Back

Reviews Coya

8.8/10

Fabulous

based on 307 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Suzy M.
    Suzy M.
    • one review
    10/10

    What a superb experience. The food is a feast for the eyes and the taste buds. Warm, friendly, lovely atmosphere. Had a vegetarian at the table who was more than thrilled with the options. Thank you for a lovely night out.

  2. Janet D.
    Janet D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Love this restaurant . Interesting food , presented beautifully. Very friendly and helpful staff. Not noisy which is a real plus. Had a lovely chat with the chef. We’ ll be back.

  3. Natalie h.
    Natalie h.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a really pleasant experience. The food was terrific, presented well and delicious. Highlights from guests were the cauliflower entree, the prawns with bamboo rice, Beef cheeks and the bread pudding for desert. Thoroughly recommend a visit. A neighbourhood gem. BYO is also a bonus.

  4. David  F.
    David F.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent food and good service, we used the 50 per cent off offer which was great, but I would not pay the full price on the menu as it is a suburban restaurant without any outstanding ambiance etc

  5. Sharon K.
    Sharon K.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    We had a wonderful time, the food was mouth watering, the staff helpful and the atmosphere great. The chef came out to have a chat with us which you don't get at most places. Will be back for sure!!

  6. Caitlyn B.
    Caitlyn B.
    • 7 reviews
    7/10

    I was a little disappointed. The food was beautifully presented and tasted lovely but they had run out of two mains by the time I sat down for dinner at 7pm! So we only had 4 things to pick from. Apparently they don’t have a cool room?!

  7. Fiona W.
    Fiona W.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Great flavors but the service lacked warmth and was highly focused on blatant up-selling. When wanting to get rid of us by 8pm the owners simply switched off both the dining room lights and the air con leaving us sitting in the dark with another two tables choking on deep fried kitchen fumes in a stuffy cafe.

  8. Ryan P.
    Ryan P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and very unassuming! Service and quality of food was outstanding! Nice little family run business with food that would be fit for any top shelf restaurant

  9. Deborah C.
    Deborah C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food was exceptional! To find such great quality, presentation and flavors in a local restaurant took us all by surprise! Definitely recommend.

  10. Anne C.
    Anne C.
    • 6 reviews
    9/10

    This is a hidden gem in Cromer!!! Wonderful food and presentation . This would be great for vegans and vegetarians also! I loved the fried eggplant!!!! Excellent!!!!

  11. Liz E.
    Liz E.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Everything was just delicious. Love the duck and goat!

  12. Gaby G.
    Gaby G.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    We love going to Coya and will keep coming back. Delicious food and great service. A real hidden gem!

  13. Kerry F.
    Kerry F.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Very creative and tasty food

  14. Liz C.
    Liz C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Nice little restaurant in Cromer. Good, well presented dishes. My beef cheek was a good size and delicious. Overall very happy with the meal, nothing to complain about

  15. Robyn J.
    Robyn J.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    This restaurant was recommended by our son and his wife. It lived up to their high praise. Food was delicious and beautifully presented. Service was friendly and efficient. Will definitely recommend to friends.

  16. ANN S.
    ANN S.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Excellent well-presented food, but very expensive for the location. Disappointed that they didn't fully honour the Fork 50% off deal. Lots of hard surfaces, so quite noisy when busy.

  17. Steve D.
    Steve D.
    • one review
    8/10

    Dish presentation was phenomenal. Great quality food. Could’ve done with a bigger serve for a main size beef cheeks but it was delicious, as we’re all 3 entrees & mains we tried.

  18. Melanie M.
    Melanie M.
    • one review
    10/10

    We enjoyed every food that we order....from entree till dessert... was so yummy! I been here for 4 times now and the food is delicious from my first time to eat here. Everybody in the plate was delicious and looks so beautiful. Me and my son and friend enjoyed a lot. Can’t wait to come back again.

  19. Vivian C.
    Vivian C.
    • one review
    9/10

    I have been there twice and the food was excellent both times and the staff are very nice. Only improvement would be tables of two with a little more space between them.

  20. Mione C.
    Mione C.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Coya is a neighbourhood gem! Such a find. Phenomenal food with really interesting, unique flavours, done perfectly and the service was so friendly yet professional. The staff and chef went out of their way for us and really made our family feel welcome. Couldn’t rate this place more highly. We’ll be back

  21. Tibby Y.
    Tibby Y.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    We would def go again. The food was very colourful and tasty. Lovely service and atmosphere. The tables were a bit squished together, wasn’t too bad as no one was sitting next to us. It would have been a bit weird if there was, as the next table was pretty close.

  22. Sasja B.
    Sasja B.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely delicious food! Presentation of food is beautiful . Great service and very welcoming. The restaurant is located in Cromer and a short drive from Dee Why.

  23. Hayden H.
    Hayden H.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Exceptional food, nice and quiet environment with pleasant staff, strongly recommend trying this place. Although an unusual location, worth the travel for the food

  24. Toyah R.
    Toyah R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    I read many reviews and Coya definitely lived up to ALL of them. I dined with my Mum and two of her friends, we all thought exactly the same thing.- the food was absolutely delicious.

  25. Gaille B.
    Gaille B.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    On arrival we were offered a table that was very close to another and then told the one we asked for was booked (I had also booked) though didn't see anyone arrove to use it. We then got a better quieter table so were happier with that. The waitress was not the friendliest until we were chatting with the friendlier owner at the end. We shared courses but had to ask for plates for dessert which she seemed to reluctantly bring. We wondered if it was because we had the -50% deal. The food was good, especially the fried cauliflower entree and passionfruit souffle mousse which was really delicious. The bitter chocolate cake was presented very well with a pink spun sugar circle. As my friend is vegetarian we didn't try any meat dishes but they sounded good. There are also set 3 course menus for $49 (unavailable with dining discount) which we will try another time., and the saome for herbivpres and carnivores for $66 each. Overall a pleasant evening.

  26. Eric P.
    Eric P.
    • 9 reviews
    3/10

    I'll start with the good first, some dishes are really good and likely worth the price, the beef cheek for example was well prepared and presented, unfortunately this is where the good ends. Some other dishes are not worth the price but that may be a matter of opinion. What is not debatable is that the service is horrible and the attitude is appalling, from the moment we arrived we had bad service. The host told us that there is no kids menu as we didn't give them notice that kids are coming, almost blaming us for not advising them when this is not mentioned anywhere on their website or menu. When we asked them for the popcorn chicken (entre) to be served for the child with our mains, the host was having difficulties to understand the simple request. When we asked for the sauce for the popcorn chicken to be on the side we were told that this is not how the chef presents his dish, when we insisted, we were told ok with a shrug. A few moments later to be served the dish with the sauce mixed through, when we reminded the host about the request she apologised and took the dish back, which was then smashed by the chef into a bin with some choice words, and subsequently replaced as was agreed. We had a set of cutlery missing from the table and when we asked to please get another set, the host brought a knife and fork without a napkin, when this was pointed out we were given attitude for making her go back and forth. The host kept mixing the orders, serving the various dishes to the wrong person. It's a shame as there's good potential which is completely ruined by horrible service of both the chef and the host. Will never come back

  27. Jon D.
    Jon D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious and interesting food in a beautiful restaurant. We'll definitely be back and would recommend you try this little gem hiding amongst suburban shops.

  28. Michael P.
    Michael P.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    This was a lovely surprise at a suburban restaurant I drive past nearly every day but didn't know existed. We were on a Fork discount deal but the main courses would have been good value even at full price. Dishes looked fantastic and all tasted great.

  29. Charlotte S.
    Charlotte S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Beautiful restaurant! Great to have found this hidden gem in the northern beaches.

  30. John O.
    John O.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We have been to this restaurant many times now, and have never been disappointed, I can only highly recommend this place 5 star dining in Cromer.

  31. Michael C.
    Michael C.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    Quality food and efficient service in a quiet location with easy parking meant a great night out. The wine list could do with an upgrade however.

  32. John A.
    John A.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent food, very tasty and well presented. We had three courses and all had some me different options to try. The welcome and service were very good.

  33. Anika D.
    Anika D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Beautiful food and outstanding service. We will definitely be back! Highly recommended! Check it out!

  34. Matthew M.
    Matthew M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    A great restaurant with delicious food! Coya exceeded our expectations. The food was excellent and we will definitely be coming back very soon.

  35. Sam  D.
    Sam D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Incredible food as always!

  36. Christine l.
    Christine l.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    The foods were amazing.. loved everything especially 50% of bill. Highly recommend the cauliflower

  37. Rob c.
    Rob c.
    • 9 reviews
    6.5/10

    Food is good but not outstanding . Visited because of a 50% Fork discount . Would certainly not pay full price given location , atmosphere and menu. Good value with discount

  38. Mike H.
    Mike H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic restaurant. Great atmosphere, we went early and it filled fast. Food, especially the goat main and eggplant entree was on point. Anniversary local dinner hit the mark!

  39. Chontalle G.
    Chontalle G.
    • one review
    8/10

    Delicious selection of food. Owner was lovely and offered great recommendations. Pricey for location as seating is squished however a surprising treat

  40. Garry S.
    Garry S.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food was very tasty. We received a discount through a Fork booking which was good because I thought the dishes at normal prices would have been overpriced - $19 for dessert.