129 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.6
129 reviews
Recommended
(8.9)
Food
(8.6)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Fri, 10 May 2019

(10)
We come here and spoil our daughter who is studying at ANU. Fantastic atmosphere, great setting and an intimate and stylish restaurant. I love Boffins.

dined on Fri, 10 May 2019

(10)
The restaurant was full, so all staff were very busy. However, they were knowledgeable, helpful and very pleasant at all times. The food was delicious and perfect for a luncheon menu.

dined on Thu, 9 May 2019

(9)
Small menu, but something for everyone. Waiter seemed well versed in the wine selections. Food was fantastic and service prompt. They were happy to accommodate our need to be out early to see a show nearby

dined on Tue, 30 Apr 2019

(7)
Restaurant too crowded. Too many tables in a small spAce- should use space outside entry door. Choice of wine by the glass good but restricted to Canberra District - not a noted wine-growing district. We chose to again stay at University House for 3 nights so as to enjoy eating again at Boffins. We returned to Boffins principally because of superb wine cellar in 2016 - Disappointing choices in 2019. Main courses good. Small Oysters were overpriced. Terrible choice of deserts -which didn’t complement rich mains at all.

dined on Tue, 30 Apr 2019

(9)
Very comfortable environment with great service

dined on Sat, 27 Apr 2019

(10)
Lovely setting and service. Food was exceptional and original. Still thinking about my seafood bisque!

dined on Fri, 26 Apr 2019

(8)
Good menu with locally sourced produce & seasonal variations.

dined on Tue, 23 Apr 2019

(10)
I had not to enjoyed dinner there under the new management some time ago but I am pleased to say that our luncheon experience on this day was excellent. It was disappointing to have so few other diners there that day.

dined on Tue, 16 Apr 2019

(9)
Great food using local produce with gluten free options. recommended.

dined on Sat, 13 Apr 2019

(8)
As usual good food and service as you'd expect for a fine dining establishment. Small complaints were the string beans in the barramundi dish were somewhat rubbery and left uneaten, and the waiter didn't replenish water often enough. I would've preferred a water bottle left on the table for self service.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Boffins

Boffins was extensively renovated in 2018 to provide a modern contemporary dining experience. Boffins at University House is the flagship restaurant with a focus on paddock to plate dining and serving the best of Canberra Region and Australian wines whilst showcasing artwork and sculpture from across the University. The bar also stocks a wide range of artisan spirits and local craft beers providing diners with a unique selection. Our chefs are in regular contact with our local farmers and suppliers and source food directly from farm gates where possible. Menus can change daily, based on supply and are ever evolving as our dedicated kitchen team works to display the produce on offer. Diners may select a la carte or try a 'feed me' menu and let the kitchen take them on a food journey.

Boffins Address

Google Map