Back

Reviews Burwood Inn

9.4/10

Excellent

based on 234 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Mark M.
    Mark M.
    • 7 reviews
    7/10

    Steak is OK but could have been better

  2. Lya S.
    Lya S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious steaks cooked to perfection.

  3. Kim M.
    Kim M.
    • one review
    10/10

    What a brilliant dining experience!!! The wait staff were friendly, welcoming and knew what they were talking about re offering advice on the menu. The bar staff even offered my husband taste tests before selecting his beer of choice. We go out for dinner twice a month and never have we experienced such a delightful environment and the food was superb!!! We will definitely be returning on a regular basis! Thanks for such a great way to end 2019 and see you soon in the new year!!

  4. Nicky J.
    Nicky J.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a fabulous time due to the wonderful atmosphere, service and amazing food. Thank you ????

    Burwood Inn

    Hi Nicky, Sorry I am so late to respond to your review, but we do appreciate it. It is always great to hear feedback from our customers, and especially nice when it is so positive. We are so glad you enjoyed your evening with us. Cheers, The Burwood Team :-)

  5. Colin S.
    Colin S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly staff, great service and a fantastic environment. The food (steaks) and children’s meals were excellent! Just a great place for food and drinks.

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    10/10

    As always, great service and great food. The steaks are excellent and the kids meals and fantastic!

    Burwood Inn

    Thank you so much for reviewing us... I am so sorry my reply is so late... the review went to my spam mail for some reason. We do appreciate feedback from our guests and are so glad you enjoyed you time with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers, The Burwood Team :-)

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    8.5/10

    Friendly service. A bit pricey for a pub meal

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    9/10

    Best steak in Newcastle

    Burwood Inn

    Thank you so much for your review. Sorry it has taken me so long to respond but please be assured your feedback is important to us. We are so happy you enjoyed your steaks.. We are very proud of them... Looking forward to seeing you again soon at the Burwood.. Cheers, The Burwood Team.

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    9/10

    Nice local pub with great food

    Burwood Inn

    Hi, Thankyou so much for taking the time to review us. So sorry for taking so long to reply. We appreciate feedback from our guests to see what we are doing well and what we can improve on... So pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Cheers, The Burwood Team.

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    9.75/10

    Best steak in Newcastle 10/10 would recommend

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    9/10

    Intimate pub amazing food

  12. April R.
    April R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    It was lovely, we will be back.

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    6/10

    We ordered 3 steaks and they were cooked as requested - unfortunately the cut of my steak had too many tendons and was too chewy. The truffle butter was a nice accompaniment to the steak and seating was comfortable.

    Burwood Inn

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. So sorry your cut of meat was not to your liking. Hopefully you will try again as our steaks are generally amazing. The Truffle Butter is my personal favourite accompaniment with the steaks, along with the peppercorn or port jus. Hope to see you back at the Burwood again soon. Cheers, Sas and The Burwood Team

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    10/10

    Always great steak at the Burwood!

    Burwood Inn

    Hi and thank you for your review... It is always great to get feedback from our guests.. even better when so positive.. so glad you enjoyed your steaks, and looking forward to welcoming you back to the Burwood again soon. Cheers, The Burwood Team

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    10/10

    Burwood Inn maintained its high standards in terms of quality, service and valua

    Burwood Inn

    Hi and thank you for your review... It is always great to hear back from our guests, especially when it is so positive... Skye and I had a fun day on Monday with some lovely guests in.. so it is great to hear you enjoyed it too. Cheers, Sandra :-)

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    10/10

    They had such a great staff

    Burwood Inn

    Hi and thank you for you great review... we love our staff too :-) Cheers, The Burwood Team...

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8.25/10

    A cozy and classy atmosphere, venue seems like a refurbished, European style pub. There is no drink service - you have to get up and walk to the bar to even look at the wine list. If you only want a glass of something, prices ranged from $6.50-$11 per glass. Very limited desserts - I only saw one on the specials board which said it was a chocolate pop tart? Sounded dubious so I skipped that. We were greeted by a very lovely waitress, but then we were seated for about 15 minutes before another waitress saw to us. It was apparently her first night, which showed - she didn't know much about the menu and was not friendly. The steaks are worth the hype though, very delicious and flavourful. Prices range from $28-$58, and all steaks come with green beans, 5-6 triple-cooked chips and your choice of a sauce.

    Burwood Inn

    Hi. Thank you for your very comprehensive review... :-) It is always great to get feedback on the way we do things and how we are going... There are wine lists available in the restaurant, perhaps from now on we should offer them as people are being seated... it has always worked for us, not doing table service on drinks and our customers are generally happy with that. We do not get asked a lot for desserts, as we are more known for our steaks, and so do not always have a lot on offer, to save waste. Sorry the chocolate tart did not sound to your liking but I believe it was quite popular among other guests. Our restaurant manager shared your view on the friendliness of the girl who was being trialed that night, and she was not offered a position. We take great pride not only in our amazing steaks, but also in our great service and the friendliness of our staff. Thanks again for taking the time to review us. Cheers, The Burwood Team.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8.75/10

    Best steak in Newcastle

    Burwood Inn

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. So glad to hear you enjoyed your steaks.. We definitely take great pride in them and our other meals. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, The Burwood Team :-)

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 293 reviews
    7.75/10

    Initially the service was VERY slow.This was nothing to do with the behaviour of the staff but the lack of them. However when we did incounter the staff they were pleasant and professional.A suggestion perhaps would have the publican or equivalent to tend only to phones and service desk.

    Burwood Inn

    HI, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and offer your suggestions... Lunch is always a difficult one to staff for as you often do not know how busy you are going to be.. I am sorry you were kept waiting to begin with, but hope you still enjoyed your meal and time with us. Cheers, The Burwood Team.

  20. Janine R.
    Janine R.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Best steak in Newcastle

    Burwood Inn

    Hi Jane, Thanks for your review, it is always great to hear people are loving dining at the Burwood... keep your eye out for our next 2 for 1 Steak deal coming later this month. Cheers, The Burwood Team

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8.75/10

    Good service, good food.

    Burwood Inn

    Hi, Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Cheers, The Burwood Team.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great value, prompt service! Food was great!

    Burwood Inn

    HI, Thank you for your review. We love feedback from our guests to see how we are going and how we can improve. It was nice to hear we are doing it right and you enjoyed your time with us... look forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers, The Burwood Team

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing steak cooked to perfection every time. Wonderful service- accommodating to small children. A definite family favourite for special occasions.

    Burwood Inn

    Thank you so much for your review. We try so hard to give great customer service and amazing meals and it is always nice to hear that we are getting right. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Cheers, The Burwood Team

  24. Glenn H.
    Glenn H.
    • one review
    7/10

    Great food, very enjoyable

    Burwood Inn

    Thanks for your review Glenn. We appreciate feedback from our customers and are always looking for ways to improve and accommodate our patrons needs. Sorry our atmosphere scored low for you. Every day is different at the Burwood, so hopefully on your next visit, the atmosphere will score higher... ;-) Cheers, The Burwood Team

  25. Eric E.
    Eric E.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Probably the best steak in town

    Burwood Inn

    Hi Eric, Thank you so much for your review. it is always great to get feedback on how we are doing. So happy you enjoyed your steak. Cheers, The Burwood Team

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    6.5/10

    The service was great and the owners very friendly and welcoming, but the dining room was quite cold. The steaks were nice enough but nothing special and not what I'd call rare. Nice beans and good chips but very few of them. They switched the sauces for our steak and the jus wasn't good even when we got the right ones. The food wasn't good value but a great beer and wine list that was reasonably priced. I'd been wanting to go for a long time so quite disappointed.

    Burwood Inn

    Thank you for your review. I am so sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. Can I ask if our waitstaff food checked your steaks and if you told them you weren't happy with them.. If they knew they weren't rare enough they could have had them cooked again for you. We train our staff to check all meals so we can correct any matters straight away.. We do generally have great comments on our meals and our sauces, but all these things are a personal taste and sometimes we just don't get it right. I do feel bad you did not enjoy your meals and do apologise. Our restaurant managers shift report noted no complaints and some really great feedback so I am sorry your dissatisfaction was not noted and attended to. if you give us another go hopefully we will do a better job. Cheers, The Burwood Team

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    7.75/10

    Always great steak

    Burwood Inn

    HI, Thank you for taking the time to review us. So glad you enjoyed your steaks.. We are very proud of them.. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, The Burwood Team :-)

  28. Virginnia W.
    Virginnia W.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Tender steak - worth paying slightly more for the quality

    Burwood Inn

    Hi Virginia, Thank you for your review, we do source the highest quality steak, and have recently won the AGFG best steak in the Hunter, and so are very proud and always pleased to hear it is worth the effort. Cheers, The Burwood Team

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    10/10

    Always great steak at the Burwood

    Burwood Inn

    Hi, So pleased to hear you enjoyed our steak. We source only the best steak and recently won AGFG best Steak in the Hunter.. we are very proud and also very pleased to hear the effort is paying off. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, The Burwood Team.

  30. Jenny H.
    Jenny H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Cooked to perfection

    Burwood Inn

    Hi Jenny, Thanks so much for your review. It is always great to get feedback from our guests, especially when it is such positive feedback. We had a couple of busy nights with the 2 for 1 deal, and our staff nailed it :-) Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, The Burwood Team

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    9/10

    Delightfully surprised!! Great food, beautifully cooked and well presented.

    Burwood Inn

    Hi, Thanks for your review. So glad you enjoyed your night with us. Cheers, The Burwood Team.

  32. Ben G.
    Ben G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Every time I come here I always get the rib eye and every time it has been cook to perfection One of the best steaks I’ve had

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    3.75/10

    Bar overcrowded,dirty,noisey unpleasnant to enjoy drink before or after dinner. Food was average and pricey for average quality . Steak was overcooked. Unimpressed

    Burwood Inn

    HI, I'm sorry it has taken us some time to respond to your review, we wanted to make sure we had spoken to our restaurant manager and other staff who were on duty Saturday night. Yes our bar was busy and noisy that night. We are a community minded "Pub" and we are actively involved with sporting clubs and other groups in the community, The Saturday you were in, Newcastle had a race meeting, Souths Rugby League home game and Merewether Carlton Ladies Rugby Union home game as well as their Ladies Day, we had a lot of people at the Pub after these events. If you were expecting a quiet venue, I will apologise as that day was not quiet. You referred to our Hotel being dirty, our hotel is never referred to as this. If there were some dirty plates or glasses left around, it may have been because our staff were busy. I am quite confident they attended to these things as quickly as they could. We pride ourselves on many things, cleanliness being one of them. In relation to the quality of our food, our staff are trained to food check every table after meals are served... Again if your table was not meal checked, I apologise and ask that you contact us and let us know. My Restaurant manager has told us she was sure every table was checked and no complaints at all, were taken that night. When we meal check and have complaints, we tend to those complaints immediately and have them corrected. Of course steaks can be both over or undercooked to individual liking, on occasion. If we are alerted to it at the time we are always more than happy to recook... We cannot fix these problems after the fact. We certainly never claim to be perfect, no venue is, but we usually do have good reviews and deal with any issues immediately on the night when informed. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your evening with us but we ask you, please, to contact us personally, to further address these issues so we can do better for you next time. Kind Regards, Sandra and Tony Dart

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    10/10

    Always a great atmosphere at the Burwood

    Burwood Inn

    HI and thank you for your review. It is always nice to hear of people enjoying themselves at the Burwood. We certainly hope you continue to.. Cheers, The Burwood Team.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    9.75/10

    The steak is tender and tasty . Best steak experience.

  36. Rob K.
    Rob K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Best steak in Newcastle

  37. steven d.
    steven d.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    thank you very much to the hotel manager we had extra people turn up and he did a amazing job of fitting us all in a great night

    Burwood Inn

    Thanks so much for your review Steve.. I will pass this on to our great staff. So glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back... Cheers, The Burwood Team

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    10/10

    Always a great time at the Burwood

    Burwood Inn

    Hi and thank you for your review.. so glad you always enjoy your time with us... It is great to hear. Cheers, The Burwood Team.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    8.25/10

    We enjoy the Burwood - friendly staff, good food and service.

  40. Andrew f.
    Andrew f.
    • one review
    9/10

    Fabulously cosy on a cold wet day. Superb service from both the restaurant and bar staff contributed to the quality meals and ensured my foodie friends from Sydney were suitably impressed and added The Burwood to their Newcastle food destination list.