268 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

7.5
268 reviews
Recommended
(7.2)
Food
(7.5)
Service
(7.9)
Value for money
(6.3)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Sat, 31 Aug 2019

(9)
Wonderful dining experience with a beautiful sunset and delicious food!
Ingrid, what better review could we ask for? Thank you so much for visiting us, we are delighted you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Char Restaurant Darwin in the not too distant future.
Restaurant Char Restaurant responded on Thu, 5 Sep 2019

dined on Fri, 30 Aug 2019

(5)
Char was highly recommend to us by good friends. Unfortunately, out experience was not that great. While the steak was excellent, the ravioli was over- salted and the 2 X risottos were cold and had to be returned to be re-done. While the waitstaff were outwardly friendly, they were rather supercilious in their attitude. We also told them when booking that we were there for a special occasion and this was ignored. This is not a cheap restaurant and we specifically chose Char on recommendation to celebrate a special occasion and that it did not live up to its promise is disappointing.

dined on Fri, 30 Aug 2019

(10)
Nicholas's service was outstanding. He was very professional friendly and efficient. The fish of the day was superb, beautifully presented and delicious. The recommended wine complimented this gorgeous meal. great ambience .
We are delighted that you have enjoyed the food and service including the wine pairing. We will certainly pass on your comments to Nicolas. Many thanks for completing this survey.
Restaurant Char Restaurant responded on Thu, 5 Sep 2019

dined on Fri, 23 Aug 2019

(4)
Food proportions were scant, too much mayonnaise on the king prawn salad. Generally disappointing

dined on Mon, 12 Aug 2019

(9)
Food was lovely but very small servings. $28 for a scallop starter and you only got 3! The setting was beautiful and it truly is the most magnificent outdoor dining experience you can get in Darwin; however, for the price you pay I’d expect the wait staff to feel more relaxed and spend time with you discussing dishes etc. The French guy that served me was in that much of a rush every time he filled my glass up he’d spill either my Prosecco or water on the table and then run off. It’s not really an enjoyable evening if you’re put on edge every time he comes near! You’d probably get better service somewhere much cheaper because this isn’t acceptable when spending over $100pp!

dined on Sat, 10 Aug 2019

(10)
Great atmosphere, book an outside table.
Many thanks for reviewing our Restaurant. We agree, at this type of year (Dry Season) its especially nice to dine outdoors in Darwin. We suggest an outdoor table in the 30's, 40's or 50's sections are our 'poll position' and to be booked early.
Restaurant Char Restaurant responded on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
Stephen Maxwell

dined on Sat, 10 Aug 2019

(7)
Nice to see 2 Sparkling Shiraz options
Thank you for your kind comment regarding our wine selection. We look forward to welcoming you back to Char Darwin in the future to enjoy another sparkling Shiraz.
Restaurant Char Restaurant responded on Mon, 12 Aug 2019

dined on Wed, 7 Aug 2019

(6)
A beautiful location with professional service and nicely presented food. However, for the price, the food was quite underwhelming. The scallop entree did not work with vanilla (though they scallops were cooked beautifully), the octopus with warm potato salad was not warm at all - again, cooked beatifully but lacked flavour. The steaks were flavoursome and cooked to perfection but the accompanying dauphinoise tasted like pure nutmeg and the red wine jus was runny and bland. It was OK - but honestly, The Cav & Telegraph (Mantra) offer better value, size and flavour.
We were sorry to read your review of your recent dining experience with us but also appreciated the positives you highlighted from the night. In an effort to improve our services we recently changed the A' La Carte menu and have been having some level of success with the new version from regular diners. However, we are still tweaking aspects of this, still experimenting as to what works consistently and as is evident with your useful thoughts in the review, we still need to try harder. Many thanks for your feedback.
Restaurant Char Restaurant responded on Mon, 12 Aug 2019

dined on Sun, 4 Aug 2019

(9)
Overall very satisfied
Many thanks for your positive review. Its only through processes like this (good & bad) that we get to evaluate our F & B services. We look forward to to you joining us again next time. Best regards, Char Restaurant
Restaurant Char Restaurant responded on Mon, 12 Aug 2019

dined on Sun, 28 Jul 2019

(8)
This time a very nice menue list! Special dishes!
Thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again.
Restaurant Char Restaurant responded on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Char Restaurant

Nice to meat you... Be it an intimate meal for two, a formal business lunch or a night out with friends, Char Restaurant is the place to be seen. This unique and contemporary venue is truly one of a kind, delivering fresh local produce and innovative cuisine coupled with exceptional service and style. The restaurant itself is set in the grounds of the beautiful Admiralty House making it a stunning tranquil location for all occasions. The obvious thing to order is steak or seafood - both are prepared and presented to absolute perfection - chosen by esteemed restaurateur John Kilroy. Although the a la carte menu is very enticing desserts are also worth saving room for… there’s chocolate indulgence, creme brulee, banoffee pie plus a selection of cheeses! Best dish: steak of course !

Features

New

Char Restaurant Address

Google Map