Back

Reviews Cargo Bar

7/10

based on 128 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Nina M.
    Nina M.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    Service was good and food was delivered in a relatively short time.

  2. Charmaine P.
    Charmaine P.
    • 14 reviews
    7.5/10

    There was a $10 steak lunch special which seemed to be the most popular choice for diners. I’m a vegetarian so couldn’t take advantage of the special and there was no vegetarian option offered in its place.

  3. Ledley T.
    Ledley T.
    • one review
    6/10

    Disappointed in that assigned a seating area in lounge which was spacious and overlooking the harbour but limited to ordering only starters and pizzas in this area where downstairs full main available. I wasn’t asked where I would like to sit. Although staff friendly their communication skill was lacking as their English comprehension was poor and unable to answer queries about menu options. Won’t be back

  4. Karen J.
    Karen J.
    • one review
    4/10

    Entree great, bar staff great, waiters amateurs, terrible for melbourne cup, no atmosphere, no sweeps, main meal terrible, wouldn't go back, i was there with 5 other people and they all felt the same

  5. Luke D.
    Luke D.
    • one review
    9/10

    Thanks for the great and friendly service. I feel there could've been 1 more bar tender as you had to wait a while sometimes. But other than that great.

  6. Andrie P.
    Andrie P.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Cargo bar appeared to be closed on arrival. After walking around we found Cargo cafe open on the waterfront.

  7. Michelle F.
    Michelle F.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Great location and the staff were great.

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    7.25/10

    Cargo was great

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8.5/10

    We pre-booked our table so it was easy to find seat at lunch time. it wasn't so packed so we ordered and got our food pretty quickly. The food was good and my family loved it. the open view setting is a bit refreshing plus the perfect weather.

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    7.5/10

    good week night specials

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    9.25/10

    Loved the igloo!

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    9/10

    great lunch meal deal

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 233 reviews
    8.25/10

    We went as we had seen the promotions for the igloos and were keen to experience it. To be completely honest, the igloos were really a novelty at most, and it was strange that there was a mix of chairs in them (some being stools and so weren’t as comfortable). However, the service was super friendly and accommodating and the food was decent. The warm winter cocktails were average in our opinion but it was still a great experience with the blowtorch to toast the marshmallows.

  14. Josh H.
    Josh H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Caroline provided with fantastic service, you all were very accommodating to us and my friends who had a disability. Overall, the entire night was perfect because of you guys! Thank you :)

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    9.25/10

    Went there for a birthday party and the service was amazing

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    7.75/10

    A good venue. A bit cold in winter. Seems to be a problem with the large ceiling heating system resulting in the stag using mobile gas heaters. Otherwise completely fine for drinks and snacks

  17. Nia  K.
    Nia K.
    • 3 reviews
    9.25/10

    Very good food and atmosphere, the igloo dining is a must try!

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    10/10

    A few friends and I went to tired their Igloo experience. We had a lot of fun and the warm cocktails were great! Food and service was amazing!

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great vibe, fab location & awesome music

  20. Schubert G.
    Schubert G.
    • 43 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great views.

  21. Anita C.
    Anita C.
    • 32 reviews
    7.75/10

    The pop up igloos were a fun experience. The host, Caroline (apologies if I’ve spelt the name incorrectly), was super friendly and attentive, thank you!

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    3.75/10

    Booked the igloo, service was really slow. There was not table service throughout so what are we really paying for? Hot cocktails weren’t available for the entire evening.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 301 reviews
    6.5/10

    We were charged $2 extra for the sauce for the chips. but it was free. The steak were cooked twice until the third plate... The staff is kind to ask the kitchen to redo the steak which was appreciated

  24. Foram P.
    Foram P.
    • one review
    10/10

    It was one of the best Lunch Experience we had! Lunch in the igloo with yummiest hot cocktails! In spite of bad weather, raining cats n dogs. We had so much fun only because of the excellent service and great food we got. Helda was the girl who served us n she was the best!

  25. Mark M.
    Mark M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very relaxed bar, good vibe. Hostess was excellent

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great joint for happy hour drinks and $10 steak!

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    7/10

    We headed down to Cargo for the Igloos and we weren't disappointed! $25 pp gives you a 2 hour seat in an igloo, choice of hot cocktails in a flask and an awesome sharing platter. Perfect for vivid, perfect for getting among it whilst having a catch up. Few kinks to iron out in the organisation of it but we went on the 2nd night so that's to be expected - staff were accommodating and we will deffo recommend!

  28. Michael A.
    Michael A.
    • one review
    0/10

    Can’t really comment as we booked a table for 7.30 after our vivid cruise but was refused entry because we had 2 minors (children) with us. Does not say anywhere on web site that minors, accompanied by adults, are not allowed after 6pm. Also nothing mentioned or signaged at resteraunt. Not family friendly. Did have pre cruise drinks there and for a beer a wine and a coke was charged $26 the first time then 30 minutes later was charged $28. Queried the difference and told the first time I must have been under charged. No where is there a drinks price list so they can charge what they like. Wouldn’t go there if it was free.

  29. Melissa P.
    Melissa P.
    • one review
    0/10

    A little disappointed with the service. We were running a little late to the 9pm booking for a hens night of 19 people ! we were running late due to a car accident which pushed our dinner booking back a little. We were told our table at cargo bar is going to be given away and that they cant do anything about it. We went to watershed instead. Even though it was last minute they were so accommodating and took us in with opening arms. They really welcomed us and made the bride to be feel special. I have my own hens coming up in 3 months. A group 30 people. We were gonna come to cargo bar. Unfortunately due to the lack of service and inconsideration of the unforeseen events that occurred to us on saturday we will not be coming to the cargo for my hens in a couple of months time. My other friend whos hens in in 3 weeks wanted to have her event at cargo bar as well. She said she is definitely not coming to your venue.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    8/10

    Great value for weekday $10 steak! Great igloos for vivid too! Was very busy when we went so took a long time to get served. Apart from that all was good.

  31. Natasha g.
    Natasha g.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Great 10 dollar steak special!

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    10/10

    Will definitely be back

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    7.75/10

    I ordered a AUD 10 steak, gravey source and fries. Good!

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    6/10

    Had the $10 lunch steak special. It wasn't as good as my previous visit a couple of months ago - slightly dry, cooked to medium instead of medium rare. But for $10, it was decent enough. Plenty of outdoor seating but be careful of the swooping gulls. They can be quite aggressive with snatching food.

  35. Mark G.
    Mark G.
    • 5 reviews
    7/10

    Great for large groups and dining outside with a view. The food is great but not always consistent. Great for daily specials as well. Some had the steak and they all asked for medium rare but some were made to order whilst others were fully well done and dry.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great $10 steak specials monday - thursday!

  37. Probal D.
    Probal D.
    • 5 reviews
    7.5/10

    Was quite disappointed that the special $10 steak advertised so prominently was sold out by 12:15. Suspect that it is more of a lure to bring in weekday lunches and then forcing people to pay double that.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    7.75/10

    $10 rump steak is a good deal. Food is good

  39. Roman T.
    Roman T.
    • 9 reviews
    3.5/10

    The food was really average. My linguini was just mush, with tiny, over cooked prawns. All meals looked about the same standard. Nice setting for drinks, but eat elsewhere. Also the device at the bar was extremely slow.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    10/10

    We had a great lunch at cargo