Back

Reviews Cafe Saffron Ivanhoe

9.5/10
Excellent
based on 76 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Gaynor W.
    Gaynor W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Cafe Saffron is the best Indian restaurant a person could ever experience. The food, setting and service is beyond any other I have ever experienced. The management are totally amazing. It is the only Indian restaurant we go to and the only restaurant I have ever been to where if you actually over order the staff will advise you that "it may be a little much and if not we can maybe order more when we have finished", they have never been wrong! On this occasion it was my husbands 65th birthday and the first time we had been there since the covid19 outbreak. It was wonderful to be greeted by the owner's wonderfully warm smile. I advised him that we were so glad to be back for my hubby's birthday and it was a wonderful surprise to have the staff prepare a beautiful dessert for us all which was his gift to us all to celebrate the occasion. If you like Indian food you just cant get any better so in my family's eyes to walk past Cafe Saffron is a huge loss to you. Please take the opportunity to to experience all that is Cafe Saffron, you will not regret it and will go back again and again. A lovely night :)

  2. Susan m.
    Susan m.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Never disappointed! Best Indian in Melbourne

  3. Francis F.
    Francis F.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    very good cooking, delicate Indian food in compare with other Indian restaurant. The service is very good and the boss is very welcoming. If the serve is a bit bigger, it will be perfect because it tastes good.

  4. Christine  R.
    Christine R.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent food and friendly service. Good value for quality food. The banquet was very nice with a good variety of food. Eggplant and butter chicken were particularly nice

  5. Paula B.
    Paula B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Cafe Saffron always has great quality food. It is consistent every time and the staff really care about making sure the food is to our liking and that we are happy. The Naan is awesome. Curries are always delicious. The lunch special was fabulous value for money.

  6. Rose J.
    Rose J.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This place never disappoints have been coming here regularly for 10 years

  7. LESLEY R.
    LESLEY R.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    This Indian restaurant is a gem in the suburb of Ivanhoe. Staff and owner always welcoming and helpful, service fantastic. Food always delicious. Will definitely be back.

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 301 reviews
    7.75/10

    Clean, comfortable and good food

  9. Glenn S.
    Glenn S.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    The three of us had Banquet #1. The food was excellent. Serving the 5 courses was perfectly timed (not rushed, not too slow) and the portion sizes ideal.

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    9/10

    As always delicious food.

  11. Gary J.
    Gary J.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The menu was extensive, and what we chose was delicious

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 254 reviews
    10/10

    very happy with atmosphere, food and service.

  13. Zsolt U.
    Zsolt U.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Awesome food and wonderful staff

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    7.75/10

    Fantastic leg of lamb slow cooked in tandoori

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 295 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great cozy warm atmosphere.

  16. Mike S.
    Mike S.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Great food served by friendly staff the boss is a gem

  17. Danny c.
    Danny c.
    • 4 reviews
    5.5/10

    food was ok, but we were seated next to a big party which was rather annoying, and we asked initially asked to move but told that they couldn't. 20 minutes later we were told that they could do, but at this stage we had already started eating and all i wanted to do was eat and.But I will return

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely love this place! Emi come here every time I visit Melbourne. Ymthe signature lamb dish is an absolute must!

  19. Patrice F.
    Patrice F.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    We love Saffron - amazing, authentic and different Indian food, and a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The best Indian in town, always.

  20. Fiona C.
    Fiona C.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Great food and friendly service. Highly recommended.

  21. Elizabeth S.
    Elizabeth S.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Generous serves, polite helpful staff and delicious dishes.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great service and delicious food

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    8.75/10

    This is our third visit and consistently great food.

  24. Nabila A.
    Nabila A.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Food and service were fantastic. Would definitely be back again and again and again!

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    6/10

    I have visited this restaurant many times, however I think on this last occasion, the food has gone down a little bit. Not sure I will be in a rush to go back.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    4/10

    Food is not at its best but just another ordinary restaurant which is crowded by people all the time. Atmosphere is good and people like it for that. Their Biriyani sucks and please do not order it.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food and service!

  28. Michael H.
    Michael H.
    • 12 reviews
    9.75/10

    Great Indian Cuisine, really enjoyable little location

  29. Patrice F.
    Patrice F.
    • 8 reviews
    9.75/10

    Has to be the best Indian food in the area. Warm, inviting atmosphere and a great variety in the menu.

  30. Gary R.
    Gary R.
    • 3 reviews
    9.25/10

    Some great dishes not seen on many Indian menus

  31. Carolyn F.
    Carolyn F.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    Excellent & delicious food, lovely staff, friendly service. Will certainly return!

  32. Laura M.
    Laura M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Excellent food and service

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    7.25/10

    Emjoyable dinner.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    8/10

    Great food and service.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 248 reviews
    8/10

    Would recommend others.

  36. Matt M.
    Matt M.
    • 2 reviews
    6.25/10

    It was OK. The drinks were nice

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great food. Staff attentive.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    9.25/10

    Fantastic food and excellent service. Great for groups.

  39. Anne M.
    Anne M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Consistently reliable. Great food and service.

  40. Gabrielle N.
    Gabrielle N.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    Always a great meal with excellent service