Back

Reviews - Bukhara Indian Restaurant Double Bay

9.1/10

Excellent

based on 407 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Asher a.
    Asher a.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Not our first time, would highly recommend. Friendly service, most accommodating, a very wide range and choices on the menu. Prices very reasonable.

  2. Donna M.
    Donna M.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    We always enjoy the food and the dining experience at Bukhara Double Bay.....have never been disappointed in the quality or the quantity of the wide range of dishes.

  3. Belle J.
    Belle J.
    • 11 reviews
    8.5/10

    Loved the food - well seasoned, not too salty, wonderful aromas and spices, meat was so tender! Service was a little disappointing - we were rushed to make our order, to finish our food and then out of the door. But we would still go back for the food.

  4. Nathalie B.
    Nathalie B.
    • 48 reviews
    10/10

    A great venue for a night out with the girls. We all loved our dishes - okra and chicken curries, and palak paneer. Still working my way through the menu!

  5. Arianna C.
    Arianna C.
    • 15 reviews
    9/10

    Great service and atmosphere !

  6. Nathalie B.
    Nathalie B.
    • 48 reviews
    8.5/10

    We tried the goat curry which was very tasty, and the eggplant and potato curry which was exceptional. Will be back to work our way through the menu!

  7. Nathalie B.
    Nathalie B.
    • 48 reviews
    10/10

    What a great discovery this was! Off street level so I’ve never noticed it but will definitely be returning. Lovely ambience and delicious food - we shared two vegetarian curries with rice and naan and the serves were very generous.

  8. Kylie T.
    Kylie T.
    • 21 reviews
    9.5/10

    Wonderful service and food

  9. Alex K.
    Alex K.
    • 22 reviews
    7/10

    Good, authentic Indian meal. Service disappointing. Food was flavoursome and very fresh.

  10. Bonita F.
    Bonita F.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Up a flight of stairs, the restaurant has a nice quiet ambience. The food is great and more importantly consistent each time I go there different times.

  11. Lauren S.
    Lauren S.
    • 4 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food was delicious but service was very slow - I think the kitchen were short staffed. Staff were kind and attentive.

  12. Nadine J.
    Nadine J.
    • 8 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious food and good service.

  13. Mabel T.
    Mabel T.
    • 16 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food were excellent especially the naans, lamb curry and butter chicken curry. Service was excellent and personable. Thanks for a lovely Friday dinner

  14. Jason L.
    Jason L.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great authentic Indian with lovely ambience and staff. Could become a regular!

  15. Judi C.
    Judi C.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    We have eaten here many times over the years and never been disappointed with the food. Service is a bit hit and miss but the food makes up for all shortcomings in that area. Highly recommended.

  16. Menka L.
    Menka L.
    • 38 reviews
    7/10

    The food was alright. Nothing special. Nothing you won't find at a food court. We asked for spicy and the message failed to reach the kitchen thanks to server. They got us out green chilies instead of offering to replace our three main courses. Stay away from the seafood starters. Overcooked ! Prawns and fish were chewy, took a whole day to swallow

  17. Tanya D.
    Tanya D.
    • 17 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food, friendly service and nice position to ‘people watch’ on a busy Double Bay corner. We over-ordered but our leftovers were nicely packed to go. The sorbet was a great palate cleanser, if you leave room for dessert!

  18. Gagan G.
    Gagan G.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    Chicken tikka and palak panner were good . Dal Bukhara was bland, I was hoping it will be their speciality given the restaurant name. Lacha parantha wasn’t flaky at all , however garlic naan was good

  19. Penny B.
    Penny B.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Delicious, wholesome, tasty, generous servings. Loved it. We will return. Loved the naan w nuts. Relaxing atmosphere.

  20. Andrew L.
    Andrew L.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Bukhara had extremely friendly service and was very prompt when the dishes came out. The food itself was distinct and felt like it had a different flavour even though our dishes were the most common ones. I feel like if you can perfect the most commonly popular dishes all the harder dishes would be phenomenally more intricate and unique. Currently, this is my favourite Indian restaurants to date.

  21. Phillip C.
    Phillip C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Had great food and great service. Beautifully cooked dishes and well presented and the wine selection was excellent. Will definitely be back!

  22. Cliff L.
    Cliff L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    As alway a very pleasant atmosphere - friendly staff , spacious seating. Cannot fault variety of food and service . It’s a restaurant that you can enjoy a nice evening with family

  23. Louise B.
    Louise B.
    • 3 reviews
    7.5/10

    Really good Indian food.

  24. Shiba C.
    Shiba C.
    • one review
    4/10

    Not at all happy with this Restaurant. Went to celebrate my husband's birthday and invited few guest...but food was so bad..that we had to leave the place after tasting entrees...and have to go to a different Restaurant.

  25. Amelia S.
    Amelia S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Big fans of the series Food Safari who recommended Le Bukhara Mauritian Indian, our food was amazing and we were so full by the end of it. Definitely, going back again!

  26. Susan D.
    Susan D.
    • 15 reviews
    9/10

    We had a booking at 6.30 which was early and probably explains the lack of ambience. However, the staff was very welcoming and prompt with bringing water menus and complementary. When we chose our food we asked whether we had ordered too much and were advised that we probably had. She was right, our final order was the perfect amount. The food was tasty and very enjoyable. We will go again.

  27. Derek L.
    Derek L.
    • one review
    9/10

    Really interesting menu for various parts of India. Caring service. Appropriate ambiance and given the cost of other restaurants in Double Bay great value for money

  28. Deborah B.
    Deborah B.
    • 21 reviews
    9/10

    A great meal enjoyed by all. The chickpea curry was a standout.

  29. Helen C.
    Helen C.
    • 26 reviews
    9.5/10

    I was amazed at how spacious and light it is - plenty of room for groups and well spaced out. The menu was lovely, lots of choice and it beautifully presented. We had the tandoori lamb cutlets which were delicious, butter chicken and chicken korma and everything was amazing!

  30. Daniel L.
    Daniel L.
    • 12 reviews
    5.5/10

    It's pretty simple food but not at simple prices - although, to be fair the palak paneer was excellent. The service, whilst friendly, was on par with the food.

  31. Hilary-Anne W.
    Hilary-Anne W.
    • 14 reviews
    8/10

    Service good & attentive ,covid safety was comforting . Food was delicious but the beef vindaloo although delicious , was too oily . Good choice on the menu . Tandoori fish was good & a reasonable portion . Overall experience- good

  32. Penny B.
    Penny B.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious food! Prompt service. Enjoyed the fish curry and the rice with nuts and fruit. ........... nice red wine... 30% off food was an added bonus

  33. Deborah B.
    Deborah B.
    • 21 reviews
    9.5/10

    The Tandoori prawns and Beef Korma were delicious. The passionfruit and white chocolate kulfi was delicious. Service was excellent. Would definitely go back again.

  34. Andrew L.
    Andrew L.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    Perfect place to have a great meal and a grea time in general. Service was great and food was delicious!! Place was hidden so this was a great find.

  35. Aliasghar B.
    Aliasghar B.
    • 19 reviews
    8/10

    Entree was good. Specially lamb cutlets and mains was good but felt little bit less salt.. but we really enjoyed our meal

  36. Victoria-Rose T.
    Victoria-Rose T.
    • 18 reviews
    7/10

    I booked this restaurant thinking that I’d been here once before, but no, I hadn’t! I can’t say it was the best Indian restaurant I’ve discovered, yet it wasn’t bad either. The wine list, by the glass had just 3 options (only Chardonnay for white, no thank you!) For mains we ordered the palak paneer and chicken jalfrezi. The paneer was delicious but the chicken dish was pretty average. We got a side of basmati rice which wasn’t cooked very well and a garlic naan which was flavourful. The atmosphere was quiet, with only one other family dining in. Value for money, without a discount on the fork, I wouldn’t have been happy to pay $25 for a main.

  37. Lauren B.
    Lauren B.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent food in a nice setting.

  38. Sapna B.
    Sapna B.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Delicious food and good service. Lovely restaurant.

  39. Peter S.
    Peter S.
    • 18 reviews
    9.5/10

    With six of us, the food and service were very good.

  40. Ian M.
    Ian M.
    • one review
    8/10

    We all thought it was well presented, good food, friendly and obliging staff and overall real value for money. The menu options are varied and cater for most tastes.