Back

Reviews Customs House Hotel Restaurant

  1. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    9/10

    Great food , great views, great service.

  2. Eleni H.
    Eleni H.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Great food yet again!!

  3. Eleni H.
    Eleni H.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Love the food the views and the service

  4. Beverley T.
    Beverley T.
    • 4 reviews
    7.5/10

    I had a very disappointing lunch after having had a good one two days before. My Osso Bucco was tough and I could not identify any gremolata as set forth on the menu, though my husband's salad was very pleasing.

  5. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    10/10

    The service was really amazing!

  6. Catherine H.
    Catherine H.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Get the eton mess for dessert, it is AMAZING! Fantastic service and beautiful food made for a really enjoyable experience.

  7. Mike M.
    Mike M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We were a group of eight and from the time we arrived to when we left we were all impressed with all the staff and the food was at it usual best for we have dined there on a good number of occasions now.

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    8/10

    Great location. Food was good!

  9. Dyan T.
    Dyan T.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    A nice place to eat always

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    8.75/10

    I altered the number in the party with Dimmi 2 or 3 weeks before the booked date but this apparently was not passed on to the restaurant. Near by car parks difficult to find.

  11. CLARA S.
    CLARA S.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Would have been nice that the booking that I made online was actually done although I received your email confirmation when arriving at the venue there was no booking .. they manage to get us a table but was a bit odd.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    6.25/10

    Quite noisey and service was lacking

  13. Graeme M.
    Graeme M.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Great historical building in a fabulous location. Food was delicious, the steaks were cooked perfectly.

  14. Vicki G.
    Vicki G.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Will definitely be back again all our main meals plus entrees were just beautiful! Very flavorsome.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    5.5/10

    Nicer than a pub meal but definitely not fine dining. Service was friendly but as more people arrived service was slow. Atmosphere was a bit like your grandma's old dining room, cold and barren.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8.5/10

    Expensive for what it was and that it's in Newcastle. Great service.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 248 reviews
    8/10

    Great food!

  18. Robyn K.
    Robyn K.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    We are regulars at Customs

  19. William D.
    William D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    LOved the friendly staff

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    7.25/10

    A bit too local for visitors to Newcastle. Could be more upmarket but Newcastle is up and coming as a holiday destination and I can see why they don’t want to share.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 293 reviews
    8.5/10

    Being Easter Day it was a great place for families, which made it a bit noisy. Room was quite hot- no air conditioning!!!!

  22. John P.
    John P.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    We were passing through, on holiday, and it was our second visit. Will call again next time we are near Newcastle.

  23. Janisa T.
    Janisa T.
    • 10 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great environment

  24. Roger S.
    Roger S.
    • one review
    9/10

    Had dinner at Customs House Hotel last night. Served by Georgina and Mark. Great food and wonderful service. We'll go again. Many thanks, Roger and Karen

  25. Greg  M.
    Greg M.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    old style charm

  26. Scott H.
    Scott H.
    • 8 reviews
    7.75/10

    Being NYE staff were quite run off their feet to begin with but overall the food was good and the evening enjoyable.

    Customs House Hotel Restaurant

    Thanks Scott - hope to see you again soon.

  27. Alice D.
    Alice D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Neighbourhood gem

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 280 reviews
    9.75/10

    Staff very friendly and efficient. Food was excellent. Fish was extremely fresh and Lamb Ragu Gnocchi best I have eaten

  29. Craig S.
    Craig S.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Great hotel in a beautiful sandstone building in the heart of the east end of the Newcastle CBD. Good selection of wine and beers. Food was tasty and the portions were just right. Good choice on the menu. Great place for larger groups or a celebration.

  30. Jessica L.
    Jessica L.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Great service & atmosphere. Loved the gnocchi...they were like little fluffy clouds mmmm

  31. Louise J.
    Louise J.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Beautiful night for a friends birthday and lovely to hear the guitar and music from the verandah

  32. Alex P.
    Alex P.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    We enjoyed a lovely meal for our anniversary. The bill came in just over a $100 but that included cocktails and drinks. The brisket is a must try.

  33. Matt W.
    Matt W.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Every meal Delicious! Perfectly cooked!

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food and service

  35. Samantha L.
    Samantha L.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Very friendly and helpful staff! Would highly recommend!

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    9.25/10

    Staff very good.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    8.5/10

    Beautiful restaurant

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 280 reviews
    9/10

    Great food. Especially enjoyed the duck

  39. Glenn S.
    Glenn S.
    • 10 reviews
    9.25/10

    Excellent food and service

  40. MICHELLE L.
    MICHELLE L.
    • 2 reviews
    8.25/10

    A group of 15 of us attended my birthday dinner. Service was fantastic. Meals were all served at the same time. Food was delicious. I was also allowed to bring my own cake and they supplied plates and spoons at no extra charge. Highly recommend!