240 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

7.6
240 reviews
Recommended
(7.5)
Food
(7.7)
Service
(7.8)
Value for money
(6.4)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Fri, 2 Mar 2018

(9)
Second visit and completely wowed once again. The steaks were amazing.

dined on Wed, 28 Feb 2018

(6)
Service was extremely bad, everytime we wanted somethig we had to wave someone down, took 15 mins to get drinks and half an hour to get our plates cleared.

dined on Sat, 24 Feb 2018

(9)
The low score on the atmosphere refers to only inside tables being available. This was uncomfortable due to the unnecessarily cool air-conditioning temperature. We live in the tropics and dress accordingly and were uncomfortably cold.
Hi Lee, thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do have a small amount of tables available outside for those guests that request them. However, that being said this time of year we only have a few, where there are fans and shelter for the rain that often comes regularly this time of year (not to mention the humidity). If we can accomodate our guests we always do our best, however in situations where the weather tends to dictate, we have to make decisions to attempt to provide the best ambience we can for our guests (tourists, corporates and locals alike), especially in the dryer months, when we do regain two thirds of our entire seating capacity with our outdoor tables. We hope to see you again soon, and on your next trip, please feel free to request one of the few outside tables.
Boutique Venues Group Pty Ltd, for and on behalf of Char Restaurant Management responded on Sun, 25 Feb 2018

dined on Wed, 21 Feb 2018

(6)
Unfortunately, our meal last night was disappointing. My wife has chosen to celebrate her birthday meal at Char for the past few years and has claimed it be one of her favourite places to eat. We felt that the food had gone down hill since our last visit. We both started with the Pan seared scallops and pork belly and surmised that you must have gotten new chefs. Previously we have savoured every single mouthful of this dish leaving us with a hunger for more. Last night however, the portion size had dramatically decreased and no longer had the “wow” flavour we remembered I chose the free range Pork rack for my main and found the flavours did not mesh. The jus tasted like beef stock and had the consistency of water. My wife chose a main sized Chargrilled Octopus and found the Octopus tasted off. Another diner briefly spoke with us whilst waiting for the bathroom and remarked “ I hope that your meals were better than mine?” he was also disappointed. We normally love this venue, the ambiance and the staff are usually friendly and the food morish and flavoursome but perhaps we just experienced an off night at this restaurant. We won’t be back.
Peter Allan

dined on Tue, 13 Feb 2018

(9)
Excellent top class experience. Top food and fantastic wine list. Top staff and Service! Well done as always!
Thanks for the terrific review Peter. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us at Char. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Boutique Venues Group for and on behalf of Char Restaurant ‘Old Admiralty House’ Darwin responded on Wed, 14 Feb 2018
rob

dined on Sat, 10 Feb 2018

(7)
one of the better restaurants of Darwin
Hi Rob, thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback of your dining experience with us at Char Restaurant in Darwin. I note you review and also your number rating. In order to ensure we consistently provide and deliver the best we can in all facets of our restaurant, we value feedback from our diners (be it positive or negative) as a guage of our offering. In this instance, given the number rating you suggest, receiving some more detailed feedback is valuable to us. Therefore if you do have the time, please email me some more detailed specifics of your dining experience to (chris@bv.net.au) sop that we can pass your feedback on to the team in Darwin. Cheers
Boutique Venues Group, for and on behalf of Char Restaurant in Darwin. responded on Sun, 11 Feb 2018

dined on Sat, 10 Feb 2018

(10)
Everything was amazing, only down side was their choice in music. It was more like what you’d listen to if getting ready for a club
Thanks taking the time to provide feedback of your dining experience with us Allison. Unless we receive consistent detailed feedback we are often unsure of where we can improve. We will be sure to pass this feedback on to Management to consider the music being played in the venue, as having the correct ambience is equally important as decor, service and food, as a complete dining experience.
Boutique Venues Group, for and on behalf of Char Restaurant Darwin responded on Sun, 11 Feb 2018

dined on Sat, 3 Feb 2018

(10)
Perfect evening

dined on Sat, 3 Feb 2018

(10)
I don’t want to be picky but $17 for a glass of red wine that wasn’t filled up beyond the curve of the glass was a bit steep. Other than that awesome dining experience
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

About Char Restaurant

Nice to meat you... Be it an intimate meal for two, a formal business lunch or a night out with friends, Char Restaurant is the place to be seen. This unique and contemporary venue is truly one of a kind, delivering fresh local produce and innovative cuisine coupled with exceptional service and style. The restaurant itself is set in the grounds of the beautiful Admiralty House making it a stunning tranquil location for all occasions. The obvious thing to order is steak or seafood - both are prepared and presented to absolute perfection - chosen by esteemed restaurateur John Kilroy. Although the a la carte menu is very enticing desserts are also worth saving room for… there’s chocolate indulgence, creme brulee, banoffee pie plus a selection of cheeses! Best dish: steak of course !

Char Restaurant Address

Google Map