Back

Reviews - Coal River Farm

9.1/10

Excellent

based on 169 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Sarah G.
    Sarah G.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Sooooo yummy!! View was amazing, but not from our table haha ???? but other than that everything was perfect, 100% would recommend. It’s not far from Hobart either

  2. Kristina P.
    Kristina P.
    • one review
    6/10

    Lovely location but the food and service were a little disappointing. Most of us ordered the ploughman’s lunch and considering we were at a cheese ( and chocolate ) farm we had expected at least 2 cheeses with the lunch. There was plenty of meat ( fine but not amazing ) and one smallish piece of cheese! Not the best was to advertise your products! Also, when we initially arrived it was fairly quiet, but became busy and the service dropped. We waited some time for our plates to be cleared and would have ordered dessert, but ended up buying a few take away chocolates and skipping dessert.

  3. Mark L.
    Mark L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Gem of a find. Last day of our 2 week adventure and it was a real highlight. The view is gorgeous, we both enjoyed our lunch, and really enjoyed our dessert :) Indy was a fun waitress and made us feel very welcome. Highly recommend

  4. Rachael T.
    Rachael T.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Food was amazing, venue was excellent, usually have no worries with table service but asked for ice three times for our drinks and still ice was not provided, even after waitress said she would be back in a minute with it.

  5. JULIAN P.
    JULIAN P.
    • one review
    10/10

    An incredible little place. Great farm setting and a beautiful little restaurant with really friendly staff. The food was out of this world and the coffee was lovely too.

  6. Yuka H.
    Yuka H.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food we ordered were so good.( breakfast) There are a lot of choices of chocolate drinks and also the staff were so lovely even we visited busy time. We definitely go back.

  7. KAREN L.
    KAREN L.
    • one review
    10/10

    The restaurant offers great food at good prices and with stunning views. The staff are super friendly and the added bonus is being able to buy cheeses and chocolates made on site to take home.

  8. Judi R.
    Judi R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Two of us had the high cheese. Delicious and plenty of cheese - the blue was divine - and the raspberry compote was a highlight for me. Chocolate selection diverse and saved the difficulty of choosing. The other two had the ploughman’s boards. Consensus was, terrific. Really good value.

  9. Julie S.
    Julie S.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    We last visited the Coal River Farm in August 2017 and were very impressed. The food was interesting and of outstanding quality, the kitchen and service staff were professional and friendly and the farm was clearly a ‘cared for’ feature. Today’s experience was disappointing by comparison. The food was good, but not great, there was not enough staff, the furniture and surrounds looked tired and the farm was practically non existent: with one sad chook and one goat all that’s left of the animals. I understand there’s probably been a huge Covid factor here, however, the whole experience was a bit lack-lustre.

  10. Guy B.
    Guy B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent setting and service. Delicious food and wine. Acoustics slightly challenging. Fantastic opportunities for value adding with special Christmas gifts to take home. Well done ????????????

  11. Rachael Z.
    Rachael Z.
    • one review
    3/10

    I was really disappointed in my meal size and variety. Small and boring. And the setting was more like a cafeteria than a nice farm or vineyard. I unfortunately won’t be back.

  12. Chelsea K.
    Chelsea K.
    • one review
    10/10

    The girls working there today were super kind and accomodating. They went out of their way to make our day and even remade a drink when my toddler tipped it everywhere. Of course the food was excellent too.

  13. Katy J.
    Katy J.
    • one review
    9/10

    We really enjoyed our visit to Coal River Farm. Our meals & coffee were perfect & so were the chocolates we took home with us! The staff were so welcoming and friendly, particularly a young woman who even offered our dog water and made sure we were being taken care of. Would recommend!

  14. Ali W.
    Ali W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Staff were very polite and welcoming. Food was magnificent. Beautiful day and beautiful place. Great position and easy to find. Will definitely be back for sure.

  15. Nathan w.
    Nathan w.
    • one review
    10/10

    Took my wife for her birthday and we can’t wait to go back 10/10 experience highly recommend to anyone looking for a great experience in the Cambridge/Hobart area.

  16. Gayle N.
    Gayle N.
    • one review
    9/10

    I had high cheese with some friends and it was wonderful. Great value (we left feeling very full!) and really yummy. We could choose what we wanted or they selected for us. Service was good too.

  17. Jodi P.
    Jodi P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Our visit was for a special occasion. My daughter had visited before but I hadn't. Beautiful day in a stunning setting. We had the High Cheese which was delicious. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. We'll certainly be back again.

  18. Jamie g.
    Jamie g.
    • one review
    10/10

    Felt like we were right at home! Great ambiance and great food!

  19. Catherine J.
    Catherine J.
    • one review
    9/10

    The staff were lovely and the food and drink was great, the only issue was they had run out of some of the cheeses we chose for the high cheese platter but the ones they did have were beautiful all the same

  20. Jessica D.
    Jessica D.
    • 8 reviews
    7/10

    Restaurant was in a nice location however, the dishes were over priced for their size and quality. Drink menu was sufficient. Probably wouldn’t go out of my way to return.

  21. Sheena p.
    Sheena p.
    • one review
    10/10

    Coal river farm offers a unique Tasmanian experience with world quality cheese, chocolate and wine. Freshly picked strawberries, high cheese (a cheese and a chocolate course), hot chocolate finished with Local honey, and attentive staff make for a very sensory indulgent few hours in a rural setting.

  22. Judy B.
    Judy B.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Food was perfect for a brunch however service staff were a little distracted. Shop with their chocolate and cheese beautifully presented with tasting samples available.

  23. marnie f.
    marnie f.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing service from the minute we walked in and food was 5 star , they did a custom kids meal for our 1year old and coffees were lovely , we will be stopping off prior to departure to grab cheese and chocolate

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8.75/10

    a lovely relaxed dining experience :)

  25. Vera m.
    Vera m.
    • 2 reviews
    7.25/10

    Always found the foot wonderfull, but last time we went i felt they had lost there edge. Dont know if it was a new chef, not sure but it was rather ordinary.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    9/10

    Very nice venue - food was very enjoyable and service was great.

  27. Cindy C.
    Cindy C.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Awesome friendly service and amazing food Well done

  28. Nelson S.
    Nelson S.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Food was excellent and enjoyed the chocolates.

  29. Mitch P.
    Mitch P.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    The food, wine, and sweets were phenomenal. It was all perfect!

  30. Emma W.
    Emma W.
    • one review
    9/10

    Lovely food and great views!

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 309 reviews
    1.75/10

    Far too expensive for size of meal definetelt not worth it

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    8.75/10

    Pleasant lunch but preferred the look of the breakfast menu!

  33. Di C.
    Di C.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Loved the food,limited choice for wine,took10 minutes to pay the bill due to one staff member being on the register and she was serving others buying chocolates

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 280 reviews
    7.75/10

    Lovely spot, nice views, good food, Windows a bit grubby though.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    7.75/10

    Wonderful location and lovely ambience. Service was friendly and efficient. Excellent value

  36. Duncan B.
    Duncan B.
    • one review
    6/10

    Our service rating was affected by our meals being delivered to another table of guests who arrived after we did. There were no condiments on our table. We thought the glasses and glass water containers needed a good clean. They were covered in drip marks and lacked the brightness of glass. We enjoyed the food but the experience could have been so much better.

  37. Donna P.
    Donna P.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    It would have been nice to know there was a time limit and our table was booked by someone else - we’d almost finished but that could have been handled better - appreciate it was Mother’s Day and busy but staff can get you out the door without saying this table is booked by someone else soon. Either tell us when we get there or manage your service to fit the timing.

  38. Garry S.
    Garry S.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Food slightly oily. Lamb shoulder. Price on wine special board was dearer than wine list. Not a complaint just an observation. Food fabulous, tasty, plenty and friendly and efficient service. We will be back...with friends.

  39. Kamal S.
    Kamal S.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Excellent view for a morning coffee and breakfast!

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    8/10

    I’m a return visitor to Coal River Farm. The food is always excellent. I recommend the lamb shoulder which melts in your mouth. The views across the Coal Valley are lovely. The atmosphere is relaxed and on a warm day, it’s lovely to sit outside in the marquee.