256 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

7.4
256 reviews
Recommended
(7.2)
Food
(7.4)
Service
(7.9)
Value for money
(6.3)
Atmosphere
(8.4)
Kate Watchorn

dined on Wed, 11 Jul 2018

(9)
Great food, nothing was too much for the staff
Lisa Douglas

dined on Tue, 10 Jul 2018

(8)
Menu needs to be updated and several items on it stated that they were gluten free and they weren't. They should have been marked 'GF option'. I spoke to the manager who advised that they will update the menu. It was just lucky that I did ask questions before eating the food, my selections were fixed without any issues. Putting the above aside the quality of the food was great, my steak was one of the best I've had. My GF modified prawn entrée and brulee dessert were really tasty. My husband enjoyed all his courses. We would recommend to others and dine here again.
Hi Lisa, I note you review and feedback and did also see your review on Trip Advisor. As mentioned on my response on Trip Advisor, we appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback, that has been passed on to the Manager who has actioned the menus and also to the Chef. I do however note your rating on value at 0/10 and find this somewhat confusing as you also state in your feedback that you would dine here again and that the meals were enjoyed. I would welcome the direct contact to discuss this point and can be contact on mobile (0414769669) or email (chris@bv.net.au)
Boutique Venues Group for and open behalf of Char restaurant responded on Thu, 19 Jul 2018

dined on Sat, 30 Jun 2018

(6)
Pretty bad when you spend $50 for a steak and you have to send it back because it’s not cooked right and almost stone cold before it gets to your table! The lady who served us was lovely but quality of food was not up to standard. Entrees hot and mains cold. Very disappointing for what you pay.
Halina

dined on Fri, 22 Jun 2018

(8)
Service went a bit missing towards the end of our late lunch. The food was superb. The whole gold band snapper was great.

dined on Thu, 21 Jun 2018

(4)
Nice location. Steak was unfortunately not well cooked. No favour, raw in the middle for a medium steak.
Hi Craig, I hope you are well. We are disappointed you were not happy with your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback from your experience. We would welcome the opportunity to speak directly and discuss your experience and identify more details of your experience. I can be contacted directly via email (chris@bv.net.au) or on mobile (0414769669). I look forward to the opportunity to discuss.
Boutique Venues Group for and on behalf of Char restaurant responded on Tue, 26 Jun 2018

dined on Wed, 20 Jun 2018

(10)
best restaurant in Darwin, great food, drinks, service, atmosphere and view.

dined on Sat, 16 Jun 2018

(9)
very enjoyable evening

dined on Fri, 1 Jun 2018

(8)
Battered fish greasy

dined on Thu, 31 May 2018

(10)
Amazing food and great atmosphere. Really love visiting Char when in Darwin.

dined on Thu, 31 May 2018

(4)
just terrible from the get go. Was meant to be a special evening for our daughter's 13th birthday but bad service, delayed and both overcooked/cold food after a 2-hour wait and to be surrounded by loud drunken old men it was nothing short of a disaster. Times like this sorry is not enough but we didn't even really receive that! A total disappoint that will see me never return there again
Good morning Kellie, thank you for taking the time to review and provide your feedback. We appreciate all forms of feedback and in this case, disappointed to read that you were far from happy with your experience. In my capacity in a Head Office role i attempt to make contact with all reviewers be it positive or negative. In this case, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience in more detail personally with you and identify where the experience could have been improved. I can be contacted directly via email (chris@bv.net.au) or mobile phone (0414769669) and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss further.
Boutique Venues Group Pty Ltd, for and on behalf of Char Restaurant Darwin responded on Wed, 6 Jun 2018
page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

About Char Restaurant

Nice to meat you... Be it an intimate meal for two, a formal business lunch or a night out with friends, Char Restaurant is the place to be seen. This unique and contemporary venue is truly one of a kind, delivering fresh local produce and innovative cuisine coupled with exceptional service and style. The restaurant itself is set in the grounds of the beautiful Admiralty House making it a stunning tranquil location for all occasions. The obvious thing to order is steak or seafood - both are prepared and presented to absolute perfection - chosen by esteemed restaurateur John Kilroy. Although the a la carte menu is very enticing desserts are also worth saving room for… there’s chocolate indulgence, creme brulee, banoffee pie plus a selection of cheeses! Best dish: steak of course !

Features

New

Char Restaurant Address

Google Map