255 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

7.4
255 reviews
Recommended
(7.2)
Food
(7.4)
Service
(7.9)
Value for money
(6.3)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Sun, 21 Oct 2018

(8)
Great steak but very dry ribs that my wife could not eat. No offer for replacement or to be removed from the bill.

dined on Mon, 15 Oct 2018

(5)
The food that we had was good but the communication from the staff was terrible. We ordered our main food and they came back 40minutes later to tell us they didn’t have what we wanted , not sure who was at fault but luckily we had some starters so we weren’t hungry. We ended up leaving with no main ☹️

dined on Sat, 13 Oct 2018

(7)
Manager most accommodating when due to unforeseen travel schedules we had to change reservations Very helpful friendly service and light uncomplicated fare

dined on Sat, 13 Oct 2018

(3)
Food was disappointing - one dish (ribs) was served with the meat cold at the centre. My steak was over cooked. Chips were too oily and over cooked. Sautéed greens were too oily and hardly any actual greens. Sticky date pudding was dry. Service was... awkward - on arrival the lady that greeted us (an older lady) had a go at my dad (whose birthday we were celebrating) for not being more energetic when he said hello. I found that strange and he was really irritated by that. As we were shown to our seats she felt it appropriate to call out to my dad “hope the night gets better”. Our night was great before our interaction with this staff member. This was a really disappointing experience, particularly given the amount of money we spent. Won’t be returning any time soon, if ever.

dined on Sat, 6 Oct 2018

(3)
Way too expensive. Food was below average both quality and quantity and staff not very friendly. The price they are charging they should give extraordinary food to justify. It used to be one of my favorite restaurants in Darwin but not anymore. I will never go back there.
Catherine

dined on Fri, 5 Oct 2018

(10)
Great wine list and fresh seafood.

dined on Fri, 5 Oct 2018

(5)
Pleasant food but poor value for money
Hi thanks for your feedback. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback directly. Please make contact via email (chris@bv.net.au).
BVG for and on behalf of Char Restaurant responded on Mon, 8 Oct 2018

dined on Sat, 29 Sep 2018

(10)
Excellent venue and service

dined on Sat, 29 Sep 2018

(10)
Enjoyable food and great service but could use a better selection of dishes other than steak and fish
Good morning, thank you for your feedback. We are always working with the Group Exec Chef and the team in Darwin to improve our offering and have taken this feedback on board.
Boutique Venues Group Pty Ltd, for and on behalf of Char restaurant responded on Mon, 1 Oct 2018

dined on Tue, 25 Sep 2018

(9)
Staff were amazing and friendly. The every mouthful of the food was a wonderful experience. The Moreton Bay Bug pasta is one of the best pastas I have ever had the pleasure of eating!!
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Char Restaurant

Nice to meat you... Be it an intimate meal for two, a formal business lunch or a night out with friends, Char Restaurant is the place to be seen. This unique and contemporary venue is truly one of a kind, delivering fresh local produce and innovative cuisine coupled with exceptional service and style. The restaurant itself is set in the grounds of the beautiful Admiralty House making it a stunning tranquil location for all occasions. The obvious thing to order is steak or seafood - both are prepared and presented to absolute perfection - chosen by esteemed restaurateur John Kilroy. Although the a la carte menu is very enticing desserts are also worth saving room for… there’s chocolate indulgence, creme brulee, banoffee pie plus a selection of cheeses! Best dish: steak of course !

Features

New

Char Restaurant Address

Google Map