my birthday. So I took my partner there for a night out and it was fantastic. Wait staff were all friendly and extremely professional, the food was exquisite and atmosphere was damn good too. Both had an excellent time.

    Blackbird Bar & Grill

    Hi Lennon Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon.

  15. Rob H.
    Rob H.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    First class setting and dining experience. A quality restaurant where service, views and food are excellent. Recommended for special occasions

  16. Brendan W.
    Brendan W.
    • one review
    10/10

    It was amazing and the dinning for my partner and I on our 1st anniversary for us and we really enjoyed the service. The staff were excellent, our waiter Andreas was kind,friendly,caring and looked after us like super stars. My partner has autism and he looked after her and made her feel comfortable and relaxed in warm environment the food was excellent beyond expectation. We can't recommend this restaurant enough.

  17. Jackie F.
    Jackie F.
    • one review
    9/10

    Love this restaurant but tonight the service was too slow. The waiter was lovely but was not around enough so we were left hanging and trying to get his attention. The steak was amazing as usual but I had the eggplant and it was so greasy I couldn’t eat it.

  18. Diana J.
    Diana J.
    • one review
    8/10

    I have been here a number of times. However I am currently on a vegetarian diet, and the only main meal was half an eggplant. It wasn’t the greatest ! And although I questioned the vegetarian choices and told it was limited when I ordered the beans it came out with bacon on them which I was not told. Service was amazing as usual . All other food was great. Just need to work on the vegetarian options.

  19. Gretchen S.
    Gretchen S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was excellent and the service was impeccable. We researched a lot of restaurants before coming to Brisbane and are so happy that this was our choice. Would definitely recommend and return.

  20. Carmen M.
    Carmen M.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Group of 21 handled with ease, staff attentive, food exceptional, would recommend the Feast dinning option for a large group, fed everyone with plenty left over. Every dish expertly plated and tasted amazing. Will be dining again so we can try the many other dishes Blackbird has to offer.

  21. Hannah P.
    Hannah P.
    • 6 reviews
    6.5/10

    The food was really really delicious - and the service in the dining room was great but the kitchen let the serving team down by being extremely slow. Especially given the dining room was half empty. The atmosphere was a little bit lacking - perhaps just some more buzz from other diners would have helped. Or some more background music. In the end it was a game of two halves, with the first half of the meal far outweighing the second half in pace and overall experience - which left us feeling a little flat in the end.

  22. Wally D.
    Wally D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Good food and great view of the river. We just ordered steak, but cooked to perfection. Entrees were great. Helpful and friendly wait staff. Interesting dessert choices. We’ll go again.

  23. Lisa S.
    Lisa S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Everything was amazing from the welcome we received on arrival and the food is incredible. Can not rate Blackbird and its team of people highly enough.

  24. Janina L.
    Janina L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Good service. Really good food. Truffle mashed potatoes were delicious! Steaks were done well. Lamb was very tender. Cheesecake was smooth and went well with the fruits.

  25. Son A.
    Son A.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome steaks and good service

  26. Alan L.
    Alan L.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Staff were welcoming and very helpful but not pushy. Excellent food and wine advice. And the food was terrific. Sunday lunch on a hot summer's day so we concentrated on the seafood side of the menu and that was extremely good

  27. Tania H.
    Tania H.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Amazing restaurant with beautiful views of the river. Definitely a good choice for a special occasion.

  28. Ian B.
    Ian B.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant is always a delight. The staff are welcoming and friendly. The food is always innovative and well presented. Blackbird has become a favourite.

  29. Amy F.
    Amy F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food, view and service! We will be back!

  30. Maree C.
    Maree C.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    I like to bring out-of-town visitors to Blackbird for dinner because the food is always phenomenal and the location is outstanding. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent. However, it was the end of the evening that soured our experience somewhat when we went to validate our parking tickets. We were told we had not parked in the correct car park despite the restaurant's own website clearly stating that we needed to park in "Wilson's Parking". Apparently there are two Wilson car parks and we had selected the wrong one - this was not clearly communicated on the website parking information. Both the waitress and the restaurant manager were quite unapologetic and unhelpful when I politely pointed this out to them and simply suggested that perhaps they needed to edit the site to make it clearer to future patrons so that they don't get caught out like we did. I found the waitress a tad argumentative. I was told that I should have read the section under "Lunch" where it clearly states the carpark location; however, I wasn't visiting for lunch - I was there for dinner, so why would I read the lunchtime section? I was also told that if I "clicked" on something (I'm still unclear as to what exactly), it would have been explained where I needed to park. Again, why would I think to click on something when I already thought I had all of the information I needed? I was then told by the manager that he was not a website designer and so he couldn't do anything about it other than pass the suggestion on (which is all I was asking him to do). I was sitting at a table that included 4 website developers and they were all in complete agreement that the website was very unclear about the requirement for parking validation (I was starting to feel like I was taking crazy pills!). I would hazard a guess that I'm not the only person who has been caught out by this. I have had an excellent experience with this manager in the past and I was really disappointed with how this matter was handled. A simple, "You're right; it's not as clear as it should be. I'll ensure that's fixed right away" was all I was looking for. I notice it still hasn't been fixed and it's been two days. Sigh. I still love the restaurant and I'm sure I'll visit again, but this was definitely not a great end to an evening with visitors I was keen to impress.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    9/10

    I love this restaurant .

  32. Kate R.
    Kate R.
    • 11 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great meal, great service and wine options. Cocktail options a little underwhelming. Expensive night out but worth it. The lamb was a real winner with friends who ordered it.

  33. Ambrosia I.
    Ambrosia I.
    • one review
    10/10

    The service was excellent - staff was ready to help with any questions we had. They were very attentive. The food was also nice. We ordered steak and it was cooked to perfection - not overcooked which I really appreciate.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.25/10

    lovely meal in great location. great wine list. cocktail list not overly enticing though.

  35. Valerie N.
    Valerie N.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Very friendly and helpful staff and an interesting menu. We were seated by a window overlooking the Story Bridge, so the view was excellent. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his platinum Black Angus which was cooked just as he liked it. And my swordfish was very tasty and not overcooked. We both found the desserts we had to be fantastic: deconstructed cheesecake for him and I had an amazing chocolate dish, rich yet not overpowering.

  36. Gail C.
    Gail C.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Fabulous food and lovely staff looking after us. We had a gorgeous lunch. Thank you

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    9/10

    Amazing! We go every year for our anniversary dinner.

  38. Tiffany M.
    Tiffany M.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    The atmosphere is lovely and I recommend the great steaks. Staff were pleasant. An interesting selection of desserts and cocktails were on offer.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great steaks. Perfect for a birthday celebration. Lovely atmosphere.

    Blackbird Bar & Grill

    Thank you, we hope to see you again another time.

  40. Glenda V.
    Glenda V.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    We always love it here and try to goad often as we can. It is expensive but a really special place.