Back

Reviews Bukhara Indian Restaurant Double Bay

8.7/10

Fabulous

based on 262 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Nim J.
    Nim J.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    We LOVE the food at Bukhara, it's tasty, flavourful and there are just too many delicious options on the menu. The service is friendly and quick and there is a great atmosphere.

  2. Grant B.
    Grant B.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    What a fantastic restaurant, we've walked past many times and love Indian food. So glad we tried it and cant recommend the food, service and atmosphere highly enough! We will definitely go back.

  3. Nicole M.
    Nicole M.
    • 11 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food was very tasty and the service starting off well however as the night wore on it was inattentive. Surprising given there were only a couple of tables at the time.

  4. Lex P.
    Lex P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing time. Great staff and an awesome experience. Will come back again!

  5. Peter S.
    Peter S.
    • 15 reviews
    9/10

    Indian dishes, especially the prawn dishes are excellent and highly recommended.

  6. Daniel M.
    Daniel M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great restaurant- delicious food and good service.

  7. Clem B.
    Clem B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Went here on a Wednesday night, was quiet but the place is amazing! They've got everything right - good food, friendly service, great atmosphere and value for money.

  8. Jorge S.
    Jorge S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was amazing. We were seated immediately and the food came out quickly. The pistachio beef curry is my recommendation, it was so good and creamy and flavorsome. The naan was really good as well. I dont have any complaints at all.

  9. Laura V.
    Laura V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great service and very nice food! Highly recommended, the goat was delicious! And there are many options for vegetarians which is great. Thanks!

  10. Mala P.
    Mala P.
    • 2 reviews
    6/10

    The food was average. The servings were comparatively smaller in size.For drinks we order a bottle of Moscato but was served a Rose.

  11. Conrad S.
    Conrad S.
    • one review
    9/10

    A regular for us. The quality and mixture of tastes makes it very enjoyable and interesting. Indian food at this level of presentation and excellence I’m sure would be hard to for the value. Highly recommend.

  12. Devon L.
    Devon L.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    The food was very nice, little slow on drinks hitting the table. Music kept going off for long periods of time which made the venue feel very empty but we really enjoyed our night overall and will for sure go back and will recommend.

  13. Susan B.
    Susan B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Welcoming; staff were attentive and polite. Loved that our plates were heated for the main course. Generous servings and the food was very tasty!

  14. Dillon N.
    Dillon N.
    • one review
    9/10

    Outstanding food well presented. Huge choice on the menu of authentic Indian dishes. Lovely flavours, colourful presentation. Good service and very good value for money!

  15. Ajay P.
    Ajay P.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Good authentic Indian food. Would definitely go back for a yummy meal. Service a bit slow, I think they had a lot of uber eats orders, but food came hot and plenty.

  16. Imran S.
    Imran S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Every time I come here it never disappoints, from the service to the food, plus the drinks selection is why i have always come back time and time again.

  17. Fred S.
    Fred S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The food is amazing. Can't doubt it at all. Service is good and the speed of food to table is incredible. The chicken vindaloo was a stand out dish.

  18. Adib M.
    Adib M.
    • one review
    10/10

    I have been here a few times. The food has always been tasty. Modern restaurant with lovely atmosphere and friendly staff. Will be back here again

  19. Bob J.
    Bob J.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food is wonderful, it exceeded our expectation. Every dish we ordered was beautiful, the mango lassi drink, the naan, butter chicken, chicken vindaloo, the servings are generous.

  20. Alek S.
    Alek S.
    • one review
    10/10

    We have always enjoyed coming to Bukhara. The food is awesome and the hospitality has been great. We consider this our go to as locals in the area when we're craving Indian food.

  21. Anton M.
    Anton M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Delicious indian food with a quick and friendly service. The chicken tikka was juicy and and the rogan josh was spicy and well portioned. Good selection of Cocktails too.

  22. Sally T.
    Sally T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic Indian cuisine and great service! The butter chicken was amazing and the cheese naan was crispy. All in all we will be back here again.

  23. Rosalie H.
    Rosalie H.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    On entering Bukhara, we were warmly greeted and shown to our table. Our entree and mains arrived promptly and each dish was tasty. There seemed to be a lack of service once we had received our mains, but overall we had an enjoyable evening.

  24. Tj t.
    Tj t.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Food was bloody amazing

  25. Bob G.
    Bob G.
    • one review
    8/10

    A fine Indian restuarant with an interesting menu and very obliging service personnel. The location provides easy parking at anytime and access to a good pub for a pre-dinner drink.

  26. Miranda L.
    Miranda L.
    • 11 reviews
    6.5/10

    A nice little neighbourhood Indian restaurant. Very friendly service that was efficient. All of the patrons looked like they were enjoying themselves. Great mango lassi

  27. Jenny c.
    Jenny c.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Great food always consistent efficient service in peaceful setting. Set in a quiet corner of Double Bay where parking is easy. Has a spacious area for dining.

  28. Angivin G.
    Angivin G.
    • one review
    3/10

    Food was very underwhelming and lacked taste

  29. Margaret R.
    Margaret R.
    • 7 reviews
    5/10

    Waitress did not offer useful menu suggestions to our queries so the food we ordered all seemed the same. The vegetable dish was mainly gravy. The mushroom and onion bread was extremely salty and very little mushroom.

  30. Isabella K.
    Isabella K.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    We really enjoyed this restaurant’s ambience & the tasty Indian food! Will be back!

  31. Alexandra B.
    Alexandra B.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Great food. Great service. Good value. It should be regarded as a local gem. The restaurant is noisy and could do with some sound reduction foam.

  32. Eric K.
    Eric K.
    • 4 reviews
    7/10

    The food was tasty but a bit on the dry side. Service was slow and could have been better. We had a good welcome but the evening was nothing to write home about.

  33. Munir R.
    Munir R.
    • 5 reviews
    8/10

    Liked the food,We ordered the palak paneer,seafood medley,kulchas and the indian decoration,reasonably priced items and drinks,Seating area is big.

  34. Patrice d.
    Patrice d.
    • 28 reviews
    8/10

    I know this restaurant since a very long time , its back on track since the Chef is back !!! nice clean space , serious Indian food which is not often the case.

  35. Kristine K.
    Kristine K.
    • 5 reviews
    6.5/10

    Curry was okay, had to ask for extra chilli to enhance the flavours. Staff were polite and pleasant.

  36. Mark S.
    Mark S.
    • 28 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food is impeccable and the staff are super friendly 50% off is amazing

  37. Daniel R.
    Daniel R.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    This restaurant always delivers with amazing food and flavours. Easily the best and my favourite Indian restaurant I’ve even eaten at. Highly recommend

  38. KARAN S.
    KARAN S.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food was good, we obviously enjoyed the discount through this app but the waiting time was too much. Not sure it was on-off or their kitchen is slow or understaff. Would surely recommend people to go there but try ordering everything in one go as they will take time to serve.

  39. Romy S.
    Romy S.
    • 4 reviews
    6/10

    We weren’t greeted when we came in. We waiting about 7minutes to be seated. The wait staff ignored as and continued to walk past us. We were eventually seated. We watched a customer get his own drink from the bar. After another 15minutes of no service... we left. It looked a bit chaotic on the floor and in the kitchen and unfortunately we weren’t staying to see whether we would get food when we had a baby waiting for us at home. I am sure the food would have been lovely but we never got the chance to try it

  40. Ben S.
    Ben S.
    • 23 reviews
    6/10

    Food was nice, but didn't seem to have enough staff on. Service was very slow, and we'd finished our main dishes before our naan was ready. Disappointing, as the food itself was very nice.