Back

Reviews - Canteena

9.7/10

Excellent

based on 56 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Elise S.
    Elise S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food, service and value is excellent. Never had a bad experience at this venue. Highly recommend anything on the menu. Caters for Gluten Free customers also.

  2. Bob B.
    Bob B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Enjoyable light lunch. The staff are welcoming and helpful. The venue provides a pleasant environment to enjoy a couple of hours with friends. The menu is varied and balanced from which I can find plenty that I would Like to try

  3. Kris K.
    Kris K.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    I am a regular, and meet with a long time friend. The food is always great with new items to sample, and the trusty standard menu always provides tasty options. Staff are friendly and attentive.

  4. Gizelle F.
    Gizelle F.
    • one review
    10/10

    The service was timely and friendly. The food was excellent, the meals being a step up from the usual fare, and the ambience calm and comfortable. Highly recommended.

  5. Caroline A.
    Caroline A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely lovely! Excellent service, attentive but not overbearing. Very clean premises and he food was absolutely delicious. We will be back!

  6. Marsha E.
    Marsha E.
    • one review
    10/10

    A great place. We love it! Food is great, staff are welcoming and it is close to home. The chicken curry is my husband's favourite. Highly recommended!

  7. Ben M.
    Ben M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great meal with the highlight being the customer service - visiting the area for a special occasion and wanted somewhere nice with a good choice of food and we got what we asked for - the family that run the restaurant were super friendly with a real focus of making sure their customers were happy ...

    Canteena

    Thank you for reviewing Canteena. We are greatly thankful for your appreciation of the overall dining experience. Your positive comments have been shared with the team. We look forward to seeing you soon. Best Regards, Manager

  8. Peter B.
    Peter B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very pleasant atmosphere. Prompt service, and the quality of food was exceptional. If you are ever in the sleepy hollow of Gisborne, be sure to give these guys a try.

    Canteena

    Thank you for reviewing Canteena. We are greatly thankful for your appreciation of the overall dining experience. Your positive comments have been shared with the team. We look forward to seeing you soon. Best Regards, Manager

  9. Joe F.
    Joe F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Canteena has a lovely quiet atmosphere, efficient and friendly staff and delicious food. We had a thoroughly enjoyable lunch and will certainly return again.

    Canteena

    Thank you for reviewing Canteena. We are greatly thankful for your appreciation of the overall dining experience. Your positive comments have been shared with the team. We look forward to seeing you soon. Best Regards, Manager

  10. Curt L.
    Curt L.
    • 2 reviews
    5.5/10

    I have enjoyed meals at Canteena in the past. However this time I ordered the Pork Belly which I didn't enjoy at all. I like a crispy pork belly and this one was served with a soft chewy inedible skin. The bottom of one of the 4 large pieces was also overcooked and inedible.

    Canteena

    Thank you for reviewing Canteena. We are greatly thankful for your appreciation of the overall dining experience. Your positive comments have been shared with the team. We look forward to seeing you soon. Best Regards, Manager

  11. Tania A.
    Tania A.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We keep going back. Great food that is a bit different from other eateries. Just a nice place to sit, chat & eat! Very small wine menu. Would like to see local wines on wine list.

    Canteena

    Thank you for reviewing Canteena. We are greatly thankful for your appreciation of the overall dining experience. Your positive comments have been shared with the team. We look forward to seeing you soon. Best Regards, Manager

  12. Jackie H.
    Jackie H.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Best meal you can eat in Gisborne. Always a warm welcome and beautiful atmosphere.

    Canteena

    Thank you for reviewing Canteena. We are greatly thankful for your appreciation of the overall dining experience. Your positive comments have been shared with the team. We look forward to seeing you soon. Best Regards, Manager

  13. Jackie H.
    Jackie H.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Time and time again we continue to enjoy every meal, delicious food every time. Service is also outstanding, and atmosphere is relaxed and friendly.

  14. Jackie H.
    Jackie H.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Return customer who enjoys every meal 10/10 on service, atmosphere and food quality. We love this place so much, best place to eat in the Macedon Ranges.

  15. Jackie H.
    Jackie H.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Best place to eat in the Macedon Ranges by far

  16. Dean H.
    Dean H.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Best food in Gisborne by far.

    Canteena

    Thank you for reviewing Canteena. We are greatly thankful for your appreciation of the overall dining experience. Your positive comments have been shared with the team. We look forward to seeing you soon. Best Regards, Manager

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    9/10

    Great place return customer..... many times and great food every time.

  18. Dean H.
    Dean H.
    • 5 reviews
    9.75/10

    Delicious food and great service

  19. Dean H.
    Dean H.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious. We eat here weekly.

  20. Dean H.
    Dean H.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    The food was Delicious

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 280 reviews
    10/10

    My first time at Canteena, met up with two friends from the other side of Melbourne. We spent three hours there. Service was excellent, but unobtrusive. Plenty of choice in both food and drinks. Coffee excellent. Have already recommended to a friend, and definitely will be back.

  22. Dean H.
    Dean H.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    The food is absolutely delicious.

  23. Loraine N.
    Loraine N.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    A lovely place with good food and good service. Good value for money. Would definitely recommend!

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    8.5/10

    We have eaten at Canteena on a number of occasions and travel around 45 minutes to do so. The service is always great and the staff very personable.

  25. Clare T.
    Clare T.
    • 6 reviews
    9/10

    A wonderful, atmosphere & with the soundproofed walls there's no need to shout. The place is spotless, modern & friendly. The menu is modern Australian & generous. I ordered the pork belly which I hardly ever eat because it's never done right...here, it was fantastic. Family run & service is great.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    8.75/10

    Friendly, lively atmosphere and prompt service.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    7.5/10

    Great staff and very obliging

  28. Peter P.
    Peter P.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Not a huge menu, but what’s there is done very nicely. Service is correct, and not overly priced. Overall enjoyed our meal very much

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8/10

    The restaurant lent itself to a very pleasant evening with friends. The background chatter and music wasn't loud so it was easy to converse across the table. The Black Angus steaks were expertly cooked to our liking

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    9/10

    Fabulous service and delicious foods

  31. Karen B.
    Karen B.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Lovely, genuine family run restaurant.

  32. Duncan G.
    Duncan G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Perfect place for a quiet beautiful meal. Friendly accommodating staff and respectfully quiet patrons.

  33. Lesleigh M.
    Lesleigh M.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Great food, reasonable prices and friendly atmosphere. Would eat there again.

  34. Carla M.
    Carla M.
    • one review
    8/10

    Beautiful food for 2 adults and 3 kids, very friendly hosts and attentive service, well presented restaurant, atmosphere was just that there werent many people there which was good for us, meals delivered swiftly.

  35. Jo B.
    Jo B.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    The curry was define.

  36. Warren B.
    Warren B.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Quality food and unique menu cut above the rest by far and still comparative on price.

  37. Peter D.
    Peter D.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great restaurant. This is our third visit.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    9/10

    Delicious meal, pleasant atmosphere, attentive service. What more could one ask for?