Back

Reviews CHUUKA

8.7/10
Fabulous
based on 326 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Zoe X.
    Zoe X.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food and amazing atmosphere. All stuff are really friendly and professional. The view is also awesome especially for the sunset. I really enjoy the desert which is purple jam.

  2. Cyra N.
    Cyra N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and quality, every item on the menu is delicious. We basically order two of most items on the menu. Totally will recommend this place to everyone ????

  3. Emily L.
    Emily L.
    • 15 reviews
    9/10

    Went in Feb and back here again in March! Great food and love the location near the water. Recommend the oysters, prawn and yuzu chicken!

  4. Nicole C.
    Nicole C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Food, service, atmosphere and view were all excellent!

  5. Margarita S.
    Margarita S.
    • 19 reviews
    9.5/10

    Fresh and delicious found. Unique cocktails and great service.

  6. Bhavika D.
    Bhavika D.
    • 19 reviews
    8/10

    Great experience, we ordered a lot of food since it was 6 of us. We enjoyed everything, the yuzu chicken, pipies, crab and scallops fried rice, wagyu ribs, pork, the prawns and milky buns. And for dessert the frozen yogurt was amazing, ice cream mochi and purple jam ice cream was great too. We had a good night. Thanks guys

  7. Jean-Claude C.
    Jean-Claude C.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Very creative flavoursome dishes, Unusual delicious tastes. Great service, excellent wine list, the meal was a bit let down by sweet desserts not particularly exciting

  8. Gana S.
    Gana S.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    My sixth time at Chuuka. Each time with friends who’ve never been before. We’ve eaten through the menu over the past visits and the consistency of the food continues to impress. Chuuka were a bit off their game at first but caught up soon ! Lindsay and his staff handled a challenging evening with aplomb. Prawns, Oysters, Duck, T Fried Rice, Chawanmushi, Yuzu chicken, Eggplant, Pork ....we have a problem deciding every time we go back !

  9. Carina L.
    Carina L.
    • 6 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food and presentation was very nice. There was a bit of issue with a leaking air conditioner dripping onto our table but they were able to accommodate us upstairs.

  10. Matilda A.
    Matilda A.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Our first time at Chuuka and it did not disappoint ! Food, service , ambience and views outstanding. We especially loved trying the Pipis with Nori Butter sauce and the Almond jelly dessert !

  11. Sophia S.
    Sophia S.
    • 76 reviews
    10/10

    Gr8 food & ambience. Staff are well trained, w Italian Alex was the BEST - professional, attentive, gr8 sense of humour. The group of 10 (+2) all loved the resto. Thank you for a lovely evening & the flexibility of friends dropping by for a quick chat/ drink

  12. Tam  T.
    Tam T.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    The service was excellent and the food was also very good. We had the tasting menu which was delicious and a good amount of food. Lived up to expectations.

  13. Ben M.
    Ben M.
    • one review
    9/10

    The food was sensational but the decore was a bit tired... but that’s the joys of being that close to the water and the salt air

  14. Mariana A.
    Mariana A.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food experience! Licked the plate clean on all dishes! Must go to for special occasion!

  15. Dineesha P.
    Dineesha P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Really good food. Loved the crab fried rice and mushroom

  16. Kent D.
    Kent D.
    • one review
    10/10

    This is our second time at Chuuka and it is one of our top go to restaurants in sydney, Their menu may be small compared to other restaurants around the area but they do them well. The workers are also very friendly

  17. Sue F.
    Sue F.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent food and attentive service. Great location. Atmosphere would have been better with the music turned down a notch, so that diners don’t have to raise their voices for conversations.

  18. Emily L.
    Emily L.
    • 15 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good food and excellent service. Food was offered to be explained and the waiters always came with the brightest smile. Great location next to the water. Highlight for me were the oysters!!! Pork belly pancakes felt like it was really more fat than meat though.

  19. Tina T.
    Tina T.
    • one review
    10/10

    We were welcomed by the front host and taken to our sits. Our waiter Riccardo provided excellent service and recommended us some dishes on the menu. Everything was AMAZING - food, deco, service and atmosphere! Definitely coming back again.

  20. Gregory M.
    Gregory M.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    The food was very good but expensive for the portions given. Must try the mouse/matcha dessert! Amazing and will come back to the restaurant for that again!

  21. Grace  V.
    Grace V.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great food & great service from staff set in a gorgeous restaurant with 5 star views. Reservations team attended to my questions and met my requests. Everyone in my group enjoyed the restaurant.

  22. Ann S.
    Ann S.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    An interesting blend between Chinese & Japanese flavours and food presentation. We found sharing a couple of dishes from each section of the menu was ample and gave us a good variety. Lighting a bit dim to read menus and music perhaps a tad loud but all up we had an enjoyable evening out.

  23. Gigi W.
    Gigi W.
    • 10 reviews
    8.5/10

    The atmosphere and service was excellent. Ordered the tasting menu to try the different types of food without too much thought and it was a great choice! Decent portions and left the restaurant with a happy belly.

  24. Jon B.
    Jon B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely food, lovely dinner

  25. YEO J.
    YEO J.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Overall service has improved compared to when it just newly open. Keep up the good work! Well done!

  26. Natalie T.
    Natalie T.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Fantastic food and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend

  27. Vikram S.
    Vikram S.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Amazing food. Nice portion sizes though not large enough for those feeling ravenous. The service was great as well and if you get there early there is a fantastic little bar on the wharf to wait for your table and enjoy the view

  28. Jamila C.
    Jamila C.
    • one review
    2/10

    Did not like the restaurant at all, poor vibe, poor service and poor food Ordered a meal and wrong food came out so had to wait for them to bring out the right meal, no apology nothing Such a boring menu

  29. Sue F.
    Sue F.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food and service. Must try the miso glacier 51 toothfish and yuzu tempura chicken. The location of the restaurant is good with spectacular views.

  30. Mei M.
    Mei M.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Food taste isn’t consistent from the last time we visited

  31. Alison L.
    Alison L.
    • 14 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great place with good views. Yummy food however was more on the saltier side. Large group seated near us talked and laughed too loud.

  32. Stephanie T.
    Stephanie T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Welcoming was great greeted with smiles all round even from the bar staff as we were walking in. Waiter staff was exceptional, very knowledgeable and accommodating. Food was superb.. these meals are meant to be shared but I secretly wanted it all to myself ????. Definitely coming back for more yummies

  33. Kevin L.
    Kevin L.
    • 31 reviews
    8/10

    Fantastic decor and view of harbour. Great food and great services.

  34. Tina P.
    Tina P.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Beautiful views . Excellent service & knowledgeable staff. Food was tasty & well presented however the prices too high considering so many choices of Asian style restaurants in Sydney. $200 for 2 has probably become the norm in Sydney but it’s no wonder the Sydney restaurant scene is struggling: high rents & staff wages pushes the cost of dining out so high it’s hard to justify.

  35. Raul G.
    Raul G.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Nice location, nice environment, good set up, good food and quality... Will tell my friends and I would love to come back again to try other dishes.

  36. Bea H.
    Bea H.
    • 6 reviews
    6/10

    It was a great view and great food.

  37. Jean-Claude C.
    Jean-Claude C.
    • 9 reviews
    8.5/10

    Excellent food, creative dishes, a good wine list, attentive service. Welcoming process frustrating, , hanging around whilst they fiddle with their computer. My second visit. Will come back

  38. Stephanie W.
    Stephanie W.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    We really enjoyed the food - great value for the quality we got! Would recommend!

  39. Arlita M.
    Arlita M.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Food was a delight - flavours and textures delivered pleasant surprises. King mushroom and pork belly pancake dishes recommended. The playground dessert was also a journey. Service was excellent.

  40. Mina T.
    Mina T.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    The restaurant was very busy for lunch on a Monday, but the service and atmosphere were both fantastic. We ordered the banquet, with the house marinated trout roe caviar as an extra and that we were so glad we did because it was the favourite dish for both of us.