110 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.6
110 reviews
Recommended
(8.9)
Food
(8.6)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.7)

dined on Sat, 13 Apr 2019

(8)
As usual good food and service as you'd expect for a fine dining establishment. Small complaints were the string beans in the barramundi dish were somewhat rubbery and left uneaten, and the waiter didn't replenish water often enough. I would've preferred a water bottle left on the table for self service.

dined on Thu, 11 Apr 2019

(5)
Nice ambience thought menu was quite limitec

dined on Sat, 6 Apr 2019

(9)
Excellent food but small menu. Great refurbishment. Quality servers.

dined on Fri, 5 Apr 2019

(9)
We had a great meal, food was great, good list of gins and the new look restaurant has good atmosphere Thanks for a good night

dined on Thu, 4 Apr 2019

(5)
The service is tooo slow....

dined on Sat, 30 Mar 2019

(7)
Food was great. Had to get up and walk over to get water from the jug. Very expensive wine which you can get for $22 at the shops was $60. The food was very expensive as well.

dined on Fri, 29 Mar 2019

(5)
Fish dish was superb. Desserts were very disappointing - I sent the first back- raw rather than baked figs with honeycomb and freeze dried bits that stuck in your teeth and then a peach dish. Again, peaches had had five seconds of blow torch, were a bit dry, and were surrounded by puffed wheat and various crumbs.

dined on Sat, 16 Mar 2019

(10)
Diverse and appealing menu. Well considered and succulent meals.

dined on Thu, 14 Mar 2019

(10)
We were attended by Tom - an excellent job, attentive and professional. Thank you We will visit again soon.

dined on Wed, 13 Mar 2019

(10)
We love the food, the atmosphere and ability to converse with friends and family without intrusive noise.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Boffins

Boffins was extensively renovated in 2018 to provide a modern contemporary dining experience. Boffins at University House is the flagship restaurant with a focus on paddock to plate dining and serving the best of Canberra Region and Australian wines whilst showcasing artwork and sculpture from across the University. The bar also stocks a wide range of artisan spirits and local craft beers providing diners with a unique selection. Our chefs are in regular contact with our local farmers and suppliers and source food directly from farm gates where possible. Menus can change daily, based on supply and are ever evolving as our dedicated kitchen team works to display the produce on offer. Diners may select a la carte or try a 'feed me' menu and let the kitchen take them on a food journey.

Boffins Address

Google Map