255 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

7.4
255 reviews
Recommended
(7.2)
Food
(7.4)
Service
(7.9)
Value for money
(6.3)
Atmosphere
(8.4)
Peter Allan

dined on Tue, 13 Feb 2018

(9)
Excellent top class experience. Top food and fantastic wine list. Top staff and Service! Well done as always!
Thanks for the terrific review Peter. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us at Char. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Boutique Venues Group for and on behalf of Char Restaurant ‘Old Admiralty House’ Darwin responded on Wed, 14 Feb 2018
rob

dined on Sat, 10 Feb 2018

(7)
one of the better restaurants of Darwin
Hi Rob, thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback of your dining experience with us at Char Restaurant in Darwin. I note you review and also your number rating. In order to ensure we consistently provide and deliver the best we can in all facets of our restaurant, we value feedback from our diners (be it positive or negative) as a guage of our offering. In this instance, given the number rating you suggest, receiving some more detailed feedback is valuable to us. Therefore if you do have the time, please email me some more detailed specifics of your dining experience to (chris@bv.net.au) sop that we can pass your feedback on to the team in Darwin. Cheers
Boutique Venues Group, for and on behalf of Char Restaurant in Darwin. responded on Sun, 11 Feb 2018

dined on Sat, 10 Feb 2018

(10)
Everything was amazing, only down side was their choice in music. It was more like what you’d listen to if getting ready for a club
Thanks taking the time to provide feedback of your dining experience with us Allison. Unless we receive consistent detailed feedback we are often unsure of where we can improve. We will be sure to pass this feedback on to Management to consider the music being played in the venue, as having the correct ambience is equally important as decor, service and food, as a complete dining experience.
Boutique Venues Group, for and on behalf of Char Restaurant Darwin responded on Sun, 11 Feb 2018

dined on Sat, 3 Feb 2018

(10)
Perfect evening

dined on Sat, 3 Feb 2018

(10)
I don’t want to be picky but $17 for a glass of red wine that wasn’t filled up beyond the curve of the glass was a bit steep. Other than that awesome dining experience

dined on Sat, 3 Feb 2018

(9)
Beautiful meal! The entrees were almost as big as the main course. Steak was perfectly cooked and side dishes delicious. Will definitely come again!
Thanks for the great feedback Sharee. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Boutique Venues Group Pty Ltd for and on behalf of Char Restaurant ‘Old Admiralty House’ Darwin responded on Sun, 4 Feb 2018

dined on Fri, 2 Feb 2018

(8)
Lovely venue with great food!

dined on Mon, 29 Jan 2018

(7)
Quiet night due to the weather, but very enjoyable.

dined on Wed, 24 Jan 2018

(7)
The steak was cooked perfectly and the mash was made well also. I also liked the brocolini, however there were many things about the meal I didn't like. The sauce that was under our steak, my daughter & I didn't think much of that. There were a few flavours amongst the food we didn't like too much, still everybody has different tastes and a couple of things didn't do it for us... The wine menu was impressive and beautiful friendly staff. Overpriced but still it was a lovely night.

dined on Sat, 13 Jan 2018

(7)
Good food but over priced .
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

About Char Restaurant

Nice to meat you... Be it an intimate meal for two, a formal business lunch or a night out with friends, Char Restaurant is the place to be seen. This unique and contemporary venue is truly one of a kind, delivering fresh local produce and innovative cuisine coupled with exceptional service and style. The restaurant itself is set in the grounds of the beautiful Admiralty House making it a stunning tranquil location for all occasions. The obvious thing to order is steak or seafood - both are prepared and presented to absolute perfection - chosen by esteemed restaurateur John Kilroy. Although the a la carte menu is very enticing desserts are also worth saving room for… there’s chocolate indulgence, creme brulee, banoffee pie plus a selection of cheeses! Best dish: steak of course !

Features

New

Char Restaurant Address

Google Map