1384 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.3
1384 reviews
Recommended
(8.3)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(7.3)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Sat, 12 Jan 2019

(10)
Exceptional service which is to be expected at such a well regarded establishment. Food was delicious particularly the simple dishes... they were done so well! The menu selection was wonderful & the service is personal & professional which was such a highlight.

dined on Tue, 1 Jan 2019

(10)
As always food just perfect, everything tastes wonderful. Excellent service, comfortable and easy to visit. Only down side is the eye watering mark ups on wine, verging on obscene. This time we just had water and had a pre lunch and post lunch drink at the Prince, 30 mtrs away. Saved probably $100.

dined on Mon, 31 Dec 2018

(4)
Lamb was very poor. Incredibly salty, warmed up leftovers. Accompanying roast potatoes were extremely salty and dry, not good at all!

dined on Sun, 30 Dec 2018

(10)
Cafe De Stasio never disappoints. Service, food, wine and atmosphere are always completely on point. I can't recommend it highly enough.

dined on Sun, 30 Dec 2018

(9)
A lovely lunch - as per usual

dined on Fri, 28 Dec 2018

(7)
We hadn’t realised that the special degustation menu was not available till February so had to choose a la carte. We especially went there after seeing their advertisement in the weekend paper every weekend for the special menu & as we were in Melbourne we took the tram to St Kilda to experience this. It was not to be. Doubt if we will get back again. Very disappointing

dined on Thu, 27 Dec 2018

(7)
We went for the $39.90 lunch special on the 27th December. Nothing on the website suggested that it wasn't available. It wasn't. Not during the Xmas - New Year period. Disappointing. Food and drink was nice though.

dined on Sat, 22 Dec 2018

(9)
The temp of the food could of been hotter with the pasta was the only fault. Service impeccable. Love this restaurant.

dined on Fri, 21 Dec 2018

(6)
Noisy and poor lighting

dined on Tue, 18 Dec 2018

(9)
The wait staff were highly knowledgeable about the food and wine menu and very happy to make suggestions. They were also super obliging around dietary requirements, sharing etc. Thank you v much. My guest from overseas had a fabulous time!
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Cafe di Stasio

They haven’t aged a day! How many restaurants do you know that have been around since the eighties? Now how many do you know that are as current as Michelangelo’s twitter feed? Cafe di Stasio is St Kilda’s veteran eatery that’s as hip as any. Praised by both locals and critics, Cafe di Stasio is dressed to impress. Its moody lighting and sophisticated setting make it the quintessential inner-city hang out hip, neat and just the right amount of fancy. This place doesn’t shy from the contemporary, nor from hanging up work by the provocative artist Bill Henson. Cafe di Stasio does Italian cuisine just the way the Melbournians like it. They craft their pasta not once, but twice daily, and have special spins on classic favourites. Why not try some of their Bread maltagliati with calamari and radicchio or their home made Linguine with prawns? You’ll have the perfect wine to complement your meal, as these guys get their wine from the very best local and international sources. If you haven’t been to this St Kilda favourite yet, you better get on it. Best dish: Casseula di ceci (Tuscan-style chickpeas, black cabbage and tomato with garlic bruschetta

Cafe di Stasio Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

16/20
69
4.5/5
4.5/5