240 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

7.6
240 reviews
Recommended
(7.5)
Food
(7.7)
Service
(7.8)
Value for money
(6.4)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Sat, 16 Jun 2018

(9)
very enjoyable evening

dined on Fri, 1 Jun 2018

(8)
Battered fish greasy

dined on Thu, 31 May 2018

(10)
Amazing food and great atmosphere. Really love visiting Char when in Darwin.

dined on Thu, 31 May 2018

(4)
just terrible from the get go. Was meant to be a special evening for our daughter's 13th birthday but bad service, delayed and both overcooked/cold food after a 2-hour wait and to be surrounded by loud drunken old men it was nothing short of a disaster. Times like this sorry is not enough but we didn't even really receive that! A total disappoint that will see me never return there again
Good morning Kellie, thank you for taking the time to review and provide your feedback. We appreciate all forms of feedback and in this case, disappointed to read that you were far from happy with your experience. In my capacity in a Head Office role i attempt to make contact with all reviewers be it positive or negative. In this case, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience in more detail personally with you and identify where the experience could have been improved. I can be contacted directly via email (chris@bv.net.au) or mobile phone (0414769669) and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss further.
Boutique Venues Group Pty Ltd, for and on behalf of Char Restaurant Darwin responded on Wed, 6 Jun 2018

dined on Tue, 29 May 2018

(7)
The ricott gnocchi was delicious. Beautiful outdoor area. But it took 1hour to receive our mains, on a weeknight. Very frustrating for "fine dining" cost.

dined on Tue, 29 May 2018

(9)
Food, service and atmosphere was beautiful. Additional charge for sauce, sides, etc made the steak dinners quite expensive.

dined on Fri, 25 May 2018

(8)
Good food, more steak restaurant and could have a little more choice on seafood choices
javier RODRIGUEZ AGUDELO

dined on Sat, 12 May 2018

(9)
Good Service, good service

dined on Fri, 6 Apr 2018

(10)
We enjoyed the the delicious food and in particular the great service provided by Kelly and Dylan. We were keen to try the two way fish dish that unfortunately was no longer on the menu. Kelly spoke to the chef and arranged for a similar dish to be prepared which was absolutely delicious. We had Dylan looking looking after us throughout the meal with great advice on the selection of wine and very attentive service.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Char Restaurant

Nice to meat you... Be it an intimate meal for two, a formal business lunch or a night out with friends, Char Restaurant is the place to be seen. This unique and contemporary venue is truly one of a kind, delivering fresh local produce and innovative cuisine coupled with exceptional service and style. The restaurant itself is set in the grounds of the beautiful Admiralty House making it a stunning tranquil location for all occasions. The obvious thing to order is steak or seafood - both are prepared and presented to absolute perfection - chosen by esteemed restaurateur John Kilroy. Although the a la carte menu is very enticing desserts are also worth saving room for… there’s chocolate indulgence, creme brulee, banoffee pie plus a selection of cheeses! Best dish: steak of course !

Char Restaurant Address

Google Map