Back

Reviews - Coal Cellar + Grill

9/10

Excellent

based on 464 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Lena K.
    Lena K.
    • 38 reviews
    5.5/10

    I had to ask for side plates for our bread from the waitress. I saw that she automatically provided side plates to the two men on next table who were having the same deal. I think service should be the same for all regardless of race or ethnic group. This is expected from all restaurants and hotels.

  2. Kym T.
    Kym T.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Very cold, huge cold draught everytime someone enters hotel through main automatic doors & wind comes straight through resturant. Waited 35mins for first drink.

  3. Li Jin A.
    Li Jin A.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Food and service was good. Would like to see more variety of food choices.

  4. Tim E.
    Tim E.
    • one review
    10/10

    great food; great service; and an extensive wine list???? whats not to love!..........................................................

  5. Mario D.
    Mario D.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    The occasion was a team lunch and the first time for most of use at the Coal Cellar and Grill. First thing you notice is the ambience which is very inviting and the second is the staff who are very attentive and polite. We had pre-order as one of us could only stay for a short time. The food appeared very soon after we arrived and it both looked and tasted great. We were all please with the experience and the Express Lunch menu was good value for money. We will be coming again.

  6. Christine K.
    Christine K.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food and service were simply perfect! The wait staff were attentive but not in the way, the food was amazing, both mains and dessert and it was money well spent. Would highly recommend

  7. Tina E.
    Tina E.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great value for money on the express lunch, however we do not like looking at menus and wine lists on the phone! much easier to look at actual menus, the wine list was just too big to view on the phone, so we had a paper version to look at which was completely different to the phone one and so were the prices, they need to have wine menus available if you dont want to use the phone. Food was nice, couple of hick ups on the crumbed fish dish, said baked celeriac on the menu, but it was raw and through the salad, wasn't good, then the addition of puffed rice was not needed at all and did not match the dish, a different garnish is needed. The pork was amazing! Service fantastic, we will definitely return as this is a nice place for lunch, thanks guys!!

  8. Karina V.
    Karina V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Was so so yum and staff were so helpful and amazing!!!!! The only thing I didn’t like was the menus being on your phone. But apart from that everything was so so yum and the wine list was amazing for any lover of wine

  9. Veronica D.
    Veronica D.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Came for a family dinner. Service was attentive and food came promptly which was appreciated. The kids burger was a generous serve and the rest of the menu items well executed bistro standard.

  10. Maneesh M.
    Maneesh M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Excellent value for money (Express lunch) with great ambience and service. Highly recommended. We have organised our business lunches and every time we have walked out satisfied.

  11. Dane R.
    Dane R.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Artef as always is brilliant, however when your floor staff don't know their own bar stock it's pretty sad. I ordered a Gin and tonic with orange and Specified the Wild Brand Gin was told don't know that one don't think we have it. I replied yes you do I just had one at the bar previously. 15 minutes later out comes the drink Tanqueray 10 served with dead flat tonic. So I took it to the bar myself got it replaced and low and behold there is the Wild Gin sitting on your shelf. Food as always perfect

  12. Shirley S.
    Shirley S.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    The restaurant environment is quite elegant. The express lunch is worth the money. Staff members are friendly. Food are well cooked and taste good.

  13. Camay W.
    Camay W.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    spacious restaurant with trendy decoration. delicious food, staff are very attentive and always have smile on their face which make people feel welcoming ....

  14. Fatemeh E.
    Fatemeh E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing????

  15. Stephanie M.
    Stephanie M.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    We didn’t realize this was a hotel restaurant. I would not have booked it if I had known. However service was excellent, food was very good. I could have eaten at the same place at home.

  16. Natalie D.
    Natalie D.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    So wonderful to have the Coal Cellar and Grill back. Fantastic entrees, steak and the gnocchi was truly divine. Great wine list and attentive service on a busy night. Definitely recommend.

  17. Ruthy C.
    Ruthy C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great Service. Friendly staff who listened to needs and provided further advice and recommendations. Food and atmosphere was great. Beautiful place to have dinner and spend time with friends or loved one???? highly recommended

  18. Trent S.
    Trent S.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Great steaks ! Best in Adelaide I've had.. amazing staff that did well with the covid restrictions

  19. Phyllis  K.
    Phyllis K.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food and service were both great. The lunch time express menu/Deal is fabulous...great value...would highly recommend and go back.

  20. Julie N.
    Julie N.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Food came out at the right time. Everything was lovely. It was my daughter’s birthday and they wrote happy birthday for her dessert which was lovely.

  21. SUSAN P.
    SUSAN P.
    • 2 reviews
    6/10

    For theatre goers, this restaurant is handy and within walking distance of Her Majesty’s Theatre. Food was good, although the menu is quite limited. Staff are pleasant, and helpful, with the easing in of the new barcode method of perusing the menu. But must say, prefer he hard copy to hold and read. Service was prompt, and was able to eat a one course meal, quite relaxingly, with in a 1 hour time frame .

  22. Ruby P.
    Ruby P.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Had The Express lunch and we love it! Glad the Hilton is back and running. Lovey food and great service.

  23. Beth R.
    Beth R.
    • 10 reviews
    9.5/10

    Very happy to see this restaurant open again after a lengthy Covid shut down. Food was great, service a little chaotic but still polite and attentive. This is a great spot for a work lunch.

  24. Vicky M.
    Vicky M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Our evening was beautiful. It was our wedding anniversary and our table was in a lovely spot by the window. The meal was wonderful and the service was great. In addition they gave us each a glass of champagne to celebrate our anniversary which was a nice touch.

  25. Janet B.
    Janet B.
    • one review
    6/10

    Waitress was particularly poor service. . Forgot the order for two items, overall food was cold although the steak was tender and cooked well. Just disappointing experience, service is everything, the manager was fabulous and adjusted the account.

  26. Kevin W.
    Kevin W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and great service. We had the feed me option with matching wines. Made for a great night. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience Will definitely be back again.

  27. Josephine C.
    Josephine C.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    WE had the express lunch. I have had this many times before but found it disappointing that we did not have bread included as previously, and also the menu choices was not as good value. Won't be going back any time soon.

  28. Yevai C.
    Yevai C.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Delicious food I really enjoyed

  29. James C.
    James C.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    Upscale and high quality all around. The quail, the smoked duck, the chips and wine were all great. Worth paying a little more than we normally do to get this.

  30. Alex T.
    Alex T.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    This place is my go too for Christmas Eve and never disappoints. Just amazing! Will see you in 2020 ☺️ Tomahawk steak is the best! Wine list is just as good!

  31. Vikash H.
    Vikash H.
    • 32 reviews
    10/10

    Very serene atmosphere and food was really nice.

  32. David C.
    David C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food was really good, good sized meals too. Nice and relaxed restaurant setting and welcoming staff. Prices were ok, to be expected from a fine dining restaurant, nothing too crazy.

  33. Taehoon J.
    Taehoon J.
    • one review
    10/10

    I went to have a dinner through reservation and am satisfied with their service and foods. Also the staffs is very kind but it's not easy to understand their fast talking for me.(I'm foreigner)

  34. Angelo S.
    Angelo S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    My client and i opted for the Feed Me option on the menu and we were not disappointed. The chef's selections were outstanding as were the wine pairings. The overall experience was fantastic and the service 1st class. Thank to our wonderful waitress for looking after us all evening and putting up with our bad jokes.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    9/10

    Recommended in the Quantas magazine - a great dining experience.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    8.25/10

    We tried the express lunch! $25 for a glass of red or white, a main and coffee/ tea. We added $5 for steak! Love the food and the service!

  37. Kestie C.
    Kestie C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We had the feed me menu and it was fantastic. The food was excellent and there was more than enough no matter how hungry you were. The waitress was excellent, we mentioned it was our wedding anniversary when ordering and she arranged for a special anniversary message to be written in chocolate on our shared dessert plate. We can't wait to go back there.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    8.25/10

    Good food and good service with nice atmosphere.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    9.5/10

    I have been here multiple times and enjoyed each visit. Great food and reasonable price and the service is excellent

  40. Kevin C.
    Kevin C.
    • one review
    9/10

    I took my partner here for our anniversary and honestly we ate so much. The value you get well justified the price, atmosphere, service and the overall experience.