Back

Reviews Chalkboard Cafe

8.3/10

Very good

based on 185 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Diana L.
    Diana L.
    • 18 reviews
    6/10

    Simple menu

  2. M C.
    M C.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Chalkboard cafe is always my favourite cafe, nice coffee & smoked salmon Mediterranean salad is highly recommended, especially today with 50% discount

  3. Nicholas O.
    Nicholas O.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Really sweet staff creating a nice and open enviroment. Informative without being rude and the rude was well balanced without leaving anything out.

  4. Helena L.
    Helena L.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    The staff here were fantastic, but through no fault of them, my booking was not on their system, even though I had confirmation emails sent to me via The Fork. Upon seeing my confirmation email they honoured the 50% deal, but it was not fair for them that they had never received any notice of my booking.

  5. Kevin J.
    Kevin J.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    Always enjoy our brekky here, today was rather busy, it took around 15mins for food , not great in the morning at brekky time. Food was good and waitress was very pleasant, however, no apology for delay?

  6. Ellys S.
    Ellys S.
    • 4 reviews
    7.5/10

    Very good food. The service can be improved, they seems to be a bit confused about our order but the food came all right. Very close to Gordon train station and there are parking nearby.

  7. Ross H.
    Ross H.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    A busy cafe which can be a bit noisy however the generous and fresh meals and the very pleasant wait staff make a trip to the Chalkboard Cafe a very positive experience. You'll find a nice range of salads and burgers and an extensive and interesting breakfast menu. Definitely worth trying.

  8. Kevin J.
    Kevin J.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great foid & friendly service

  9. Kevin J.
    Kevin J.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great food & service. A happy place for food & drinks.- plenty to choose from menu. Convenient location, enough seating. Good prices & availability.

  10. Darren f.
    Darren f.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly staff, tasty food, only criticism is that the coffee that I had could be slightly improved (which I am sure it will), a great addition to the neighbourhood and to The Fork.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    8.5/10

    nice neighborhood gem with good range of dishes

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic all round

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    8.75/10

    nice place with good food and selection of dishes

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    8.25/10

    Service was good. Staff were friendly. Great portion sizes so good value for money (especially with discount offer)!

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    9/10

    Had lovely lunch with girlfriends. The food is tasty, Generous portion .

  16. Karen S.
    Karen S.
    • 31 reviews
    8.25/10

    Tasty food and very large portions. Everything was delicious. Great location for a quick lunch.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    10/10

    There are many choices for vegetarians! Loved Mediterranean salad. I will be back sometime soon!!

  18. Nivedita V.
    Nivedita V.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    My niece and I had lunch at the Chalkboard Cafe. We especially enjoyed the meditarian salad. All of the food was cooked to perfection. I am allergic to eggs so the staff took extra effort to find the right dishes for me. I was impressed by the service and the atmosphere at the Chalkboard Cafe. The experience at the Chalkboard Cafe was authentic. I will most definitely visit the Chalkboard Cafe again very soon.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 299 reviews
    7.5/10

    southern fried chicken burger had 5 small pieces of fried chicken like chicken popcorn. It was not southern fried style and could barely taste the chicken. Coffee was good but would not go back for food

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    6.75/10

    The menu on the website is significantly different from the one offered in the restaurant. The quality and tases of dishes has changed to a less satisfactory level.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 299 reviews
    9/10

    Great food and service !

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 245 reviews
    6.75/10

    The vibe was nice inside. However, the food was just okay.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 245 reviews
    7.75/10

    Had the Chalkboard curry, very unusual ingredients combinations which I'm not sure they work together, but it is generous in size and proportion.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    5.5/10

    the food was average, it's a nice little cafe in Gordon, good for a quick bite

  25. Yulei Y.
    Yulei Y.
    • 7 reviews
    7.75/10

    Service and food are very good. But food is serviced quite slow. Poor girls tried their best to serve large crowd of people. Suggest the boss can hire more people both outside serving and inside cooking the kitchen. Anyway, love your food and service.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely breakfast

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    8.25/10

    The service is a bit slow! The coffee and Omelete are really nice.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8/10

    Tasty brunch, but not cheap

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 294 reviews
    8/10

    Our third time returning to this place! Their pasta is our favourite!

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 292 reviews
    5.75/10

    The service is good but the food is average

  31. Ankita Z.
    Ankita Z.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The service was excellent and the food was incredible! A lot of veggie options for us :D

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    8.75/10

    Breakkie is good especially the gyoza brekkie , didn’t get it from other cafe.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great service and great value with 50% off deal.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    7/10

    Good cafe in the neighbourhood. Fast service.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 254 reviews
    9.25/10

    Always love their food and service.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 254 reviews
    8/10

    The Mediterranean salad I had this time is not as good as the Ponzu salad before....should have stick to the manager's recommendation.

  37. Elizabeth W.
    Elizabeth W.
    • 19 reviews
    10/10

    Being my first visit, I was highly impressed with the ambience and warm welcome by staff and the owner. I have always driven past but never thought to go in but it is a gem - the decor, music, friendly staff and food are well worth making this cafe a regular local favourite. The food was great - the eggs benedict, the paella, lychee frappe, dessert slice (gluten free - date based?). Their incredible cold brew (chilled coffee) is a must and it was served in such a lovely way with its beautiful presentation. I am so glad I decided to try it - is so refreshing. This cafe has an amazing atmosphere and its staff create this along with the decor - it reminded me of the great moody cafes of the 80s and it was a treat to have a cafe without the blaring thumping music. Their music complements the dining experience. I highly recommend this cafe!

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    8/10

    Staff was friendly, coffee and food both tasted good. Kids menu available. We enjoyed our brunch.

  39. Valerie l.
    Valerie l.
    • 6 reviews
    8.25/10

    Really friendly service, and great value. Good size servings, reasonably priced, and great food

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    6/10

    Food on menu was actually different to menu shown on website. We arrived at 12pm for our booking (we went there for the 50%off discount). It was very full already, I guess a lot of people came here for the deal. The food and coffee were ok but I wouldn’t come back if there were no discounts.