9.2/10
Excellent
based on 870 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Tony B.
    Tony B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    This restaurant is a gem, warm attentive service, good wine list and excellent food. The specials last Saturday were particularly good. It is a lovely bistro in the heart of the North Shore.

  2. Alan B.
    Alan B.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    There were three of us and we tried different dishes. Cafe Lyon delivered great atmosphere, service and exquisite tasting food. We will be coming back

  3. Gregory R.
    Gregory R.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    Very good food, and very good service. Thank you to all.

  4. Ivan S.
    Ivan S.
    • one review
    10/10

    the service was both casual with some silver service formality, a very happy medium. The scallops duck confit and quail where cooked to perfection and the only fault was the barramundi was slightly over cooked but this was balanced out by the sauce. The wine list was interesting and I tried a lovely Savy from orange, a region I have never tried before. I will be back and have already recommended the restaurant to others

  5. Paula M.
    Paula M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent highly recommend , great value for money

  6. Jeff H.
    Jeff H.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    Food quality not as high as usual - explained as due to 2 of the regular chefs still being on vacation. Waitress was very apologetic and reduced the bill voluntarily. Still one of our favourite restaurants and we will be back.

  7. Arthur L.
    Arthur L.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Great, polite service, if a bit hurried due to a large number of covers and small number of wait staff. Ambience is nice and cosy. Food (lamb rump, duck breast) was tasty but was not amazing - meat not as tender as expected. Dessert too sweet for my personal liking but others may differ in their taste.

  8. Katie Liqin Y.
    Katie Liqin Y.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very friendly cozy place. Food was served quickly and yummy. Will visit again soon

  9. Richard P.
    Richard P.
    • 76 reviews
    10/10

    A delicious meal as always from this wonderful slice of France. Recommend the pork belly entree and the duck or salmon mains. The soufflé for dessert is hard to beat.

  10. Warwick P.
    Warwick P.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Always excellent food in a French atmosphere. Management followed through with my seating request and made something special for the wedding anniversary celebration

  11. Phyllis P.
    Phyllis P.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Really enjoyed the mango souffle and the duck. Though it's a bit noisy as the restaurant was quite full today. Look forward to our next lunch there.

  12. Alan M.
    Alan M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Bloody fantastic, the the snails are "The Escargot", our group of 7 were allowed to tarry which made for more colourful conversation, a great lunch, will be back

  13. Loretta P.
    Loretta P.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Cafe Lyon has always been a favourite neighbourhood gem and never disappoints. My dining partner hadn’t been before and loved it. Howard looked after us well.

  14. Charanjit  Y.
    Charanjit Y.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We have been going to this restaurant for years now. Chris (the manager) and Grace (the waitress) have been absolutely wonderful. They always make you feel special and welcome. Above all the food is always wonderful especially when they have event nights where they offer a new menu. The chef owner is a humble man!

  15. Roger W.
    Roger W.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Had the 3 course fixed price menu. Great food and good service, but a bit noisy upstairs on very busy night. Took advantage of the $10 BYO option on a Tuesday.

  16. ida S.
    ida S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food excellent service really good . This restaurant never disappoints . Highly recommend this establishment. Wine list is fairly extensive with Australian and international wines -

  17. Andrew L.
    Andrew L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Busy, noisy and swift is archetypal of a good French Bistro and this does not disappoint. The consistency in the quality of the food was noted by all and the serving sizes are ample to satisfy the hungriest. Must tries are the Duck and Lamb backstrap but also make sure you leave room for dessert as they are outstanding. Drinks and wine list are at reasonable prices and the variety is good.

  18. Dieter M.
    Dieter M.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    Consistently good quality food and matching service. Also there are additional specials complementing the menu. If anything the menu could change a bit more frequently. Leave enough space for deserts its worth it

  19. Veronica T.
    Veronica T.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Nice food and nice service. Place was crowded.

  20. Paula G.
    Paula G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    A fantastic menu, and a full vegetarian menu! I am a vego and the food was second to none. Their deserts need an award. Friendly, wonderful pace. 100% great night.