272 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

7.5
272 reviews
Recommended
(7.3)
Food
(7.5)
Service
(8.0)
Value for money
(6.3)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Fri, 8 Dec 2017

(8)
Great food, great service, great night!
Jacqueline

dined on Thu, 23 Nov 2017

(9)
We had mostly seafood dishes because we are not big steak eaters - overall we had 3 entrees and 1 mains for two of us and we were practically rolling out of there because there was so much to eat. For entrees, we ordered the crab lasagne, fish tacos and pan seared scallops with crispy pork belly. They were all delicious, although we thought the sauce accompanying the lasagne was a bit salty and the fat on the pork belly was thicker than I prefer it to be. For mains, we had the oven baked whole fish with lemon and garlic butter. The fish was beautifully cooked and it was very tasty. There was no room for desserts but we are sure that we will be back again.

dined on Wed, 22 Nov 2017

(7)
very noisy and lighting not consistent

dined on Sat, 18 Nov 2017

(8)
Great meal and service was great apart from them forgetting my starter! Dropped service from a 10.

dined on Sun, 22 Oct 2017

(9)
Loved every bite. Great food that lived up to the expectation of one of Darwin's premier restaurants. My only complaint is that I (table of one) ordered 2 entrees and they both arrived at the same time. Just a timing issue.

dined on Fri, 20 Oct 2017

(10)
Great steaks and good wine. My go to restaurant in Darwin.

dined on Mon, 9 Oct 2017

(9)
Lovely dinner, chocolate pyramid desert was a bit disappointing but apart from that, everything else was delicious!
Karen

dined on Fri, 29 Sep 2017

(10)
Delicious steaks, great atmosphere and fantastic wine list! One of Darwin's top restaurants!

dined on Mon, 18 Sep 2017

(5)
Whilst the food was generally good, the service left a lot to be desired for. The service was slow and there was quite a bit of confusion between the waiters on what we had/hadn't ordered. It was lovely sitting outside and I would recommend a table outside for anyone eating there.
Nadine

dined on Sun, 10 Sep 2017

(8)
Always good food and service, very pricey however
page: 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

About Char Restaurant

Nice to meat you... Be it an intimate meal for two, a formal business lunch or a night out with friends, Char Restaurant is the place to be seen. This unique and contemporary venue is truly one of a kind, delivering fresh local produce and innovative cuisine coupled with exceptional service and style. The restaurant itself is set in the grounds of the beautiful Admiralty House making it a stunning tranquil location for all occasions. The obvious thing to order is steak or seafood - both are prepared and presented to absolute perfection - chosen by esteemed restaurateur John Kilroy. Although the a la carte menu is very enticing desserts are also worth saving room for… there’s chocolate indulgence, creme brulee, banoffee pie plus a selection of cheeses! Best dish: steak of course !

Features

New

Char Restaurant Address

Google Map