243 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

7.4
243 reviews
Recommended
(7.2)
Food
(7.4)
Service
(7.8)
Value for money
(6.2)
Atmosphere
(8.3)

dined on Thu, 10 Aug 2017

(9)
Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere

dined on Wed, 9 Aug 2017

(0)
We were really disappointed with the service. Our order was either forgotten or slow to come out and elements were cold on the plate. When we went to pay the manager did not even bother to apologize to us as he was too busy in the kitchen!

dined on Sat, 5 Aug 2017

(2)
Unfortunately the restaurant was very busy. After arriving 15 minutes early, we were directed to the bar to await our table. After 45minutes we inquired about our table again and 5 minutes later were taken to it. We were offered water and ordered drinks. 25 minutes later, the table beside us was asked to order their meal, they asked where there drinks were and had been seated before us. Given the delays, we had no confidence of receiving a satisfactory level of service, especially if spending between $50 and $74 for a steak.

dined on Fri, 4 Aug 2017

(6)
Food is excellent although very overpriced, service is close to appalling, especially given the cost. This is a common theme, not just a one off. Please sort it out people!

dined on Fri, 4 Aug 2017

(7)
Pleasant dining

dined on Sat, 29 Jul 2017

(5)
Very over priced, we've had better steaks at you local pub

dined on Sat, 29 Jul 2017

(8)
Service, food was very good and the location great but your wine pricing is absurd and my wife paid $75 for a steak and had to pay extra for the sauce, salad and french fries, c'mon guys this is excessive pricing.

dined on Mon, 24 Jul 2017

(4)
We were disappointed in this restauarant. it was nice sitting outside but: - when we arrived the manager asked the waitress to our table and she walked in the opposite direction (to our bemusement); - when we arrived at the table the coolers for wine still contained the last diners drinks; - many of the glasses of wine on the menu had run out (though this restaurant has apparently won wine list awards); - the steak was fine but nothing amazing. Although it was pleasant sitting outside for the prices that were were expected to pay (over $50 for any steak), I really didn't think that the price reflected the experience.

dined on Sat, 22 Jul 2017

(10)
We found the entree dishes would be best recommended to be shared, as they are very big. We both had an entree and found we did not need to order a main, we ordered another entree to share. Beautiful restaurant, have already recommended to a friend traveling to Farwin next week.

dined on Sat, 22 Jul 2017

(2)
They can't cook. The experience was a huge disappointment. They obviously take absolutely no notice of the diner feedback. So many reviewers have the same experience. They don't listen.
page: 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

About Char Restaurant

Nice to meat you... Be it an intimate meal for two, a formal business lunch or a night out with friends, Char Restaurant is the place to be seen. This unique and contemporary venue is truly one of a kind, delivering fresh local produce and innovative cuisine coupled with exceptional service and style. The restaurant itself is set in the grounds of the beautiful Admiralty House making it a stunning tranquil location for all occasions. The obvious thing to order is steak or seafood - both are prepared and presented to absolute perfection - chosen by esteemed restaurateur John Kilroy. Although the a la carte menu is very enticing desserts are also worth saving room for… there’s chocolate indulgence, creme brulee, banoffee pie plus a selection of cheeses! Best dish: steak of course !

Char Restaurant Address

Google Map