Back

Reviews Cafe Lyon

9.4/10

Excellent

based on 936 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Philippe M.
    Philippe M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent ambiance, warmly welcomed, awesome and fine food, with a great wine offer. Highly recommended. They have also accoustic foam on the ceiling, that allows you to discuss without yelling. Best place in the area.

  2. Jen J.
    Jen J.
    • one review
    10/10

    As always the food was delicious and the lovely staff attentive, able and efficient . Terrific wine list - esp for a local restaurant. Totally recommend Cafe Lyon.

  3. Julie B.
    Julie B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    As always amazing food & service. Thank you Rainer for how special you make our nights in your restaurant.

  4. Kadd L.
    Kadd L.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Food is excellent. Staff are very polite. Although the place was full, waiters will let you know you they will attend to you as soon as they can. That's really assuring as sometimes one might think that the staff may have forgotten about you when they are busy. Service with a smile.

  5. Michaela W.
    Michaela W.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Food and service were very good.

  6. Keith S.
    Keith S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The food was delicious and not pretentious. Puts a lot of city restaurants to shame. The service by the waitress was great. Prices for the quality were quite reasonable

  7. Richard P.
    Richard P.
    • 78 reviews
    10/10

    We enjoyed a lovely French infused meal at Cafe Lyon. Recommend the trout and kingfish starters and the duck main. Definitely recommend a French Martini too. Desserts are also excellent here recommend the soufflé. If you are looking for a taste of France then this is the place for you.

  8. Olwyn C.
    Olwyn C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great food and service. After a slight issue being seated the staff made up with excellent service. Food as always was really beautifully cooked.

  9. Kerri O.
    Kerri O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wow from the moment we arrived we were treated to the kind of service that sets a restaurant apart. The place was packed and buzzing with the sound of happy patrons. Add a great wine list and superb food and Cafe Lyon just became my new favorite restaurant ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  10. Anne M.
    Anne M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    It was excellent. Quality of food, service and atmosphere particularly loved the French martini’s Zucchini Flowers and the duck. Portions were perfectly sized however couldn’t fit in dessert

  11. Helen C.
    Helen C.
    • one review
    10/10

    First time with this restaurant. Food excellent, presentation excellent, Service excellent. Chairs not as comfortable as we would have hoped. Wonderful experience, we will be back

  12. Shivashankari G.
    Shivashankari G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great ambience, attentive service and outstanding food that's really well priced. I have been twice and will go again. Wine selection is great. Overall a very pleasant evening.

  13. Florence C.
    Florence C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food and excellent service!

  14. Michelle c.
    Michelle c.
    • one review
    10/10

    Had a wonderful 40th Birthday dinner for my husband. Food was wonderful, great wine list and atmosphere. We really enjoyed ourselves and will be back again.

  15. Mel B.
    Mel B.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    We have not eaten here for a couple of years. The food is still excellent, and service fantastic!

  16. Mary H.
    Mary H.
    • 77 reviews
    9.5/10

    Service was efficient! We thoroughly enjoyed our mains & desserts. Loved it. We haven’t been here for a couple of years but having had a wonderful dinner on Saturday we will return very quickly. Good value too.

  17. Richard P.
    Richard P.
    • 78 reviews
    10/10

    We are lucky to have this French gem on the North Shore of Sydney. Cafe Lyon always provides a delicious meal in a friendly and vibrant atmosphere. We enjoyed the trout entree and also the barramundi, lamb and salmon mains. We resisted the desserts this time, but would always recommend the soufflé. We really love this little taste of France in Lindfield.

  18. Raye B.
    Raye B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious meal. Great staff. R. Burton

  19. Tony B.
    Tony B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    This restaurant is a gem, warm attentive service, good wine list and excellent food. The specials last Saturday were particularly good. It is a lovely bistro in the heart of the North Shore.

  20. Alan B.
    Alan B.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    There were three of us and we tried different dishes. Cafe Lyon delivered great atmosphere, service and exquisite tasting food. We will be coming back

  21. Gregory R.
    Gregory R.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    Very good food, and very good service. Thank you to all.

  22. Ivan S.
    Ivan S.
    • one review
    10/10

    the service was both casual with some silver service formality, a very happy medium. The scallops duck confit and quail where cooked to perfection and the only fault was the barramundi was slightly over cooked but this was balanced out by the sauce. The wine list was interesting and I tried a lovely Savy from orange, a region I have never tried before. I will be back and have already recommended the restaurant to others

  23. Paula M.
    Paula M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent highly recommend , great value for money

  24. Jeff H.
    Jeff H.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    Food quality not as high as usual - explained as due to 2 of the regular chefs still being on vacation. Waitress was very apologetic and reduced the bill voluntarily. Still one of our favourite restaurants and we will be back.

  25. Arthur L.
    Arthur L.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Great, polite service, if a bit hurried due to a large number of covers and small number of wait staff. Ambience is nice and cosy. Food (lamb rump, duck breast) was tasty but was not amazing - meat not as tender as expected. Dessert too sweet for my personal liking but others may differ in their taste.

  26. Katie Liqin Y.
    Katie Liqin Y.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very friendly cozy place. Food was served quickly and yummy. Will visit again soon

  27. Richard P.
    Richard P.
    • 78 reviews
    10/10

    A delicious meal as always from this wonderful slice of France. Recommend the pork belly entree and the duck or salmon mains. The soufflé for dessert is hard to beat.

  28. Warwick P.
    Warwick P.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Always excellent food in a French atmosphere. Management followed through with my seating request and made something special for the wedding anniversary celebration

  29. Phyllis P.
    Phyllis P.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Really enjoyed the mango souffle and the duck. Though it's a bit noisy as the restaurant was quite full today. Look forward to our next lunch there.

  30. Alan M.
    Alan M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Bloody fantastic, the the snails are "The Escargot", our group of 7 were allowed to tarry which made for more colourful conversation, a great lunch, will be back

  31. Loretta P.
    Loretta P.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Cafe Lyon has always been a favourite neighbourhood gem and never disappoints. My dining partner hadn’t been before and loved it. Howard looked after us well.

  32. Charanjit  Y.
    Charanjit Y.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We have been going to this restaurant for years now. Chris (the manager) and Grace (the waitress) have been absolutely wonderful. They always make you feel special and welcome. Above all the food is always wonderful especially when they have event nights where they offer a new menu. The chef owner is a humble man!

  33. Roger W.
    Roger W.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Had the 3 course fixed price menu. Great food and good service, but a bit noisy upstairs on very busy night. Took advantage of the $10 BYO option on a Tuesday.

  34. ida S.
    ida S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food excellent service really good . This restaurant never disappoints . Highly recommend this establishment. Wine list is fairly extensive with Australian and international wines -

  35. Andrew L.
    Andrew L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Busy, noisy and swift is archetypal of a good French Bistro and this does not disappoint. The consistency in the quality of the food was noted by all and the serving sizes are ample to satisfy the hungriest. Must tries are the Duck and Lamb backstrap but also make sure you leave room for dessert as they are outstanding. Drinks and wine list are at reasonable prices and the variety is good.

  36. Dieter M.
    Dieter M.
    • 8 reviews
    9.5/10

    Consistently good quality food and matching service. Also there are additional specials complementing the menu. If anything the menu could change a bit more frequently. Leave enough space for deserts its worth it

  37. Veronica T.
    Veronica T.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Nice food and nice service. Place was crowded.

  38. Paula G.
    Paula G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    A fantastic menu, and a full vegetarian menu! I am a vego and the food was second to none. Their deserts need an award. Friendly, wonderful pace. 100% great night.

  39. David S.
    David S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Every dish was excellent, perfectly done with extraordinary skill. One of the best restaurant experiences we have ever experienced. The wine list is extensive with many reasonably priced superb wines. This was our first time at Cafe Lyon and we will certainly go again. The staff were courteous, informative and gave the optimum level of attention,

  40. Irene N.
    Irene N.
    • one review
    8/10

    Nice little restaurant, easy street parking outside, food was good and well presented. Service was not as attentive as mentioned in other reviews. Overall we enjoyed the meal. Would go again in future.