242 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

7.6
242 reviews
Recommended
(7.5)
Food
(7.7)
Service
(7.8)
Value for money
(6.4)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Fri, 14 Dec 2018

(9)
Our daughter recommended this restaurant as she is a resident of Darwin and we are only visiting. Overall I think the food and atmosphere was great, as was the service. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.
Thank you for your review, Marilyn! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Darwin.
Admin responded on Wed, 23 Jan 2019

dined on Fri, 30 Nov 2018

(10)
The steaks are to die for. End of story. Melts in your mouth. Must go if you like good meat.
Thank you for your great review, Greg. We agree that our steaks are something special! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Admin responded on Wed, 23 Jan 2019

dined on Thu, 22 Nov 2018

(9)
Service very friendly. Food great!

dined on Tue, 13 Nov 2018

(9)
A great spot to dine in Darwin

dined on Mon, 12 Nov 2018

(10)
Friendly service. Would recommend.

dined on Mon, 29 Oct 2018

(4)
Food was outstanding. However, we were dinning with 4 in total and each of our drinks orders got stuffed up. There was a group of gentlemen that came in and they were loud and swearing and management did not ask them to quiet down. Took away the aspect of “fine dinning”.

dined on Mon, 29 Oct 2018

(7)
Drinks service very poor considering it is an expensive restaurant.

dined on Sun, 21 Oct 2018

(8)
Great steak but very dry ribs that my wife could not eat. No offer for replacement or to be removed from the bill.

dined on Mon, 15 Oct 2018

(5)
The food that we had was good but the communication from the staff was terrible. We ordered our main food and they came back 40minutes later to tell us they didn’t have what we wanted , not sure who was at fault but luckily we had some starters so we weren’t hungry. We ended up leaving with no main ☹️

dined on Sat, 13 Oct 2018

(7)
Manager most accommodating when due to unforeseen travel schedules we had to change reservations Very helpful friendly service and light uncomplicated fare
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Char Restaurant

Nice to meat you... Be it an intimate meal for two, a formal business lunch or a night out with friends, Char Restaurant is the place to be seen. This unique and contemporary venue is truly one of a kind, delivering fresh local produce and innovative cuisine coupled with exceptional service and style. The restaurant itself is set in the grounds of the beautiful Admiralty House making it a stunning tranquil location for all occasions. The obvious thing to order is steak or seafood - both are prepared and presented to absolute perfection - chosen by esteemed restaurateur John Kilroy. Although the a la carte menu is very enticing desserts are also worth saving room for… there’s chocolate indulgence, creme brulee, banoffee pie plus a selection of cheeses! Best dish: steak of course !

Char Restaurant Address

Google Map