Back

Reviews Canberra Southern Cross Club Tuggeranong

8.5/10

Fabulous

based on 96 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Helen G.
    Helen G.
    • one review
    7/10

    Food was lovely but being seated down the back near the cold windows was not nice it was so cold we had to leave as we were getting sniffles

  2. Jean n.
    Jean n.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Good food and service

  3. Vicky B.
    Vicky B.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Food was pleasant and kids were happy with their choices. My fish was really nice. We had minimum service all due to COVID. Food was ordered at the counter. We had to get our own salt and pepper . At the end of night one child left her watch on the table. Club rang to say they found it. Now that was great service. Thankyou Southern Cross.

  4. Hayley M.
    Hayley M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Then staff were all really welcoming and helpful. Service of food was very prompt. Quality of food was excellent! All so delicious and well presented.

  5. Winnie C.
    Winnie C.
    • 4 reviews
    5/10

    One of the dishes we ordered tasted bitter. We were unsure of what the bitterness came from so we talked to one of the staff members who defended it was from the sauce that mixed with the rest of the food. They did accept our request for another dish. My order of chicken skewers was average. Chicken meat was rough. Average plate size was small. It was not as good as we expected.

  6. Doreen H.
    Doreen H.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff were very polite, helpful and friendly. Two of the meals were under cooked, but the staff replaced them at no extra charge. Atmosphere was great. Finally were able to catch up with friends since Feb.. All in all, very happy. thankyou

  7. Patti M.
    Patti M.
    • one review
    9/10

    The checking in system was a bit shaky, Id booked 2 hours prior and the booking list hadn't been updated. But once sorted the service and food was great. The Sports Bar wouldn't have been my choice for sitting, but totally understand the reasons. Well done everyone for making the best of a challenging environment.

  8. Bassam A.
    Bassam A.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    I can't fault anything, except that we were confused of how to order our food, we could see other tables their orders been taken, but not our table.

  9. Helen T.
    Helen T.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food arrives quickly and always tastes fresh and flavoursome. Simple meals, but always reliably tasty. If only they'd meet and greet - would just add something to the place.

  10. Jane -  Kim M.
    Jane - Kim M.
    • 18 reviews
    7/10

    It's a club, so typical club atmosphere, and they don't mind how long you stay for. The food is fine, and there is a good "Monday" special on until the end of June, so I had a prawn linguine dish for only $13.90. One of our group had the sirloin steak sandwich, however she found the steak to be quite grisly and chewy, which you don't want in a steak sandwich. The other member of our group had the chicken Tandoori Bowl (available as a chicken or paneer cheese (too much paneer in my opinion, and not enough chicken according to my friend - maybe something in between as far as serving size goes) however a fish option could be added we think. I think I did best with the special.

  11. Helen T.
    Helen T.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Always rely on the food to be fresh, hot and tasty. Wait staff are always friendly and helpful, and seem to be great team that works well together. They're always busy which is a very good sign.

  12. Helen T.
    Helen T.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    We'd all benefit if they had someone greet patrons and take them to their table. Fortunately for us the last time we went, we'd asked for a specific table number, and actually got it (we don't normally). The girls taking the orders are lovely, as are the wait staff. Foods always good - but some true specials would be nice occasionally.

  13. Jane -  Kim M.
    Jane - Kim M.
    • 18 reviews
    6/10

    This is a restaurant in a club, serving typical "club" food. The menu includes a reasonable number of vegetarian options, which is good. Ordering is done at a counter (friendly service, and they were happy to answer questions about the food, from one of our group who has special dietary needs/allergies ) and the food is brought to you by friendly staff. My only complaint is that there is far too much paneer in the Tandoori Bowl that I ordered. They could halve the amount and it would be more than enough. The rest of the dish was the right quantity, just too much paneer, which meant some was wasted, as I couldn't eat it all. All our meals were tasty and nicely presented. Our group will be returning.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    6/10

    Always reasonable as a regular place to take the family

  15. John H.
    John H.
    • 3 reviews
    5.5/10

    Average club food but wii be back as an normal family meeting place

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    5.75/10

    A regular for us. Food has become a bit pricey for a club and doesn’t compete with many restaurants but a nice family club is always great to fall back on.

  17. Diane M.
    Diane M.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    great meals and very friendly staff and good service .

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    9.25/10

    Great value , keep schnitty night. We come regularly. You always provide Great service, and the meals come very quickly.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    9.5/10

    Relaxed atmosphere. Friendly and efficient staff. Great food!

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great new menu - all 3 meals were delicious. Thanks- will be back.

  21. Peter f.
    Peter f.
    • 10 reviews
    9/10

    we enjoyed our meal thanks

  22. Michael E.
    Michael E.
    • one review
    7/10

    My wife did not like dead fish eyeing her when she ordered.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food,as always, was delicious.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    10/10

    Everything was excellent, food, service and the meal was cooked to perfection, much better than Woden.

  25. Peter f.
    Peter f.
    • 10 reviews
    8.25/10

    We had a schnitzel; the serves are too big for our appetite! We ate there last Tuesday also and were not asked for comments. Had we been I would have said that the piece of fish I had was overcooked.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great for family get together with children. Tasty food

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    6.75/10

    Nice, cheap food and good atmosphere. Very good value for money. Great venue for family events.

  28. Peter f.
    Peter f.
    • 10 reviews
    9/10

    as good at is usually is when we dine there each week

  29. Debbie T.
    Debbie T.
    • 4 reviews
    9.75/10

    It’s close to home and we always get good service and great food.

  30. Robyn J.
    Robyn J.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Not enough simple entrees for people with diabetes Eg prawns, salmon etc Part of my crumbed cutlets were completely raw

  31. Peter f.
    Peter f.
    • 10 reviews
    9.25/10

    we dine at the club on Tuesdays most weeks and the service and quality is consistently good

  32. Peter f.
    Peter f.
    • 10 reviews
    8.75/10

    fast and efficient service

  33. Matt p.
    Matt p.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The service was top notch ??

  34. William M.
    William M.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    delays in getting some meals

  35. William M.
    William M.
    • 3 reviews
    8.75/10

    Always a good venue good mix of food items

  36. Vicki B.
    Vicki B.
    • 3 reviews
    5/10

    The restaurant let someone without a booking steak our table even though we arrived early. We had to sit in the sports bar area with football playing really loudly. It took about an hour to receive our meals. The food was quite nice.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    7.5/10

    Yummy food and good value.

  38. MARION S.
    MARION S.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    We had a get together consisting of 14 people and everyone enjoyed the evening. Look forward to the next visit.

  39. William M.
    William M.
    • 3 reviews
    8.25/10

    Good location for those living in the South, lots of food options and specials

  40. Peter f.
    Peter f.
    • 10 reviews
    8.75/10

    we are regular diners on a Tuesday night